We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by beautiful trees”
Review of Ruen Tamarind

Ruen Tamarind
Ranked #128 of 3,095 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 21 August 2016

It's in a great location, just off the Sunday market, but what I love most about this place is its design and ambiance. Great service coupled with unfussy decor and a casual vibe. Already planning a return trip. The pool was a tad cold for November, but I'm guessing it will be very welcomed in the non-winter months.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank sigmakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

So beautiful place and very good food. A lot expensive for Thaïlande but normal for benefits ! The staff is adorable.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank juliedonsimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We stayed at this resort and used the Restaurant for Breakfast and dinners most of the time, it had International fare, and was able to get gluten free bread and pancakes.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank grantfranklynsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Thai Cuisine is among the most creative and colourful in the world, but for most western travellers in Thailand, the best of it is not easy to find, and the version that they find in popular tourist areas is often toned down and tamed to suit what they imagine might be western preferences in taste. In Chiang Mai, there is a restaurant that serves traditional Thai cuisine in all its many variations, complete with all the traditional spices and sauces, using only the finest fresh ingredients, and conveniently located in the heart of the city at one of the loveliest boutique hotels, The Tamarind Village. It's called Ruen Tamarind, and you'll find it next to the swimming pool, with both indoor air-conditioned seating as well as alfresco outdoor tables beside the pool.
The menu is extensive but not excessively complicated, making it easy for westerners to order a meal that includes a wide range of traditional Thai styles and flavours, including various salads, soups, curries, stews, and local Lanna specialties, all presented with the colourful garnishes and culinary flair for which Thai cuisine is famous, making each dish a feast for the eye as well as the palate.
We have a few favourites here that we'd like to recommend, but you may also ask the friendly staff for suggestions, and they will describe the best dishes to suit your personal tastes. One favourite that we order almost every time is Larb Pet Tamarind, which is a traditional northern Thai style dish normally made with finely chopped chicken laced with minced fresh seasonings, mixed with various sauces, and served with variety of fresh green leaves. But the Tamarind version uses chopped duck meat instead of chicken, and it tastes sensational. You may specify whether you want it prepared very spicey, medium hot, or light.
Two other meat dishes that we often order are the Steamed Chicken, which consists of a whole chicken leg steamed with various Thai spices and in coconut cream, and the Sliced Beef Tenderloin sauteed with leafy greens and assorted Thai seasonings. Both of these dishes are original creations of the Tamarind kitchen, based on traditional Thai culinary style.
The menu offers a range of tastey vegetable dishes as well, one of our favourites being the Fresh Pumpkin Leaves, simply stir-fried in oil in a way that highlights its own fresh garden flavour. The menu also offers its own version of the classic Green Papaya Salad, one of the most popular dishes in Thailand and an excellent digestive brimming with active enzymes that help digest all the other food in your stomach. For that reason, we always order it as part of our meal there. You may specify the degree of pungency that suits you, and tell them if you want it prepared with the traditional fermented fish sauce or fresh lime juice. We always opt for the fresh lime.
There are also two varieties of pumpkin on the menu, several different kinds of curry, some traditional soups, and prawns prepared in three different ways--something for every taste. So you can go to this restaurant several times a week and never have to repeat the same combination of dishes. What we do is always order a few favourites, and combine them with an assortment of different dishes each time.
In addition to the traditional Thai menu that includes meat, fish, and fowl, there is also a strictly Vegetarian Menu for those who prefer that fare, as well as a selection of Western style dishes, including an organic green salad tossed with a delicious spicey dressing.
To top it off, the menu offers a variety of desserts, both Thai and Western, including the famous Fresh Sliced Mango with Sticky Rice & Coconut Cream and an aromatic Lavender Panacotta.
The restaurant also has a fully stocked bar offering the full range of classic cocktails and a good wine list. We always order chilled fresh coconut water served in the shell, one of our all-time beverages in Thailand and an excellent accompaniment to spicey Thai food. The ambiance in Ruen Tamarind is comfortable, with tasteful furnishings and tableware, and usually there is some low-key live music, with guitar and singer, to enhance the atmosphere.
Reservations are generally not required, although it can fill up on weekends during the high season.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We passed this hotel/restaurant a few times on our jaunts and after it was recommended by a friend, we had to give it a go. She had said to go at around sunset, get a table by the pool and be entertained by the bats dive bombing the water. We were too late.
We did however, get a table by the pool and it was a lovely setting.

We ordered a variety of traditional Thai food, all of which was delicious! We even managed to fit in pudding which doesn’t happen often.
My husband and son ordered a Pandan Cheesecake (Pandan is a leaf) and they raved about it, saying it was the best cheesecake they’ve had!
I selected the jasmine panna-cotta which was gorgeous and not too delicate in flavour (it was distinctly jasmine).

A lovely hotel and restaurant in the middle of Chiang Mai.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LouiseJB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ruen Tamarind also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Ruen Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.