We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$141
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$53
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
10
4
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
4
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It's impossible to sing the praises of D&D highly enough...it's head and shoulders above anywhere else I've stayed during my 3 months in SE Asia!

D&D has everything you need from a Guesthouse during your travels; great value, spotless rooms and perfect location (quiet, right next to the moat and 5 mins walk to Tapae Gate and all the old city attractions.)

The unique feature that attracted me to D&D though is the large, fab lounge/bar area which is perfect for chilling out or having a beer/chat at the bar - a rare feature in budget accommodation but a God-send when you're travelling and don't want to feel confined to your room when you just want to kick back and relax.

However, the special ingredients that make D&D such a great place to stay are Niels and Kanita, the Dutch-Thai owners that run the guesthouse. From the minute I stepped into the place it felt warm, welcoming, friendly and relaxed - and that's all down to the huge efforts Niels and Kanita go to to create such a great atmosphere. At this guesthouse, more than anywhere else I've stayed, you're made to feel more than just a paying guest - more like a friend who's come to stay.

So whether it's local knowledge, recommendations, a chat/laugh at the bar, privacy and relaxation or safety and security you're looking for, that's what Niels and Kanita provide to make sure your stay in Chiang Mai is the best it can be.

On a personal note, I had a petty tough experience when a friend had a serious motorbike accident when we were travelling close to the Burmese border. Out of my depth, I called Niels and Kanita who immediately dropped everything to support with advice, translations, knowledge of medical services...and much, much more. Amazing people!

So...all that for only 300 Baht/night! You'd be crazy to stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic041070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Dutch & Delicious is a really stunning guesthouse with two very nice owners, clean rooms with really reasonable prices and a really very beautiful Restaurant-area between the Rooms and the small street, situated directly at the edge of the old city of Chiang Mai. (Rooms start at 200 THB for one person)

Yout think about staying in Chiang Mai and you are looking for a cheap guesthouse with the standards of an expensive one? You definitely have to choose Dutch & Delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPR1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Chiang Mai was something like a base for us during our round trip in northern Thailand. Therefore we spent some nights in the city again and again. We stayed in different guest houses in town, but D&D's was definitely our favorite one in Chiang Mai! The guest house was opened in mid-2011, as the owners told us. You can guess the interior is quiet new and not out-fashioned or too often used. The rooms have big and useful furniture: The wardrobes and the beds are really good and clean. Anyway, in the room is definitely enough space for all backpacks. Furthermore, every room has its own restroom. Showers are shared on the corridor. Nevertheless, these are also clean and safe – a shortcut in the shower is not likely. The electricity of the heater is saved. A point which does not count for every guest house in lovely Thailand…
A further advantage of the D&D on other guest houses in Chiang Mai: The building is not closely located to the street, hence there is a big yard in front of the house in which many seats and sofas are offered. There it is possible to spend time hanging out, surfing in the web via the free Wi-Fi, playing pool billiard or dart for free, or trying one of the offered (Belgium) beers or (Dutch) snacks. As we have seen the lounge for the first we felt totally comfortable in this guest house. The first impression was proven to be right! In addition, there is also one terrace located above the yard where guests are more separated from the main spot. In the lounge is nice western music aired which is suited to the situation (chill-out or party).
The rates for staying at D&D’s were very fair. Of course, we have been there in the off-season, but 300 Baht per night for such a lovely accommodation is unbeatable in the city. We know it, because we stayed in other GH’s in Chiang Mai as well and these were not that good and even more expensive as D&D! Nevertheless, I also saw coincidently a sign at the bar which states a rate of 450 Baht per night. Maybe it is the rate for high seasons?! But seriously, I do not know.
No doubt about the awesome location of the guest house which is near by the Tapea Gate. D&D is close to the main road, but not that close that you hear the traffic all time. So, every hot spot in the old city is reachable within a minutes’ walk.
The very last point we totally liked at D&D were the owners, Niels and Kanita. The Dutch-Thai couple was very friendly. Both know the area in and around the city and entire Thailand as well. They traveled through the country as well and therefore they know what travelers want. You can feel it at D&D! Additional, they are always able to give you some reliable information about other places in Thailand.
To summarize my opinion about the D&D in Chiang Mai: If you are looking for a guest house there, you should ask for a room there. It is totally worth.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

- good price
- nice lounge-bar with belgian beers and dutch food
- friendly owner
- shared shower
- clean room with towels (fan or airconditioning)
- a lot of noise from the bar untill 12pm (even with ear-plugs)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K0Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and we enjoyed it. The price was very good for Chiang Mai standards and you can chose a fan or ac room. The room is clean and has a desk and toilet, shower is shared. Our bathroom didn't have a door which is a bit silly. And there were a lot of ventilation grids in the walls of the bathroom and they are closed shut with toilet paper which is a bit weird and looks awkward. The bar downstairs is very nicely decorated and you have many nice chairs and sofas to sit in and there is a pool table as well. You can try a lot of special Belgian beers @ a reasonable price.
Keep in mind that that you can hear noise from the bar in your room untill 11-12 @ night. We didn't mind that much because we didn't have to get up early.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews