We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, cool and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ban wiang Guest House and Apartment
Ranked #337 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2015

2nd stay at this great guesthouse, both visits for approx 3 weeks each, very friendly staff, location is its biggest drawcard it's clean and has a nice social area and is very reasonably priced, I will definately be back. They now offer a breakfast/coffee service (which I didnt take advantage of) and motorcycle rental, if you were that way inclined you could shop around and find cheaper but it is convenient to use the hotel's bike (just watch out as police have started asking for International Drivers Permits, so either a fine or a backhander needed if you ride without one, seems they only hiy you on your way out of town, Mae Rim etc, got hit 3 times myself).

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have small TVs if you have a preference for bigger 22" ? Ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2015

This place especially for the price was exceptional. The room was extremely spacious and probably in one of the best locations possible in central Chiang Mai. It was walking distance from two of the major Temples in Chiang Mai and there was plenty to do at night just a 1 minute walk into the "block."

)Seriously just personal stuff that probably won't matter to most)
However, I had two small issues that kind of made certain things a little but of a nuisance. My towels were kind of water proof...and I had to use both to somewhat dry myself off. On top of that there was so much lint left over on my skin that was kind of annoying. The second thing was that when I checked-in the WiFi was being fixed and was working flawlessly that night, however the next day it was completely out of commission, even after I asked for them to reset the router. Besides that I had a great time in Chiang Mai and would consider staying here again if I am around.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

i stayed here for 4 nights. its nothing great. but what makes this place is the staff is super friendly and helpful. the room itself was ok. its clean and bedding was clean. the bathroom maybe a little upgrading. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Ban Wiang meets all of my personal criteria for good value. Central location which means, in this case, inside the moat which was built around the old city 700 years ago, Clean with a private bath. Reasonable price. This is not a backpacker dorm nor a luxury hotel. The private bath has a flush toilet, a sink, and a hand held shower mounted to the wall. As with most baths in Thailand, there is no designated shower area. The shower water is heated electrically as it moves through a small heater on the wall. The room and the linens are cleaned weekly. the wall has a large hand painted mural of a tamarind tree. The room has a double bed, a wardrobe, a desk, and a small refrigerator. Functional and clean. The owner is helpful but she works a "real" job as well. Management is then delegated to Oui, a friendly, capable, kind, smiling young woman.. They are both willing to answer your questions and help you enjoy your stay in Chiang Mai. The only reason it is not 5 stars is because it is not a luxury hotel. But then again, you do not pay luxury prices.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DenverProfessor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Decent overnight stay, I was in Chiang Mai for just over 24 hours. And walked into a few, and then found and settled at this one!

Tried to sell me a all day tour still, but I'll let that go. The room was clean and the staff helpful by giving me a map. I found it difficult to navigate back in the dark, and it's down the little side streets of the old town. But I am a guy, and we cant read maps - or something.

Would recommend if on the hop.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 km away
Dutch Guesthouse
Dutch Guesthouse
#193 of 801 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
0.0 km away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#34 of 801 in Chiang Mai
427 reviews
0.0 km away
Banilah
Banilah
#33 of 801 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Soisabai Guesthouse
Soisabai Guesthouse
#139 of 801 in Chiang Mai
37 reviews
0.0 km away
Chiangmai Backpack House
Chiangmai Backpack House
#267 of 801 in Chiang Mai
99 reviews
0.0 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban wiang Guest House and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban wiang Guest House and Apartment

Address: 38/1 Rachadumnern Rd. Lane 1, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: RM42 - RM71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban wiang Guest House and Apartment 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ban wiang Guest House and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing