We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!! 5 out of 5!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Ranked #39 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is an excellent choice in Chiang Mai. We stayed as a couple and there is absolutely no flaw that we found. The staff is courteous and helped us plan Elephant Jungle tour as well.

Breakfast is good enough, and we were also offered Indian Options.

It is walking distance from Tha Pae gate, around which most of the action happens. And, its walk-able from the Night Market as well.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ankit_Jindal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We travelled here as a family of four. The hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful. It is situated just a short walk from the city walls which was great for us as it was quiet to sleep. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SAV91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

My partner & I chose De Chai Colonial after reading the other great reviews. This was our first trip to Chiang Mai so was relying on reviews about location ect.
So pleased we chose to stay here! It is a charming little hotel in the centre of all the action. Only 5min walk to the Thae Pae gate & into the Old City & around 15min walk to the Night Bazaar...which we pleased about walking after over indulging most nights.
The staff were lovely from the minute we checked in, very attentive & helpful & provided us a map of the city indicating the main attractions. They also helped me locate the closest gym & wrote directions down for me. Not long after arriving in our room a complimentary fruit platter arrived. They also provide complimentary chocolates which are replaced daily by housekeeping. Breakfast was a good spread too & they provided us a takeaway breekie box the day we did an early morning tour.
Cannot fault this place, rooms are very modern, beds super comfy & staff always had a welcoming smile as we came & went, always more than happy to answer questions & assist.
If you're looking for laundry service, Rose's laundry in the laneway is brilliant. Great service & so cheap. The roti lady at corner of lane each night is amazing too.
Absolutely recommend this place if you're looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Nice and helpful staff. Good size, clean rooms. A bit noisy but efficient AC. Hotel located in a small quiet street, but very close to the city centre. Breakfast relatively modest as for such hotel. Cappucino, latte etc. Additionaly paid. Overall good impression and worth reccomending.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Wojtek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Exceptional service; spacious luxurious rooms; excellent bed with mattress and linens; excellent breakfast; wonderful massage at the SPA; great location - five minutes from the old city yet absolutely quiet; great value for budget

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drruth2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 389 in Chiang Mai
980 reviews
0.6 km away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 389 in Chiang Mai
986 reviews
0.5 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#35 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,314 reviews
0.2 km away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#40 of 389 in Chiang Mai
676 reviews
0.9 km away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 389 in Chiang Mai
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: RM367 - RM764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing