We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value for that price”
Review of Chang Puak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chang Puak Hotel
Ranked #122 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We made Chang Puak hotel our base in Chiang Mai after some recommendations by fellow travellers on trip advisor.

The only thing I can say is that all the positives I have seen in the earlier reviews hold true for the hotel and most of negatives seem to stem from people having far too many expectations from a hotel with that kind of pricing.

To put things in a nutshell, the hotel is very well located, has clean rooms with the housekeeping staff doing a good job of it every day, has a very nice pool, food is good and inexpensive. Lots of places around to pick up good decent food, transportation is not a problem even at 2 am in the morning. The hotel was kind enough to allow us early check in and late check out at no extra cost.

The negatives - language can become a problem with some of the staff but there is nothing that cannot be achieved with a smile and some patience. The receptionist whose husband drives a cab does exist and she will try to fix you up with him, but if you have read the previous reviews you can very easily avoid that bit.

If I ever go back to Chiang Mai looking for a budget option, Chang Puak hotel would rate high on my list of of hotels to stay at.

Room Tip: Pick a pool facing room on the higher floors if you can manage the stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPakrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Chang Puak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

My friends had booked 5 star hotels in the other cities we visited, for $200+ per night. They luckily couldn't find a place in Chiang Mai, so I booked Chang Puak. It was clean and the staff was very personable. The breakfasts were good.

While it was a few minute walk to the old city, being in the old city may have been a bit more fun.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsussman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Reading recent reviews regarding the staff,we must have been staying in an other hotel! In all our travels through Asia we found the staff the most rude,ignorant & unfriendly we have encountered.we do like to try different restaurants & do our own thing.i suppose if we spent mega bucks at the hotel they I suppose would take a different attitude.
Ice cold pool with only 8 sun beds for the entire hotel,rooms in need of renovation.the only positive thing was the meals,value for money & good quality.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Over the month of December (2013) we stayed here for 3 weeks and it was wonderful! The staff is incredibly helpful with everything from arranging transportation to setting up Spa visits and site-seeing. The pool was FAR better than the pictures showed (although it was a bit chilly) The food is priced about average for a sit-down restaurant (compared to food carts or stands) but well worth it!
The location of this hotel made it possible for us to walk almost everywhere. Because we were on an extended stay it was very helpful to have Tops Market and 7/11 right around the corner.
Overall I expect to stay here again next time we visit.

~safe for families with children
~doors and windows locked
~ small number of employees felt like family & took GREAT care of us and the other guests
~close to food, shopping, transportation and entertainment
~CEAN, safe and friendly

Room Tip: we had a corner room on the pool side; GREAT view but a little noisy
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWendlandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel have a nice garden with a true tropical ambiance and a lovely pool with showers and toilets on the side. The rooms are clean and large. The staff is very polite and helpful. It takes you 5 minutes to walk to the Chang Puak gate in the old city, so you are close to the action.
This is my prefered hotel in Chiang Mai. I have stayed there 4 times now, and will stay here on my next visit to Chiang Mai for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svein Arne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Inndigo Chiang Mai
Inndigo Chiang Mai
#127 of 777 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
2.5 km away
The Castle
The Castle
#73 of 777 in Chiang Mai
334 reviews
0.3 km away
Changpuak Boutique House
Changpuak Boutique House
#183 of 777 in Chiang Mai
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Now Chiang Mai
Now Chiang Mai
#157 of 891 in Chiang Mai
24 reviews
0.7 km away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#92 of 777 in Chiang Mai
438 reviews
1.6 km away
Karou Lotus Hotel
Karou Lotus Hotel
#182 of 777 in Chiang Mai
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Puak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Puak Hotel

Address: 133 Changpuak Road | Sripum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: RM97 - RM122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Puak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has been in the same family for 75 years We offer a peaceful experience in our own garden, set back from the main road , yet only 500 m from the "Old Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chang Puak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing