We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different qualities and themes in different rooms”
Review of Chang Puak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chang Puak Hotel
Ranked #123 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel on two separate nights and different storeys (2nd and 3rd floors) and found out that each room has different themes and qualities. For the first night, the room was very spartan and basic - there was no temperature control for the aircon, the wifi did not work (only the third storey had the wifi problem) and there were no power points for charging (so I had to plug out the fridge). However, I like the vintage theme of the first room, though the old-ness of the room could have contributed to a spooky feeling and we weren't able to sleep well.

I was pleasantly surprised by the second room on the second storey - it had the theme of a European coastal cottage and it smelled very nice. There was a nice huge couch in the room too. Everything was there - the aircon remote control and enough powerpoints for charging. So you may want to request to be checked into a room on the second storey.

We only choose this hotel due to its proximity to the Chang Puaek Bus Station where we had to catch an early morning bus. Other than that, there is no good reason to stay there and there is barely any eating places in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank phoebyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Chang Puak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

So very impressed... 10 min walk to yellow bar, wifi in rooms and decent computer room for free. Unlimited toast, tea and coffee, egg and bacon breakfast for 100 bhat. The hotel staff were extremely helpful. English needed a bit of work (my thai is awful so I can hardly complain!) there was nothing we needed to communicate and couldn't after some time and a lot of hand signalling. A LOT of laundry for 200 bhat that came back smelling amazing and taken straight to our room. Pool is gorgeous!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We made Chang Puak hotel our base in Chiang Mai after some recommendations by fellow travellers on trip advisor.

The only thing I can say is that all the positives I have seen in the earlier reviews hold true for the hotel and most of negatives seem to stem from people having far too many expectations from a hotel with that kind of pricing.

To put things in a nutshell, the hotel is very well located, has clean rooms with the housekeeping staff doing a good job of it every day, has a very nice pool, food is good and inexpensive. Lots of places around to pick up good decent food, transportation is not a problem even at 2 am in the morning. The hotel was kind enough to allow us early check in and late check out at no extra cost.

The negatives - language can become a problem with some of the staff but there is nothing that cannot be achieved with a smile and some patience. The receptionist whose husband drives a cab does exist and she will try to fix you up with him, but if you have read the previous reviews you can very easily avoid that bit.

If I ever go back to Chiang Mai looking for a budget option, Chang Puak hotel would rate high on my list of of hotels to stay at.

Room Tip: Pick a pool facing room on the higher floors if you can manage the stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPakrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My friends had booked 5 star hotels in the other cities we visited, for $200+ per night. They luckily couldn't find a place in Chiang Mai, so I booked Chang Puak. It was clean and the staff was very personable. The breakfasts were good.

While it was a few minute walk to the old city, being in the old city may have been a bit more fun.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsussman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Reading recent reviews regarding the staff,we must have been staying in an other hotel! In all our travels through Asia we found the staff the most rude,ignorant & unfriendly we have encountered.we do like to try different restaurants & do our own thing.i suppose if we spent mega bucks at the hotel they I suppose would take a different attitude.
Ice cold pool with only 8 sun beds for the entire hotel,rooms in need of renovation.the only positive thing was the meals,value for money & good quality.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Inndigo Chiang Mai
Inndigo Chiang Mai
#137 of 777 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
2.5 km away
The Castle
The Castle
#68 of 777 in Chiang Mai
334 reviews
0.3 km away
Changpuak Boutique House
Changpuak Boutique House
#187 of 777 in Chiang Mai
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Now Chiang Mai
Now Chiang Mai
#156 of 888 in Chiang Mai
24 reviews
0.7 km away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#94 of 777 in Chiang Mai
437 reviews
1.6 km away
Karou Lotus Hotel
Karou Lotus Hotel
#180 of 777 in Chiang Mai
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Puak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Puak Hotel

Address: 133 Changpuak Road | Sripum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: RM97 - RM122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Puak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has been in the same family for 75 years We offer a peaceful experience in our own garden, set back from the main road , yet only 500 m from the "Old Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chang Puak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing