We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, great location but missing some maintenance”
Review of Eagle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle House
Ranked #225 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2017

It is a cheap accomodation very near to the center, in a quite area but it would deserve some maintenance - it seems that the owner just keeps it running but doesn't focus much on keeping the rooms in the nice and cosy state (it was probably very nice years ago). Some information that you receive via emial is not updated.
However great cooking classes are organized there - this is something worth trying.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Eagle House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

I found the rooms I stayed in clean. A little bit to expensive for what they offer doe. They hardly are pleased to hand you over a towel which you don't (yet) have to pay for while they charge you for everything else like a low cost airline: your toilet paper, your water (because there is non in your room), even for hot water.........And even if the owner proudly claims to be in this business for 30 years now, it simply is what it is now, a business and nothing more and staff acts according to this: unfriendly, certainly did not remember me the "land of smiles".

Room Tip: Find an other place to stay
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WispherWispher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This hotel is clean enough. But given the amount of time this hotel has been up and running and the fact it is run by a westerner it could be much better.
We only stayed a couple of nights but would not stay here again.
Our first room had an air con that was not working properly, they changed it the next morning without fuss.
The rooms are ok but very budget, the mattress was about 20 years overdue for replacement and was too old to be suitable for use.
The bathroom had a shower in one corner and the drain was in the opposite corner so there was constantly water on the floor in the bathroom. The water was not suitable for drinking and had a foul smokey odor that permeated the air whenever you turned a tap on.
There was coffee and tea making facilities in the reception area as well as toasters..not what one might expect and you had to pay extra for this service.
It is fairly standard to have a kettle at least in a room but to charge extra for this seemed to be typical of the squeeze for a few extra baht that is common to this area.
The place had some upsides, we had a security guard stationed outside of our room who could be heard talking or playing on his phone throughout the night. You could also park a car or motorbike in front of the rooms. Whilst I found the noise from the vehicles at 5 am annoying it was not an issue to the backpackers who rented the vehicles as they were probably not returning.
We ate at Northlands which was much less expensive for meals and less than 5 minutes walk and offered great services with large breakfasts and dinners.
Chiang Mai overall was not up to scratch for a tourist destination that has been hosting tourists for over 20 years. The streets were rubbish strewn with dirty polluted air which made any views from the mountains unappealing.
This is suitable for backpackers on a very low budget.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights. The room was clean & comfortable. The food was great and the staff were genuinely very friendly & helpful, it was always a pleasure talking with them. They offer a huge range of activities and are very informative regarding current & upcoming events in Chiang Mai. We did a half day cooking class with the Chilli Club here, it was excellent! The overall atmosphere within Eagle House was very relaxed & happy! It was one of the nicest places we stayed in while in Thailand, we really enjoyed our stay here & would stay again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NiamhD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We had a double room a/c and the room was all dirty. The sheets and the curtains had stains on them which looked like blood or whatever. The mattress was too hard and not comfy. Sleeping was not possible since you could hear every noise from the neighbors. For a simple pancake at the breakfast we had to wait for 40 minutes and it had a mosquito in it.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank atakht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#155 of 388 in Chiang Mai
33 reviews
0.4 km away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#20 of 777 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
0.0 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#6 of 777 in Chiang Mai
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#24 of 891 in Chiang Mai
195 reviews
0.5 km away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#82 of 777 in Chiang Mai
303 reviews
0.3 km away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#24 of 777 in Chiang Mai
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House

Address: 16 Chang Moi Gao Road | Soi 3, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing