We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
jlt5
Paris, France
Great location, limited comfort
Review of White Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Oct 2011
Beyond its cheap price, this hotel is very well located, close to the sky train with a lot of food shops around.
Stay away from it though if you value clean rooms (walls especially, floor is fine), some are very humid.
Staff is moderately friendly, which is surprising among Thai people.
Bed quality was below average.
Daily payment was also a pain.
Date of stay: August 2011Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
6.0 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
3.5 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
4.1 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.4 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
1.6 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
3.7 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
5.1 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
3.3 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
3.5 km from White Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bangkok
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
5
31
39
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
31
39
11
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This review will make this place sound worse than it is, but here are some facts about White Lodge, Bangkok.

It has a superb location across Rama 1 Road(Sukhumvit) to MBK Center on Soi KasemSan 1, right on the BTS SkyTrain Silom Line station "W1 National Stadium". There is a 7eleven within 50 meters of the guesthouse.

The usual rate for a room is 500 Baht, includes double bed, A/C, water-heater shower, soap and towel. The bed has sheets.

There is a free WiFi on the second floor but it can be accessed probably from every room. At night time it seems to be turned off. The speed tested to a Bangkok server at ping 42ms, D1.60/U0.51Mbps.

You have to pay each morning and sign it on a book, which is troublesome. Also the noon cleaners are going to wake you up and knock on your door. There is little privacy from the cleaners. This is probably the worst thing about this hotel. They will go away if you agree the room not to be cleaned.

The 4th floor rooms seem the best value. It is good to shop around as some rooms have noisy or leaky A/C, no functioning electrical sockets, clogged drains, bad water tap, a cockroach horns peeking from a hole in the toilet doorstep etc.

The cleanliness is ok, but the cleaned floor/toilet usually has hairs etc left from the dirty cleaning water/brooms.

The rooms are far from impressive, but they are okay and the bed is ok.

To sum it up, if you want a nice location and a private room in the Siam area, access to 7eleven, SkyTrain, MBK, free WiFi for 500 Baht, it is a good choice. Bangkok is difficult for decent accommodation.

Remember that a taxi flag-fall is only 35 Bahts(5km+5B/km). SkyTrain is 15-40 Bahts, same as MRT underground metro.

Room tip: top floor for best rooms
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Future669
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2011

the location of this hotel is the best thing about this hotel , you will find very thing in near by vicinity from this place ,, let it be metro , mall , store , eatiries .in general this is nice place to stay in the centre of city rooms are nice and food is good
over all nice place to stay here .
staff people are helping in nature

Date of stay: December 2010
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank danavmanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2011

It's in Siam Square which isn't cheap. You can get a single room with aircon and priv bathroom for ~500B a night. Others in the area are 600-1300 for similar.

The rooms aren't big but they are by no means small. It's not dirty but it's not clean if that makes sense. The staff is friendly and the location is great as it's a stones throw from MBK and the BTS.

To give you an idea though, my room had mold that was painted over. I wouldn't stay there a month but if you want this area it's cool for a night or so. Also has hot showers. I used it for 2 nights to find the apartment I'm in now. No regrets and I'd stay there again if I was in town for a night or so and wanted this desired area.

Will note this though, they turn off the free WIFI at 10PM and it's back at like 8AM which is mind blowing. Also it only really works on 2nd floor but got it in my first floor room.

Rob aka
http://stophavingaboringlife.com

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I was attracted by a 450bhats room price. When i get the room, i noticed Dirty shower not functionning. They first told me to Wait for one hour. I requested another room and i have been presented another one even More dirty. Finally, i had to add 100bahts more to have a better room without Any discount.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This is one of several budget hotels on a little Soi right next to a SkyTrain stop. Super-convenient location, friendly service, and great value. An excellent place to stay on a budget.

Date of stay: July 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank privypurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews