We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true 5 star boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #17 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2012

After staying in many "boutique" hotels in Thailand that can be generous when classifying themselves as a "5 star" hotel, the Puripunn truly delivers. Even their most basic of rooms are majestic and colonial and are similar in style to the colonial rooms of the Peninsula in Bangkok or the Raffles Hotel in Singapore. The bathrooms in the room are easily 1/3 of the entire room size and are truly magnificient with some great finishings such as a sitting area for the bathtub and brass finishings on the bathtub.

Service in the hotel is also fantastic and whether it be checking in or checking out or providing the occasional surprise voucher, the staff shows initiative and goes out of their way to ensure the guest's stay is a pleasant one.

When booking this hotel one should be aware that it is not in the middle of the old town but rather a short 5 minute walk to the river and the accompanying night bazaar. The hotel provides regularly scheduled shuttle service into the old town during the day and provides shuttle service on demand in the evenings into the old town.

As the hotel is a boutique hotel, breakfast was not a lavish spread. However, the offerings they did offer were of high quality. Low fat meiji yogurt was provided and the omlettes, bacon, sausage and pad thai were all excellent.

Overall, we had an excellent time staying at the Puripunn and this would be our hotel of choice when returning to Chiang Mai.

Mark

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheManT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 467 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

Amazing, everything about this place is lovely, the staff are truly amazing, the rooms are truly amazing, the breakfast is truly amazing, every little touch is thought out so well from check in to departure we couldn't of had a more amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Puripunn and we had a lovely time. The staff were very good constantly trying their best - even gave me a complimentary pot of lemon grass tea when was not feeling well. It is about a 10 minute walk to the night market on the other side of the river. It may not be right at the centre but it is quite and offers a feel of what Chiang Mai is. It has a beautiful setting with a wonderful landscaping job done - and yes, fresh flowers almost everyday. Staying here will bring you peaceful and homely feelings: The owner even came over for a chat during breakfast. You can have a buffet breakfast or order from the menu if you want some noodles or rice. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, which by the way serves excellent food in beautiful crockery, there are a few food outlets just outside by the main road as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Causewayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed at the Puripunn for 4 nights and I had a great stay overall. The place is beautiful in a secluded area just outside the old town, about 10 minutes walking to the main attractions. I really loved the location as it is very quiet.
Will I go back if in Chiang Mai? Im not sure,with so many new boutique hotels I will try a different one. Also I didn't think the service was so personalized as what other guests said. Overall the service was just okay. But I definitely enjoyed my stay.
Also, the breakfast was so so...no fresh juices, no fresh bread...
I paid for the airport pick up service for 750 Baht, which I think it was too expensive...knowing that a taxi will only cost you 150.

Room Tip: Don't bother to go to Maesa Elephant Camp, it is very touristy, do your research for other eleph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Puripunn having had a Deluxe Room at garden level. It is a beautiful tranquil little hotel displaying the colonial charm of Thailand with its lush garden, extensive room and fantastic big bath room - a real treat. Easy access to the nearby centre of the city, yet nicely located off the beaten tracks. A little jewel. Hotel owned tuk tuk takes you into town or a taxi which the friendly and attentive hotel staff will book for you.
Upon arrival we enjoyed the ice-cold refreshing towel, welcome juice and fresh fruits and Thai sweet delicacies in our room. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.
Candles and tea lights on the tables gave in the evenings a really romantic atmosphere. The bar will hopefully extend the opening hours to enjoy the end of an exciting day in the garden next to the fountain with a cold crispy bottle of white wine.

A personal touch which we appreciated very much was the welcoming email prior to our arrival and the thank you email from Puripunn with 2 photos of us as a souvenir of our relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Worthwhile to mention that all the fotos shown are in accordance with reality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.4 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,107 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,515 reviews
3 km away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: RM587 - RM1,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing