We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$180
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$141
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$46
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$373
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$324
US$254
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
27
38
15
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
38
15
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstha pae gateaccess cardlady ownerold cityloy krathong festivalgreat place to staywithin easy walking distancenight marketbalconywifitoiletthb
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2015

This place especially for the price was exceptional. The room was extremely spacious and probably in one of the best locations possible in central Chiang Mai. It was walking distance from two of the major Temples in Chiang Mai and there was plenty to do at night just a 1 minute walk into the "block."

)Seriously just personal stuff that probably won't matter to most)
However, I had two small issues that kind of made certain things a little but of a nuisance. My towels were kind of water proof...and I had to use both to somewhat dry myself off. On top of that there was so much lint left over on my skin that was kind of annoying. The second thing was that when I checked-in the WiFi was being fixed and was working flawlessly that night, however the next day it was completely out of commission, even after I asked for them to reset the router. Besides that I had a great time in Chiang Mai and would consider staying here again if I am around.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

i stayed here for 4 nights. its nothing great. but what makes this place is the staff is super friendly and helpful. the room itself was ok. its clean and bedding was clean. the bathroom maybe a little upgrading. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Ban Wiang meets all of my personal criteria for good value. Central location which means, in this case, inside the moat which was built around the old city 700 years ago, Clean with a private bath. Reasonable price. This is not a backpacker dorm nor a luxury hotel. The private bath has a flush toilet, a sink, and a hand held shower mounted to the wall. As with most baths in Thailand, there is no designated shower area. The shower water is heated electrically as it moves through a small heater on the wall. The room and the linens are cleaned weekly. the wall has a large hand painted mural of a tamarind tree. The room has a double bed, a wardrobe, a desk, and a small refrigerator. Functional and clean. The owner is helpful but she works a "real" job as well. Management is then delegated to Oui, a friendly, capable, kind, smiling young woman.. They are both willing to answer your questions and help you enjoy your stay in Chiang Mai. The only reason it is not 5 stars is because it is not a luxury hotel. But then again, you do not pay luxury prices.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DenverProfessor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Decent overnight stay, I was in Chiang Mai for just over 24 hours. And walked into a few, and then found and settled at this one!

Tried to sell me a all day tour still, but I'll let that go. The room was clean and the staff helpful by giving me a map. I found it difficult to navigate back in the dark, and it's down the little side streets of the old town. But I am a guy, and we cant read maps - or something.

Would recommend if on the hop.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. Backpacker friendly and off season discount was the reason we decided to stay here. Quiet clean and basic and helpful staffs who helps us to organize our tours around chiang mai.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dhlondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews