We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy crab curry”

Somboon Siam Square One
Ranked #914 of 13,771 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Bangkok
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

If you love #crab, i highly recommend Crab curry at #Somboon. There are quite a few negative reviews of Somboon Seafood across the web, but I wonder how many reviewers actually ate at a real Somboon versus the fake ones. If you take taxi, taxi driver will driver you to a fake Somboon. Take BTS to #Siam station. One of the original Somboon's branch in #SiamSquare1

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank engineer2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice traditions Teow Chew dishes. Light on the seasoning to really taste the seafood. Service is great. Avoid peak timing, we tried but not able to make reservation, went for second time only managed to eat in.
We ordered deep fried fish, steam prawn, prawn salad, braised pork ribs, crabs, some vege, and the deep fried prawn ball, fish cake... All were very nice. Just the crab , which was supposed to be the highlight of the meal, was not really to our liking and we found it overrated.
Will definitely come back if we visit Bangkok again !

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Schumakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

I heard the restaurant from my host who is a local. For the first time, we arrived at ard 7pm but the queue is really long so we gave up. We went to the restaurant again two days later before 5.45pm and still gotta wait for 15 mins for a table.

We ordered the signature dish, fried curry crab. Not all the whole plate was served hot, part of it was smoking, while some was just warm, and we could tell the crab itself was nearly tasteless without the sauce. The only good thing was the sauce taste quite nice. Other seafood dishes had problem of more or less the same. The seafood quality is just so-so or even bad.

As it was recommended from a local and there is long queue all the time, we did have some expectation on the restaurant. However, it turned out to be a big disappointment.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Chungyantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Not nice at all. Bad service. Ordered rice for 3 times and never serve. Please go other place to eat. Overrated. The curry is tasteless. Seriously not recommended.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 679celestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

The place was very packed and we waited for almost an hour to get our table. Their famous fried curry crab is worth to try but i think it's overrated. Other dishes are sumptuous. The staffs are very efficient though, we had quite a hard time communicating with them since they cant speak and understand english well.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank ampy_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Somboon Siam Square One also viewed

 

Been to Somboon Siam Square One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.