We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$41/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,330
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$222
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Varada Place(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$14
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$77
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$46
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BED Phrasingh(Chiang Mai)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
132
150
66
24
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
150
66
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla roomsold townwalls are thinair conguest housesunday night marketgreat positionsmall buffetmosquito netsuperior roomnice boutique hotelfirst morningthai stylefree breakfasta wonderful staydoi suthepstayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Had a meal a meal hear on our first night in Chiangmai and also on our last. Such good value. Lovely healthy, organic salad with choice of six-seven Thai dishes, with rice, two wonderful spring rolls and a herbal/organic cold diners. Great value at about £4.50/person. Lovely staff and nice eating area, just back from road in pretty courtyard.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Small hotel in the heart of the Old City. It's definitely not the best hotel i've ever stayed in, but they do compensate that with their friendliness and their willingness to improve their hotel. For instance, during our stay they asked me if i would change something at my room to make it better. So i mentioned i didn't like the white lights in the bathroom, they make it look very cheap and that yellow lights would give it a more cosy feeling. To my surprise, they did change the lights during the day. It's a small thing we Europeans could learn from.

We walked the whole time (5 days) and felt we could've walked even more. The location of the hotel is fantastic, but yes, you do need to use your feet in a city like Chiang Mai, it's not Disneyworld after all!

Is the hotel noisy as some people complain? No, not at all. It's the people in the rooms who make it noisy. And in our case, we were never woken by outside noise.

The rooms could probably be freshened up a bit though hopefully not loose their charm. And yes, the safe isn't attached so not really safe but they know about that problem so i'm sure they'll fix it in no time!

We didn't get pushed into one of the tours as we think they are often tourist traps. But we decided to still take two (rafting & visit of Doi Suthep on New Year's Eve). Both were great as Buri Gallery House works with quality agencies that offer quality tours.

Don't forget, you are on holiday, so be cool and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Good locations in the Old City. Easy to access from the airport. Comfortable and clean room with Thai style decorations. Daily breakfast has several choices. Sunday Market is just outside the hotel. Dont miss it when come here in weekends. Staffs are all very nice and showed great care to our needs. They provided brief introductions about the hotel, which is quite different to other hotels you read hotel facilities and floor plan yourself. Will come again !!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank RennyTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Booked four nights here, had a room change and moved out after two more to another hotel.

This hotel looks lovely on the pictures and the reception area and bar is also lovely. However get to the rooms and it's a different matter.

Our initial night we had a standard room as they were fully booked on the deluxe. After having traveled so long w me required a shower, however much to our dismay it was filthy, disgusting and felt we would be cleaner not showering. There were gaps in the doors and lots of insects coming in, we did not get much sleep! Hopeful for the due upgrade we did not complain.

Second day we moved upstairs, the room was small dark and again very old and grubby. The bathroom was only just bearable, full of Mosquitos and no warm water running in the basin. Showers were very quick as it was an awful place to be.

On our first night as we were due to get ready to go out the air con over the TV and other electrical items started to pour out water, we moved as much as we could and called the reception. They stayed that someone could come and fix it at 5:30, they offered us a room swap, however said it was a pain for them as they had to clean it, so we said we would wait in the pool area. At 5:30 we went to get ready for our meal we had booked only to be told they hadn't been yet. No one had kept us informed and we were just left waiting. At this point we asked if we could swap rooms as we were going to be late for our reservation we were told no as the room had now been booked out! The room was unbearable without air con, however the receptionist did have a fan sent up to help.

We went out and when we arrived back we were informed it had been fixed. However during the night the same leaking and pouring of water happened on an hourly basis we had to move everything again and it was like Japanese water Torture!! In the morning we informed staff who told us they would send some one to fix it. Third night the same happened and we were told someone will come and fix it! We informed them it was extremely dangerous and we did not feel comfortable however this did not seem to make a difference - at this point we decided we could no longer stay in this hotel and booked another for our final night in chiang mai. The receptionist refunded us our money for the final night and was very apologetic with regards to our time at the hotel.

On top of this the safe was not safe! It was not attached to anything and could easily be stolen. The doors are not secure and could be easily pushed open, the balcony doors were left open on two occasions by the cleaners or other staff maybe the air con repair men.

The rooms were very noisy you can hear everyone else as if they are in your room. We complained one night in which some one from reception came and asked them to be quiet, however this made little difference.

The pillows on the bed are as if they are made of stone. Very lumpy and you will struggle to get a good nights sleep.

Positives:
Receptionist and staff there are lovely. Polite and helpful, they tried their best to help us and our situation and we appreciate that this was not a fault of theirs but poor management.

Pool area was clean - however not in the sun after 17:00

Breakfast ok

Map provided and great wi fi

Lovely shop attached to the hotel

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 06_Mrs_Taylor_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

For me this did not work. Much is said of the location but Imthought it nothing there once you have done the nearby Wat Pra Sing. Okay, several restaurants in immediate area which price upwards due to tourist activity of Wat Pra Singh but otherwise, nothing. Need to walk some way or regular tuk tuk/ red taxi with the latter very cheap.
Had booked a Standard and thankfully was upgraded to Deluxe. Had walked past Standard on my way to room, could see inside their room and hear them speak so imagine they copped all,the passing guests.
Initially thought check in was good, good outline of Hotel and services but then the sales pitch comes in trying to flog you some tours and that's what it's about.
They pointed out that check in is 2pm several times then when finished check in they dismiss me to return at 2pm. Returned a bit earlier and despite having said my room had been cleaned they insisted I wait until 2pm. Got into an argument at 1.50pm about this rigid adherence to policy and they let me in 10 mins early as a special favour but pointed out several more times about 2pm policy. Still don't get what that's about.
Signs everywhere asking you to be silent yet their staff make noise themselves.
Rooms are old and basic. No hot water to hand basin. Balcony looks mainly looks onto building roof or wall other than side view. Small yet nice pool and immediate surrounds. Breakfast is pretty ordinary. Security issues are poor. Your front door can be easily kicked in whilst you are out, the Safe in the room is surely made of tin, is very light and not secured to anything. Refer pictures uploaded. Anyone can balcony hop and get to your balcony doors and windows which are poorly secured. My balcony door had gaps and window could not be locked properly.
Room floors are wooden as are walls. Walls very very thin. Absolutely no sound insulation at all. You hear what adjoining room guest is doing, saying and even walking on wooden floor. I note the many complaints about the noise yet Management is just riding this out.
Sadly guests in adjoining room awoke before 5.00am on my first morning to go to a Wat service and of course I was woken by their noise. The next night other guests walking and talking in the hallway later at night returning from drinking activities with local girl and I could hear it all, then next morning the noise from construction site next door. Picture attached (of the construction site activity).
That's it, I left hat morning. I point out that I was refunded for that night that I never stayed which I thought was nice. However I have to let you know how it is!
Having regard to the fact I paid THB1800 per night, I was very very disappointed with the Buri Gallery Guest House.
Never again.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sidneeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews