We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$49
US$45
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$122
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
U Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$136
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
US$180
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$70
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$53
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
US$235
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
255
237
42
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
237
42
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschaigreat locationnight bazaarold townwalking distancequiet streetroticomplimentary snackstha pae gatethapae roadloved this hotelcomfortable bedminute walkwould stay againvery nice hotelwarorot marketair con
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We travelled here as a family of four. The hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful. It is situated just a short walk from the city walls which was great for us as it was quiet to sleep. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SAV91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

My partner & I chose De Chai Colonial after reading the other great reviews. This was our first trip to Chiang Mai so was relying on reviews about location ect.
So pleased we chose to stay here! It is a charming little hotel in the centre of all the action. Only 5min walk to the Thae Pae gate & into the Old City & around 15min walk to the Night Bazaar...which we pleased about walking after over indulging most nights.
The staff were lovely from the minute we checked in, very attentive & helpful & provided us a map of the city indicating the main attractions. They also helped me locate the closest gym & wrote directions down for me. Not long after arriving in our room a complimentary fruit platter arrived. They also provide complimentary chocolates which are replaced daily by housekeeping. Breakfast was a good spread too & they provided us a takeaway breekie box the day we did an early morning tour.
Cannot fault this place, rooms are very modern, beds super comfy & staff always had a welcoming smile as we came & went, always more than happy to answer questions & assist.
If you're looking for laundry service, Rose's laundry in the laneway is brilliant. Great service & so cheap. The roti lady at corner of lane each night is amazing too.
Absolutely recommend this place if you're looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Nice and helpful staff. Good size, clean rooms. A bit noisy but efficient AC. Hotel located in a small quiet street, but very close to the city centre. Breakfast relatively modest as for such hotel. Cappucino, latte etc. Additionaly paid. Overall good impression and worth reccomending.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Wojtek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Exceptional service; spacious luxurious rooms; excellent bed with mattress and linens; excellent breakfast; wonderful massage at the SPA; great location - five minutes from the old city yet absolutely quiet; great value for budget

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drruth2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and two teenagers in a 2 bedroom family room for one night. Check in was fast and efficient. The rooms and bathroom were beautiful and decorated in good taste. The service was good. Breakfast was nice. The overall ambience was excellent. Within walking distance of the old city. Definitely a recommended stay in Chiang Mai.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dbb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews