We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
US$101
US$97
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$550
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
US$82
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseate Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$28
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varada Place(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveller rating
519
597
229
78
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
597
229
78
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight bazaargreat locationpremier deluxe roomnew winghalal foodthe hotel staffhotel breakfasttour deskegg stationbreakfast was includedold citystayed here for nightstuk tukrenovationfahthailandmassage
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We stayed at the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel in late March & were so impressed with their staff, location, & overall facilities. The hotel is a quick cab ride from the airport & located just outside the square of Chiang Mai. Right outside the hotel is a night market that seems to never end along with tons of restaurants & spas. The spa within the hotel provided us with the best Thai massage we had for our entire trip! The ambiance was excellent & staff was so nice. Their breakfast was excellent! They catered to all types of diets & their made-to-order station was unreal.

Room Tip: Pool & gym are on the third floor so I'd suggest asking for a higher floor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R9322KTtheresas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Khun R9322KTtheresas,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback on the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel services during your stay with us.

Since we are committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, should you have noticed any area that might have gone unnoticed or could have been better with some additional touch, please do let us know.

We sincerely hope that your future plans to Chiangmai include the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Hotel has recently undergone renovation and refurbishment. The new facelift was welcoming. The main lobby is brightly lit and cheerful. There is another lobby for big tour bus to alight their hotel guests. With this, the hotel is not "crowded" in its lobby unlike its neighbour the Dungtawan hotel. All eateries and night market are right at the door step. With easy access to other parts of the city, i would recommend those travelling with children or couples looking for a chic holiday to stay without burning a huge hole in the pocket. Breakfast quality can still be improved.

Room Tip: A and B wings are good choice!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wyenling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Khun Wyenling,

Thank you for staying at the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai and for taking the time to
share your feedback.

We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our hotel location.

On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the slight inconveniences you
experienced during your stay. Please be assured that your valuable comments are
positively taken onboard and have been addressed to the concerned managers for the
necessary and corrective action to be taken.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit to Chiang Mai.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is very nice good service and all staff very nice. I was totally recommend other to come to visit and staying here. Location was very convenience and easy to go to night bazaar. A lot of food.

Sarah W.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Khun Kathy W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback on the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel services during your stay with us.

Since we are committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, should you have noticed any area that might have gone unnoticed or could have been better with some additional touch, please do let us know.

We sincerely hope that your future plans to Chiangmai include the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for five nights. The hotel was very nice, clean, and it worked great for our needs.

There are many pluses. First, the staff was outstanding. The front desk staff was friendly, spoke English and offered to assist us in any way. The manager who checked us in, Sunet, was amazing. We saw him several times throughout our stay and he remembered our names and asked how we were doing each time. He seemed to really care about our stay and our vacation, asking us about our adventures during the day and helping with directions or whatever we needed.

Every time we passed one of the staff they greeted us kindly. The breakfast staff waited on us well, getting us anything requested. The breakfast was not extravagant but had enough to fill us up, including made to order omelets, scrambled eggs, French toast, etc. The night restaurant was a buffet style Asian food type with made to order stations as well as lots of salad, vegetables and fruit. There were many options and types of food, including a dessert bar. It was reasonably priced for the offerings. The food was good and even my daughter (picky eater) said the next night she would like to go back to the buffet for dinner. We had smoothie type drinks like a pineapple-coconut drink and a mango drink that my kids (and I) really enjoyed.

The room was nice, a good size, and everything worked. If I had to give a down side it would be that the bed was really hard. I think that’s more of a Thailand thing as others in the city said the same thing, and maybe not specific to this hotel. The TV on the wall is a flat screen and to be honest we didn’t turn it on. The WiFi was great - fast streaming on Netflix and it didn’t kick us off every few hours or at the end of the day like many hotels do. There’s a gym on the 3rd floor with some cardio and weights. There’s a pool on that floor as well but the water was too cold for our liking.

We used the spa and it was well worth it. The Thai massage and foot reflexology package was a good price and they seemed to know what they were doing.

The internet rate we selected included airport transfers to and from the airport. It was to have someone waiting for us at the airport upon arrival and someone to take us to the airport when we flew out.

The best thing about this hotel, besides the staff, is the night bazaar. You are literally next door to all the action. Surprisingly, both my wife and I noticed we couldn’t hear any of the street noise even though our room looked onto the street below. There is so much shopping here and the prices are great - especially if you like to barter. The food centers, nestled amongst the bazaar, offer a lot of variety as well. This was the initial reason we chose the hotel and it was a good choice. We plan to return to Chang Mai in the future and we plan to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank TravelingFamilyinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Khun TravelingFamilyinCA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback on the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel services during your stay with us.

Since we are committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, should you have noticed any area that might have gone unnoticed or could have been better with some additional touch, please do let us know.

We sincerely hope that your future plans to Chiangmai include the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Have enjoy my stay in Movenpick Suriwongse, very convenience with Night Market just outside the Hotel. Hotel Staff are warm and Friendly, always serving with a smile. Nice and firm mattress with comfortable soft pillow that help sleep soundly till morning. Room are well maintain clean room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 600dennis2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinai C, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Khun 600dennis2018,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback on the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel services during your stay with us.

Since we are committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, should you have noticed any area that might have gone unnoticed or could have been better with some additional touch, please do let us know.

We sincerely hope that your future plans to Chiangmai include the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews