We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$97
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$136
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$146
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$77
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$42
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$233
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$152
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
654
178
40
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
178
40
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuknight marketan oasisold citysmall hotelping riverbeautiful hotelfavorite hotelbeautiful poolbusy cityfree shuttlequiet locationvisiting chiang maideluxe roommain roadyogurtthailand
Filter
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Slightly outside of the main section of the city the Puripunn offers a quiet respite from the hustle of central Chiang Mai. Beautiful darkwood rooms and nouveau-antique accents offer a warmth and comfort that is often lost with larger hotels. Free tuk tuk service to the nightmarket and am impressively polite staff make this hotel a must stay for those looking to have an upscale stay in the heart of Northern Thailand.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

The best thing about this hotel is its seclusion and quiet location. It's outside central Chiang Mai, in a residential district, but close enough to take a tuk tuk or taxi to all tourist sights and airport. In fact, the hotel offers a complimentary tuk tuk service into central Chiang Mai.

Service:
Attentive and reverent. Definitely amongst the best hotel service I've received, anywhere in the world.

Quality of product:
The decor and finishings (interior & exterior) were spectacular. It's not your usual 5-star chain hotel modern chic. The decor of room and public spaces are new, but designed with beautiful Thai character. The bathroom ensuite is probably the best I've ever seen...it included a 32 square foot walk-in shower!
We had breakfast, dinner and drinks at the hotel. Quality, selection and presentation of food was top notch. Better than many high-end restaurants.
The salt water swimming pool was a bit small. It's not made as a lap pool, but it was perfect for us, especially since we were the only ones using it. A dip in the pool was perfect after a long day of trekking and sightseeing.

I would absolutely stay here again. In fact, we asked the owner whether he owned hotels anywhere else in the world (he doesn't, yet) just so we could experience this again. If you're used to a typical 5-star hotel chain and want something equally exclusive and opulent, but with character, I highly recommend the Puripunn Baby Grand.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mct2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

When we first arrived at the hotel, we were a little surprised by the surrounding area. However, we soon loved being amongst real Thai families. There was good street lighting, so we felt safe and welcome at all times - even when walking back very late at night. The reviewer who described the area as a dangerous slum is insulting the neighbours who we found to be polite and friendly.

Puripunn is a beautiful hotel with very comfortable rooms. We stayed in a Puripunn Deluxe room, which we'd strongly recommend. The staff are friendly and attentive, without getting in the way. There was always someone close on hand when we wanted something.

Breakfast was good, with the selection you'd expect, with a chef on hand to cook to order. We can't comment on the restaurant, as we ate out at local bars/restaurants to experience the great Chiang Mai nightlife.

To pick up on a few comments made by previous reviews:
English language skills - We did not have a problem communicating with the staff. Remember that English is not their first language, so be patient and you won't have a problem. The owner is likely to check on you during your stay and has excellent English if you were to experience a problem.
Transportation - The hotel runs a free shuttle into town every 2 hours. If you need to go another time, just wander to the main road (a few minutes away) and get a tuk-tuk or red bus into town. Don't expect a huge number of taxis as you'd see in Bangkok. Traffic is slower than Bangkok, so tuk-tuks are much safer.
Decor - There are many antiques, so the decor reflects this. Don't expect mininalist or a clinical feeling hotel. It may not suit everyone, but has character.
Location - We were only a few minutes walk away from the river. On the closest side were a number of great restaurants and bars (many with live music). The other side was the market. The centre of town is walkable, but easier to use the free hotel transport to get in and a tuk-tuk back (around 50-60 THB from most areas). We were very happy with the location.
Mosquitos - Thailand is a tropical country. Expect there to be mosquitos and take appropriate repellent. The hotel staff would light burners outside the rooms and sprayed regularly. We did not have any more problems with mosquitos at Puripunn than anywhere else in Thailand (possibly less).

The hotel is good value for money, taking into consideration the rooms and location. We will certainly visit again.

Our only criticism is that the vegetation around the pool is maturing, and as such gave the pool too much shade, making the water a little cool. The owner has advised that this is due to be cut back a bit to address this.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

From the moment we entered through the gate we knew we'd come to a special place. Puripunn Baby Grand has loads of character and quality as well as a culture of excellent, personalised service. It has the facilities of a large 4 or 5-star hotel but on a smaller scale. We loved it! Loved the warmth of the people who work there (and seem to love working there). We had a Puripunn Deluxe room on the ground floor and particularly liked the entrance patio and the day bed in the bathroom. Used the tuk-tuk every day and most nights and enjoyed the fabulous high tea on our last afternoon - didn't need dinner. Spent many comfortable hours lounging around the pool recovering after the heat of the day. We were there during Songkran - the Thai New Year which is celebrated in a very unique way in Thailand. Wear your bathers and get yourself armed with a water cannon. Will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Puripunn! Cannot say enough about our fantastic stay! The staff were SO helpful and kind the facility and rooms were beautiful!!! I would highly recommend staying at the Puripunn.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews