We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to explore Chaing Mai from!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charcoa Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #220 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to explore Chaing Mai from!”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for four nights during our month long trip around Thailand. This is great value for money and the staff cannot do enough to help you. They are so friendly and helpful. We got suits made which were being delivered to the guest house, when the tailor was late they sent the guest house security guard to look for them!
The room was really clean and although the bathroom was small it was fine. We had breakfast included in our price and this was worth the money and you got to eat some of the produce from the lovely bakery in the guest house. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    74
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
73
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sale
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2011

A very nice place to stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWandererSale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Charcoa House is a wonderful little hotel within the city moat in Chiang Mai. The staff are kind and attentive and you feel like you are at a friend's guest house when you are there. The rooms are immaculate and very nicely designed and well thought out. Included in your room is breakfast which can be chosen from a short list which includes of pancakes, waffles, eggs, muesli, or noodle soup and the usual coffee, tea or juice. The rooms have television, kettle with coffee or tea included, complimentary water, shampoo and soap, clean fluffy towels and crisp white sheets. There is also a hair dryer in each room which is nice as you don't always find this in Thailand and handy to dry items quickly. Some rooms are two level and stairs accessing the bedroom above.

The hotel can assist with tours and also rents cute little bicycles. Wifi is free in the hotel and restaurant although those with iphones may have trouble connecting for some reason. However, there is an accessible computer in the reception area if you don't have your own laptop.

The hotel is close to some great restaurants within walking distance including a great organic vegetarian restaurant (Blue Diamond) and a great fusion, western restaurant (Ginger @ Kafe). Tuk tuks and red taxis are plentiful just a few steps away except in the late evening in which case you may need to ask the reception desk for assistance in calling a taxi or tuk tuk.

There is a bar across the street which sometimes plays music quite late although not every evening. This may disturb your sleep if you are a light sleeper however, in most of Chiang Mai you can hear noise of all sorts days and night so this is not unusual if you are in the city environs.

Great location to walk to all the major sights and temples in town.
Highly recommended hotel in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We booked in advance into Charcoa House in Chaing Mai. We arrived and found the place as described and the facilities were good.
We did however have a problem with staff. We wanted to see some elephants in a way which respected them and helped them so we choose to book into the elephant nature park. We spoke to the woman at reception who had the best English and seemed to be in charge. She went to a corner and pulled out the brochure for the Elephant Nature Park from a large pile (it wasn’t displayed like the other elephant companies). She rang up in front of us and booked us into it for the following day. She confirmed after getting off the phone that she had booked us in for the following day and gave us details of when and where they would pick us up from. When we returned from our outings that day she came up to us and said that the Nature Park had rung back and said that they now didn’t have space for us tomorrow and because of that she had booked us into another one for the following day. She handed us the brochure, it was one of the ones displayed prominently.
We said we definitely wanted to go to the Elephant Nature park and could she please ring up and book us into them the day after tomorrow, she didn’t do this in front of us and we were quite suspicious of this, so we asked her again and she finally rang up in front of us and booked us in for the day after tomorrow. We were quite suspicious and went back to our room and rang the place directly and they said they had room the following day and so we changed the booking ourselves and went, as we wanted to, the following day. We therefore think she lied to us to go on a different company. The reason, we don’t know for sure, but probably commission, or the size of commission between the companies. Pretty disappointed. We won’t stay there again because of this.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrabbit097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

stayed there for 3 nites in the superior room. cosy country settings. location is abt 20-25 mins walk away from the night baazar. 20 mins drive from airport. customer service were extremely polite and friendly. breakfast selection might be a little limited. would be good to try their ala carte food which was excellent! (esp the strawberry shortcake) free wifi is an additional plus!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmaineKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 km away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#120 of 383 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
1.2 km away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#96 of 383 in Chiang Mai
336 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
#112 of 383 in Chiang Mai
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#27 of 747 in Chiang Mai
346 reviews
0.3 km away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#44 of 747 in Chiang Mai
331 reviews
1.0 km away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 747 in Chiang Mai
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charcoa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charcoa Bed and Breakfast

Property: Charcoa Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 Soi 1 Sriphum Rd. | Inner The old town, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): RM94 - RM210
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charcoa Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are sure you will enjoy your stay in this beautiful European country house Hotel. Our lovely Restaurant serving you an international meals, original Thai food, different appetizers and delicious coffee grown in the surrounding mountains of Northern Thailand. We would like to invite you to stay at our exclusive Bed & Breakfast and enjoy your holidays in Chiang Mai - The Rose of Thailand. We will be always at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Charcoa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charcoa Hotel Chiang Mai
Charcoa b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing