We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$121
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$47
US$42
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$38/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varada Place(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$15
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$201
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$372
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
30
37
16
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
37
16
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean poolminute walkair conold cityrooms are basicgreat place to staylovely hotelwifisupermarketsunbedsbaht
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

So very impressed... 10 min walk to yellow bar, wifi in rooms and decent computer room for free. Unlimited toast, tea and coffee, egg and bacon breakfast for 100 bhat. The hotel staff were extremely helpful. English needed a bit of work (my thai is awful so I can hardly complain!) there was nothing we needed to communicate and couldn't after some time and a lot of hand signalling. A LOT of laundry for 200 bhat that came back smelling amazing and taken straight to our room. Pool is gorgeous!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We made Chang Puak hotel our base in Chiang Mai after some recommendations by fellow travellers on trip advisor.

The only thing I can say is that all the positives I have seen in the earlier reviews hold true for the hotel and most of negatives seem to stem from people having far too many expectations from a hotel with that kind of pricing.

To put things in a nutshell, the hotel is very well located, has clean rooms with the housekeeping staff doing a good job of it every day, has a very nice pool, food is good and inexpensive. Lots of places around to pick up good decent food, transportation is not a problem even at 2 am in the morning. The hotel was kind enough to allow us early check in and late check out at no extra cost.

The negatives - language can become a problem with some of the staff but there is nothing that cannot be achieved with a smile and some patience. The receptionist whose husband drives a cab does exist and she will try to fix you up with him, but if you have read the previous reviews you can very easily avoid that bit.

If I ever go back to Chiang Mai looking for a budget option, Chang Puak hotel would rate high on my list of of hotels to stay at.

Room Tip: Pick a pool facing room on the higher floors if you can manage the stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPakrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My friends had booked 5 star hotels in the other cities we visited, for $200+ per night. They luckily couldn't find a place in Chiang Mai, so I booked Chang Puak. It was clean and the staff was very personable. The breakfasts were good.

While it was a few minute walk to the old city, being in the old city may have been a bit more fun.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsussman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Reading recent reviews regarding the staff,we must have been staying in an other hotel! In all our travels through Asia we found the staff the most rude,ignorant & unfriendly we have encountered.we do like to try different restaurants & do our own thing.i suppose if we spent mega bucks at the hotel they I suppose would take a different attitude.
Ice cold pool with only 8 sun beds for the entire hotel,rooms in need of renovation.the only positive thing was the meals,value for money & good quality.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Over the month of December (2013) we stayed here for 3 weeks and it was wonderful! The staff is incredibly helpful with everything from arranging transportation to setting up Spa visits and site-seeing. The pool was FAR better than the pictures showed (although it was a bit chilly) The food is priced about average for a sit-down restaurant (compared to food carts or stands) but well worth it!
The location of this hotel made it possible for us to walk almost everywhere. Because we were on an extended stay it was very helpful to have Tops Market and 7/11 right around the corner.
Overall I expect to stay here again next time we visit.

~safe for families with children
~doors and windows locked
~ small number of employees felt like family & took GREAT care of us and the other guests
~close to food, shopping, transportation and entertainment
~CEAN, safe and friendly

Room Tip: we had a corner room on the pool side; GREAT view but a little noisy
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWendlandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews