We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All style and no substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Ranked #133 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Our room was well decorated with all the mod-cons, including a hot power shower which was very welcomed after our jungle trek.
The breakfast was also decent.
However, the service in this hotel is not good. Most of the porters and staff about (if you can find them) come across as teenagers laughing, slouching and generally not being helpful. Nobody came across as trained, and although we left our room with the "please make up" sign on from 9:30am, when we returned at 2pm, the room was still dirty. They only reached our room closer to 3pm. None of the bars were staffed and we couldn't even get a coffee after asking two members of staff.
The laundry service is ridiculously overpriced. Google the local launder who will collect and deliver from the hotel lobby at a fraction of the price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CailineRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

I was in Thailand for almost 4 months early 2016.
Where I was staying living in Chiang Mai was pretty comfortable and more than I really needed EXCEPT there was no bath.
I was feeling very drained and achy at the time from the heat and couple of mishaps where I.... well... I just felt I needed a little retreat and to relax in what I thought would almost be "western" style and somewhat luxurious accomodations (at a reasonable "thai" price of course)
What I needed most was a very comfy bed, a quiet room and a nice bath!
I also needed something "accessible" but that's a lot to ask in Thailand LOL
Anyhow... I stayed at Amora for 3 days and after the first day, I already felt like I should just go back to my favourite and most frequented hotel the Wangburapa Grand. (The larger rooms more comfortable, quiet and even more "accessible"... all at $30/night)
The beds weren't as comfy as I hoped...
The shower/bath was not cleaned well (long black hairs in tub and smears on chrome)
The room had a loud low frequency humm
Just wasn't worth it to me at all. I felt like I was just throwing $ away simply trying to pamper myself thinking "western style" would be better.
I forgot one of the many reasons why I came to Thailand in the first place.
Western thinking doesn't work and living luxurious in Thailand (to me) just seems sort of crazy.

I didn't want to write this review back then because I was afraid to get anyone fired.. but I won't go back there.
What was nice was the bar/restaurant area! The staff were all kind, polite and even fun!

again... sorry my reviews aren't very professional I'm just sort of speaking (from my humble opinion) as it is, as I am.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

I got the room on a nice promotion and paid 1200 baht a night including taxes and breakfast.

First the plus +
+ Nice big room
+ Good breakfast
+ Room cleaning was good
+ Bed, TV, aircon in the room was good
+ Location is very good

The minus -
- swimming pool is not good
- check in took very long time

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank LarsJohnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Rooms are ok, clean but nothing special.
The phone didn't work in our room, informed reception but nothing was done.
Reception don't speak very good English so several things we asked for couldn't be done.
Breakfast was basic. Lots of bugs on the wall and table.
Pool was dirty and the ladder is broken. Cut my ankle trying to get out of the pool.
Good location but that's about all that was good.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank kennedydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Recently me and a friend stayed here for 10 days in total...I had booked this hotel for our trip as we had heard and read good things. So here is my complete review in depth on everything we experienced...

When we first arrived around 8am (after getting the Night train up from Bangkok to Chiang Mai - highly recommend great experience) we didn't expect to be able to check in as check in isn't until 2pm, but after enquiring we were told our room was ready for us...so we were very happy!

Our room - just a superior double with 2 windows over looking the main road. Bed was comfortable and very big, tv we didn't use, bathroom was nice and everything was clean. Mini bar was over priced but what do you expect for a mini bar? Air con was nice as you could set it to what ever temperature and flow you wanted, however was relatively noisy, clearly a older system. Phone in the room didn't work so that was irritating, but liveable as we only wanted to use it for room service one evening, but still it should have been working! Overall though we were happy.

Included breakfast, we both found nice, nothing special, just nice. Lots to choose from and different dishes every day. Pastries weren't fresh and juices weren't real juices but hey, we were satisfied.

Staff - honestly, there seemed to be quite a few staff but none of them really knew what they were doing...we had drinks at the bar opposite the reception and it took about 30 mins for them to make one cocktail as they had no idea what to do and had to Google and phone someone for advice, also the bar was very overpriced.
The pool bar - well unfortunately every time we used the pool we couldn't purchase any drinks from the pool bar because there was NEVER anyone there!! Shame.
The reception staff - Didn't understand much English and was difficult to explain any issues.

The pool was ok, could have really done with a good clean as not once did we see any cleaner or staff member do anything to the pool. I wonder who and when it does actually get cleaned?
Also half the sun beds around the pool are broken...always fun when you go to lay on one and your pretty much laying on the hard floor!

Spa - I had 2 treatments - the neck, shoulder and back massage & a facial for 1300thb - this is pricey, especially if you do your research on the spas around Chiang Mai. I found it worth the price though as I was impressed and thoroughly relaxed after the treatments. It's a hotel spa, I knew I'd be paying more.

This all being said, yes there are some negatives but there were positives too. The location is great & central. Every room is fitted with a 'control panel' that you can control the lights, air conditioning temperature & strength of flow, wether you want your room to be cleaned and restocked with new linen, toiletries etc or just to be left alone and not disturbed. So we found these points great.

We would come back, we just wish that it could be pushed to its total potential. A couple little tweaks here and there would go so far.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank UnitedKingdom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
0.4 km away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#38 of 389 in Chiang Mai
500 reviews
0.8 km away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#104 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,673 reviews
0.9 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#35 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,315 reviews
0.2 km away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#68 of 389 in Chiang Mai
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai

Address: 22 Chaiyapooum Road | Tambol Changmoi, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: RM148 - RM401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Tapae Chiangmai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing