We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely hotel”
Review of Davis Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Davis Bangkok
Ranked #273 of 893 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We stayed at the Davis Hotel for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. Very nice hotel and really good value. Very clean, spacious rooms with nice deco. Very small pool but for a city hotel it served its purpose plus a very small gym area and spa. Nice location, it is not very central but easy enough to get to places with cheap taxi rides and safe to walk around the surrounding areas. Train station at the top of the road and a shopping mall which the hotel can shuttle guests to the station. Very nice attentive friendly staff.
Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jessy4jessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 684 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2008

The first night we got a suite at the corner wing but my wife didn't like the juccuzi in the middle of the room. The next morning we moved down to Baan Davis, it is right behind the main hotel. It is two-story Thai wooden house. It is a very beautiful and spacious place. My family were enjoy staying there.

Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
1  Thank DJ_Kang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

The exterior of the hotel belies the interior or the miserable state of customer service of the hotel. To start with, the decor is confused. It cannot quite decide whether it is old Euopean, Indian or rustic thai or traditional thai or funky modern or which era it is in. Rather schizo ...,The mattress in the room feels old and bare and not the most comfortable. If you are not bothered about things like that, then we should warn you on the state of the front office - confused and no sense of customer service whatsoever which is why we gave the worst score rather than the second worst. When we arrived, we witnessed that they had just given a couple a wrong room key. Imagine the shock of the other hotel guest when the couple entered the room!! As for us, things started well at first. The front office female staff upgraded us to a slightly bigger room (and now we guessed why- many empty rooms) and even told us we had breakfast at the cafe. We stayed for 3 nights there and it was only on the last day, given that we were in a hurry, we decided to go for the breakfast offered. We sat down, gave our room number and had a very quick bite. As it turned out later, they charged us the full price (about US$30 for two) for the breakfast which they represented was complimentary when we arrived!! When we tried to reason with them, the front office staff denied everything.. She made a mistake and covered up and the front office manager did not help us. As between the front office staff who made the mistake and we the hotel guests who relied on her misrepresentation, the hotel chose to make a quick buck over customer service. They saw that we were extremely angry and upset but did not care at all. Davis may look like it has a five star exterior but the truth is that it has a two star interior and absolutely a zero star in terms of hospitality. We felt very shabbily treated and vowed never ever to return again . There are many many hotels in Bangkok with better interior and far better customer service. Do not be lured by the price and pick this hotel. Please also note that the location of Davis is not within comfortable distance of BTS. For the price, stay at the Citadines. And for the service, be sure to absolutely stay away.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BKKRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

After an absolute nightmare getting to bangkok ( i wont bore you with the details) we got our limo from the airport ( a bit of a rip off but i would have twice as much to get to my bed). Arriving at ther davis main building we were told that we were in the corner wing. The reception area in the main hotel was far superior to the corner wing and i wondered if the rooms would be the same. The receptionist was really nice and informed us that we had been upgraded, I then informed them that i had already upgraded twice over the standard room price. The receptionist explained that she knew this and we were to stay in the diplomat suite. All i can say is WOW it was far more than we expected a huge room with walk in wardrobe large Tv an office area with writing desk sofas etc. My wife walked into the marbled bathroom which comprised a large double shower his and hers wash hand basins a big bath with a window through to the lounge (curtains on the lounge side) to be able to watch the tv which swiveled round. there was a 2-3 person sauna (mind you to get hot and sweaty just walk outside the door!!). I thought this was all excellent and a lot more then i was expecting. Then my wife shouted me to come and look, we had a door from the bathroom to another marble clad room with a further tv and steps leading to a six seater jaccuzzi with a stunning cathedral style ceiling really stylish and made us feel like we were really posh !!! Breakfast was good not stunning but hit the spot. As for the location it was our first time in Bangkok and we think we saw as much as we could in the few days we were there. We also got ripped off by a taxi driver but i think thats part of the experience. Pat pong market was a blast, a bit seedy but there are bargains galore. One tip we got from friends we visted whilst in bankok was if you are thinking about a trip up the river get the sky train to its last stop right on the river and catch the ferry up river for pennys rather than getting ripped off on tos or private boats you get to see as much and can hop on and off when you want mind you they litrally pull up and take off in seconds so you have to be quick. Not sure of the name but we went to a night market with a huge ferris wheel and a stage showing live music with open air bars which was great. Food and drinks very reasonable in fact dirt cheap. I loved bangkok but was happy to be leaving this muggy city for some r&r in Phuket. Getting back to the Davis we loved it !!!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exmouthtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Bangkok was the second stop on our honeymoon. My wife and I spent time at the Davis from January19th to the 22nd, 2008. We really had no complaints about this place. It looked beautiful before we booked and it certainly lived up to the expectations.

This hotel is a little ways off from all the hot spots (not that it really matters as cabs are incredibly cheap), but is located about a 5 minute walk from the skytrain. Don't be concerend with first impressions of the area surrounding the Davis. Though it looks poor, we had no issues with safety. Most neighbourhoods in Bangkok look this way (poverty on one side of the street, wealth on the other). I suppose the city shocked us a little more than others initially because we had just arrived from Tokyo; comparing any city to Tokyo is just not a fair fight.

The Davis is made up of two buildings, simply referred to herein as the new wing and the old wing. Both are georgeous, but if I had to pick, I would prefer the old wing as you feel more a part of the main hotel. We initially had a room in the new wing, but due to a noisy central air conditioner on the roof, we requested to change rooms to the old building. The Davis was very accomodating with our request. By the way both rooms were huge, impeccably furnished, and had above average washrooms complete with hot tub.

The Davis has two swimming pools, however only one pool (the roof top) is available to most guests. The other pool located in the spa, behind the old wing (yup, the georgous narrow one from all the pictures) is a private pool reserved exclusively for those guests that rented the villa's in the back. Our entire time there we did not see a single guest enjoying that stunning oasis. I was really looking forward to lounge in that area prior to my visit...very disappointing. However, the roof top pool was no slouch and did the trick during those hot muggy Bangkok afternoons. Thailand is generally a very cheap place for food and drink, but that rule doesn't apply at the Davis. If you wanted to enjoy a beer by the pool you are looking at over $5 a glass. Considering that beer is less than a dollar every else in Bangkok, it really was gouging.

Probably the best attribute of the Davis was the value. We paid $100 per night for a room that rivals many 5 star high end properties. A similar room in Toronto would be a minimum of $500 a night. Just great value. Our rate also included free breakfast at the buffet, which was spectacular. You have the choice of your standard North American breakfast, complete with omellet station, or you can indulge in the great variety of south Asian dishes. At times it felt like a dinner buffet as well. We ate very very well at breakfast which often times held me over until dinner.

The one negative I found with this hotel was that the bell boys/ door men are all very eager to get you a cab. It turns out that this is not so much a Davis problem as it is a Bangkok problem. They are essentially in cahoots with the taxis. Its all a massive opertation to funnel tourists to one of the 10 million tailors in the city....the door men,, cabbies, tuk tuk drivers all get a cut from the tailors for every tourist that steps in their shop. It gets annoying after a while. Every day you are asked by over zealous door men where you are going and if they can help. Soon we would simply say, "we already got the suits" and they would laugh and back off. Truth is though, you really do want to go to one of these tailors, they are great. We ended up at Brioni...bought 2 complete custom suits (a hugo boss, and a Dolce) complete with dress shirts and ties for $500. Great value. Everytime I where them back home I get a ton of compliments. Can't beat a custom made suit I tell you.

Other little tidbits. There are very good cheap restaurants surrounding the Davis. There is a little cafe across the street called Creme de Cacao I believe.....the absolute greatest strawberry covered waffle you will ever have. They drizzle it with shot glass full of freshly melted chocolate....my wife and I devoured it in literally 15 seconds. The latte there, also fantastic, so skip the starbucks located on the opposite corner. For a great dinner, you must, and I mean must have a meal at Cabbages and Condoms. I know wierd name, but proceeds of your bill go toward fighting HIV and AIDS in southeast asia through education on safe sex. The food and atmosphere was out of this world. We absolutely loved it.

No need really to tell you that Bangkok is a shoppers paradise. All the malls are located in Siam Square. But the one you wan to hit is MBK. That is were all the bargains are. 5 pairs of Diesel jeans...$100. I know they must be fakes, but man is it hard to tell. Very high quality. Oh, almost forgot, one quick tip, don't get suckered into taking a limo from the airport. They sell these rides inside the airport at baggage claim. After flying for 7 hours, we didn't want to chance it and bought the story they were selling about safety...all rubbish. The cabs are much cheaper and just as safe. By the way, always insist that your taxi driver uses the meter. They must by law, however at certain times they will try to charge a flat rate, if so refuse and move on to the next cab. The meter is very very cheap, and the drivers know it.

That is pretty much it folks. The Davis is a great place the can rival many 5 star hotels back home. You can have the 5 star experience for motel prices. We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't think twice about recommending it to others.

Hope you enjoy your time here.

Cheers,
Anth

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank AnthGMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#333 of 893 in Bangkok
815 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#101 of 893 in Bangkok
1,297 reviews
Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
#258 of 893 in Bangkok
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Majestic Grande Hotel
Majestic Grande Hotel
#165 of 893 in Bangkok
1,696 reviews
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#87 of 893 in Bangkok
2,860 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davis Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Bangkok

Address: 88 Sukhumvit 24 | Klongteoy, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#101 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#197 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: RM 239 - RM 1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Davis Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Davis Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davis Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Davis Hotel
Davis Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing