We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious toasts with fresh milk.”
Review of Mont Nom Sod

Mont Nom Sod
Ranked #15 of 184 Quick Bites in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
Neighbourhood: Pathum Wan
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Pathum Wan
Reviewed 19 August 2016

This outlet at MBK Shopping Center has tables and chairs for about 30-people. Their toasts are spread with butter and coconut-egg jam and other kinds to your preference. Their milk are fresh and you can have a choice of hot or iced, either plain or with chocolate etc. I recommend this outlet for a snack meal when shopping at the mall.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank TigerYeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016

Coconut cream custard is something I grew up with. Only I have always known it as kaya. Some call it coconut jam. But it really is a custard because the egg sets the other ingredients.
I chanced on Mont Nom Sod many years back while wandering through MBK and was looking for a small bite to tide me over till dinner. What attracted me was the idea of dipping chunks of steamed bread into a bowl of kaya.
The bread was light, a bit like marshmallow, and dipped in kaya was delectable. The kaya is brownish but you can have one flavoured with pandanus (pandan leaf) which is green. There's peanut butter, chocolate (suspiciously like Nutella) and jam. You can order a serve of steamed bread or toast, or a just a slice.
A variety of drink are also available; coffee, tea, milk, herbal, and rosella, among others. If, like me, you don't like you drinks too sweet, ask them to leave off the syrup. And to leave out some of the ice.
The staff have enough English to take your order and they are helpful and patient.
Mont Nom Sod opens at 11.30 and there us sometimes a small crowd outside,

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Saw this place as we walked past on our 1st day day at MBK and remarked to the family that we must try it. Glad that we did. Really busy now on Sunday as everyone is having afternoon tea.

We had the toast with coconut custard (pandan) and condensed milk with hot milk tea (without sugar). Total - 95baht. It's a win. Toast was crispy on the outside and heavenly soft in the middle.
Tea was fragrant. Nice break from all the coffee we have been having for the past 3 days.

Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank SGlizab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

There is no preservative in their food and milk here, so everything is freshly made daily and if u wish to buy them home, u need to eat it up within 3 days. I always order the tea or coffee with LESS SUGAR, which is already pretty sweet. Toasted bread with the Coconut paste or Custards are equally awesome, so u have an excuse to try both... Or more....

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Choowai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

A friend recommended this place,popular for milk and bread/toast. The milk was very bland and i wasn't fond of the bread (with pandan sauce) either. The place was however, crowded with locals so i guess the taste is subjective...or maybe my palate needs to get used to it. Can try it once.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annejanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mont Nom Sod also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Mont Nom Sod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.