We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for ethical trips and tours”
Review of Eagle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle House
Ranked #230 of 784 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2015

This is a really nice place to stay, with a range of rooms for different prices, but all of them low cost. We stayed for about ten days in the end. Annette, the owner, is really helpful and friendly, happy to chat and give advice, especially about good quality and ethical treks and tours to the surrounding ethnic villages, such as I'm Doi Inthanon. They also do trips around town to see local industries, or book river cruises for you. They don't take commission from it - they just want to encourage good quality tours and ethical tourism.
They do run their own cooking school however, the Chilli Club Cooking Academy, which is excellent.
They also serve nice food and have an attractive garden to sit in.

Room Tip: For the tiny increase in price the larger rooms are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed in eagle house no.1 for a couple nights and got a room with 3 beds for a total of 350 baht (less than 3€/4$ p.p.). the beds were ok, the bathroom clean, there was a fan but you didnt really need it in november/december. Nothing fancy but more than sufficiant for bagpackers.

The hostel itself is in a quiet spot close to the old city, everything is easy reachable.

The staff and especially annette was really nice and did help us with everything. They all speak english, annette is actually irish and also fluent in german and thai.

We are giving the guesthouse 4 stars for the food aswell, the pancakes are a dream, the smoothies are also good, often we couldnt decide if we should get thaifood for breakfast. You can refill your waterbottles so not to buy unnescesarry plastic. All the ingreedience are fresh and local (e.g. coffee)

We did do a very nice 2-day tour aswell and included the special places we wanted to visit (doi inthanon). Over night we slept in a local village. Later we enjoyed a nice day at cooking class. You get a realy nice cookbook which we already tried out back home.

Room Tip: All cheap rooms are on groundlevel. You will probably not need an AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank redgreen0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2014

Stayed here during Songkran. Basic enough rooms, aircon was optional if i recall. Good common area, staff were helpful. We booked a cooking course with them. Highly recommend doing it, the chef that taught us how to cook was very funny. He took us to the market to buy our ingredients. You get a cook book with all the popular Thai dishes. It gives you the measurements to cooking for 1 or 4 people. Probably not the easiest place to find if you're walking but the taxi drivers know where it is! Theres also a great restaurant around the corner

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Even with their apartments, I sometimes come here to stay and hide from everyone. In my opinion, this is one of the cheapest places. Pretty ascetic, but still clean. I am well enough sleep and rest my brain.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
1  Thank Roman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

While this place is not swish it is comfortable and astonishing value. I stayed a whole week for less than the cost of the one night I stayed in a wannabe swanky establishment five minutes walk away that fell down on the basics.

Eagle House has its own very competent kitchen staff there to ply you with delightful food eleven hours a day and the ambience is great. The cost is comparable to the local budget restaurants. This is such a bonus.

I had an air conditioned room with en suite facilities and a private balcony with a view of an ancient religious structure for 340 baht (£6.75).

OK the room is a tiny bit tired but the bed suited my back and the air conditioning was first class.

For value, ambience, staff helpfulness and beautiful food I think this place is brilliant. Look at my other reviews and you will see I don't heap praise lightly.

I can also recommend the one day trek that doesn't include elephants, rafting or gawping at tribal people hoping to sell you stuff you don't want. The guide is from the remote countryside and when he cooks you a meal at lunchtime over an open fire in a private house you will be amazed at how such basic food can be so lovely.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#210 of 388 in Chiang Mai
22 reviews
2.8 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 388 in Chiang Mai
911 reviews
1.2 km away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#58 of 388 in Chiang Mai
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#81 of 784 in Chiang Mai
303 reviews
0.4 km away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#18 of 784 in Chiang Mai
263 reviews
1.6 km away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#26 of 906 in Chiang Mai
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House

Address: 16 Chang Moi Gao Road | Soi 3, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 784 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing