We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel stuck in a crummy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This hotel is a great example of one that looks perfect on the internet but holds a disappointing surprise when you get there. In this case, it is the location. Literally, it is tucked away down two alleyways and far from the places in town you want to be. It was really a disappointment for us in that we couldn't get out and walk anywhere. It was just too far of a walk and not a walk that we felt totally safe making. Safety concerns were primarily from the narrowness of the alleys and streets to walk on. They are made for one car and not for people.

They try to compensate for this by offering a free, hotel tuk tuk to the central part of Chiang Mai. The hotel itself is pretty nice. Not great, but nice. Only the rooms are air conditioned, so once you step out of them, you heat up quickly. The staff was very attentive. The rooms were very elegant and well maintained. To be honest, we felt bad for the staff and the owners of the hotel. They have a great thing going, they are just in an awful location.

If we had known about the location going into the trip, it would have made our stay less of a disappointment. It was just such a let down to realize we were stuck down some alleyways in our hotel. It took a couple of days to shake this frustration and accept it for what it was.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AttVira, owner at Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2009

It was such a great honor for having this group of guests with us during their trip to Chiang Mai. We are sorry to hear that the guests did not happy with our hotel location. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify about our location as well as telling why Puripunn has to be located in this area.

The location where Puripunn is located call “Wat Gate (or Wat Ket) community” where hundred something years ago it used to be an old pier next to Ping river (about 10-15 minute walk from the hotel, but it does not exist anymore). Please use key word “Wat Ket Chiang Mai” for searching more details about the history of this area. That’s during King Rama V period which was the period when our king opened the country. At that time, multi-nationalities had been entering to do commercial trading as well as spread their religious all over Siam (former name of Thailand). When boat was the main transportation, Wat Ket pier was historically a major hub of transportation and drop-off. People from many households in this area have been living like this for generations since there was no car up back then, the street has never been any wider until nowadays. We chose our hotel to be on this location because we want to naturally deliver the actual way of life of ordinary local experience to the guests of the country and the Puripunn . They have been living from generations to generations with a very strong faith in their community which has “Wat” (temple) as their center. We are proudly honor to be part of this typical charming community, and we never want them to change or asking them to. Our community may be not representing a touristic scenery or any picturesque. Our entrance may be a narrow lane, and tuck away from the main street. But in our opinion and many of our guests’ , it does deliver the sense of living in local Chiang Mai. We hope that every morning when the guests wake up, they can feel that they are in Chiang Mai and not somewhere else in the world. Of cause, we can not expect everyone to appreciate this in the positively same way. We do, however, respect the guests’ comments if they do not appreciate our intentional location purpose as this is purely depend on individual perception and experience.

Many of our guests prefer to walk rather than taking our Tuk-Tuk as they want to see how the local people live. On the other hand, for only 5 minutes walk from the hotel, there is the Nawarat Bridge, the main bridge, to either get across the Ping River or walk along side of Ping River where various nice pubs, riverfront restaurants, Chinese shop-houses, as well as unique silk shop, arts, typical noodle houses along the way. A bit further is the Wat Ket Temple where its local Community Museum is opened for free visit daily. Across the bang, taking the old walking bridge, they will get to see the Flower Market and Warorot Market which is a major local market for Chiang Mai people and many visitors who look for Local Produces & other traditional foods & souvenirs. Across Ping River, via Nawarat Bridge, it will lead to either Chang Klan road where the beginning of Night Bazaar is awaiting, or go straight directly to the Thapae Gate where the Chiang Mai old city holds its famous Sunday Market every week (this is a little long walk for another 15 minutes to get to the old city).

The places of visit and the Wat Ket area-the-around- Puripunn-sightseeing, mentioned here are partially what the coming travelers could expect to see when they are here in Chiang Mai, Northern Thai historical destination, since there will be much more throughout the city and extendedly up to mountain hills, outskirt where Royal Botanic , elephants camps, hill tribe villages, outdoor activities & other extreme centers, authentic offers plotted from areas to areas. We hope this information is helpful for anyone who interested to plan their visit to Chiang Mai.

Once again, we are indeed thankful for the opportunity for us to take chance introducing the other aspect of Chiang Mai & Wat Ket (Wat Gate) Area. We all at Puripunn do appreciate you time reading the management respond. We hope ones will find Chiang Mai, Thailand charming and looking forward to include this destination in their next trip.

All the best,

Att & Koy Viravaidhya, Owners of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 713 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

Slightly outside of the main section of the city the Puripunn offers a quiet respite from the hustle of central Chiang Mai. Beautiful darkwood rooms and nouveau-antique accents offer a warmth and comfort that is often lost with larger hotels. Free tuk tuk service to the nightmarket and am impressively polite staff make this hotel a must stay for those looking to have an upscale stay in the heart of Northern Thailand.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

The best thing about this hotel is its seclusion and quiet location. It's outside central Chiang Mai, in a residential district, but close enough to take a tuk tuk or taxi to all tourist sights and airport. In fact, the hotel offers a complimentary tuk tuk service into central Chiang Mai.

Service:
Attentive and reverent. Definitely amongst the best hotel service I've received, anywhere in the world.

Quality of product:
The decor and finishings (interior & exterior) were spectacular. It's not your usual 5-star chain hotel modern chic. The decor of room and public spaces are new, but designed with beautiful Thai character. The bathroom ensuite is probably the best I've ever seen...it included a 32 square foot walk-in shower!
We had breakfast, dinner and drinks at the hotel. Quality, selection and presentation of food was top notch. Better than many high-end restaurants.
The salt water swimming pool was a bit small. It's not made as a lap pool, but it was perfect for us, especially since we were the only ones using it. A dip in the pool was perfect after a long day of trekking and sightseeing.

I would absolutely stay here again. In fact, we asked the owner whether he owned hotels anywhere else in the world (he doesn't, yet) just so we could experience this again. If you're used to a typical 5-star hotel chain and want something equally exclusive and opulent, but with character, I highly recommend the Puripunn Baby Grand.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mct2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

When we first arrived at the hotel, we were a little surprised by the surrounding area. However, we soon loved being amongst real Thai families. There was good street lighting, so we felt safe and welcome at all times - even when walking back very late at night. The reviewer who described the area as a dangerous slum is insulting the neighbours who we found to be polite and friendly.

Puripunn is a beautiful hotel with very comfortable rooms. We stayed in a Puripunn Deluxe room, which we'd strongly recommend. The staff are friendly and attentive, without getting in the way. There was always someone close on hand when we wanted something.

Breakfast was good, with the selection you'd expect, with a chef on hand to cook to order. We can't comment on the restaurant, as we ate out at local bars/restaurants to experience the great Chiang Mai nightlife.

To pick up on a few comments made by previous reviews:
English language skills - We did not have a problem communicating with the staff. Remember that English is not their first language, so be patient and you won't have a problem. The owner is likely to check on you during your stay and has excellent English if you were to experience a problem.
Transportation - The hotel runs a free shuttle into town every 2 hours. If you need to go another time, just wander to the main road (a few minutes away) and get a tuk-tuk or red bus into town. Don't expect a huge number of taxis as you'd see in Bangkok. Traffic is slower than Bangkok, so tuk-tuks are much safer.
Decor - There are many antiques, so the decor reflects this. Don't expect mininalist or a clinical feeling hotel. It may not suit everyone, but has character.
Location - We were only a few minutes walk away from the river. On the closest side were a number of great restaurants and bars (many with live music). The other side was the market. The centre of town is walkable, but easier to use the free hotel transport to get in and a tuk-tuk back (around 50-60 THB from most areas). We were very happy with the location.
Mosquitos - Thailand is a tropical country. Expect there to be mosquitos and take appropriate repellent. The hotel staff would light burners outside the rooms and sprayed regularly. We did not have any more problems with mosquitos at Puripunn than anywhere else in Thailand (possibly less).

The hotel is good value for money, taking into consideration the rooms and location. We will certainly visit again.

Our only criticism is that the vegetation around the pool is maturing, and as such gave the pool too much shade, making the water a little cool. The owner has advised that this is due to be cut back a bit to address this.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

From the moment we entered through the gate we knew we'd come to a special place. Puripunn Baby Grand has loads of character and quality as well as a culture of excellent, personalised service. It has the facilities of a large 4 or 5-star hotel but on a smaller scale. We loved it! Loved the warmth of the people who work there (and seem to love working there). We had a Puripunn Deluxe room on the ground floor and particularly liked the entrance patio and the day bed in the bathroom. Used the tuk-tuk every day and most nights and enjoyed the fabulous high tea on our last afternoon - didn't need dinner. Spent many comfortable hours lounging around the pool recovering after the heat of the day. We were there during Songkran - the Thai New Year which is celebrated in a very unique way in Thailand. Wear your bathers and get yourself armed with a water cannon. Will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.4 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#22 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,121 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
1.1 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: RM 577 - RM 1,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing