We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$18
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Agoda.com
US$14
View deal
Booking.comUS$18
PricelineUS$17
eDreamsUS$18
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveller rating
489
187
40
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
489
187
40
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 721 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2019

We visited Chang Mai for 5 days and nights- the Golden Bell Hotel delivered and ideally suited our needs. Clean comfortable room, nice pool and great breakfast. Just across from the Old City and near all the great markets, yet set back from the main drag and noise. This place has indeed earned its fine reputation! Look forward to staying here again on our next trip.

Room tip: Get a room with a pool view
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2019

Dear Kathy B,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review on T/A. We are please you've had a good time with us and we also look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Golden Bell hotel for 5 nights on a 3 week trip to Thailand and I have to say this hotel was by far the best place we stayed in Thailand; the rooms are immaculately cleaned daily, the breakfast was delicious with different choices changed daily and the pool area is perfect for relaxing in the day. For the price I would say that the this hotel is great value and the location is just outside the old city which is an extremely good location for visiting the old city.

The one thing that set the Golden Bell at the top of our list is the wonderful staff here. They are all incredibly helpful and friendly in every way and always had a smile on their face. I will definitely be coming back.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Sawasdee ka Laurie S,

Thank you so so much for your positive review on T/A. We are all pleased that you have had a good time with us and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2019

This hotel is a real gem. Its location just outside of the Old City on the south side makes it strategic for sightseeing, food options, and laundry services.

Everything in the room checked out well. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, and despite having a room overlooking the pool, I never had any noise issues. There is a small desk, two comfortable chairs, and a safe.

The service in the hotel is good too. The staff was very helpful and hospitable during my stay and offered many day trip options, including a trip to Doi Suthep and 2 other temples for 1000 baht. The breakfast was good, with eggs made to order, cereal, noodles and a few other items. Free fruit drinks and coffee are offered throughout the day.

I paid about 40 usd (around 1,250 baht) per night and given all of the above features, I felt it was worth it. The hotel is located 5 minutes from Pratu gate (the south gate to the Old City), where there is a market and lots of food stalls selling cheap and delicious treats. If you walk 5 minutes southeasterly, you’ll find at least 3 places that do laundry pretty cheaply on Soi Suriyawong for about half the price the hotel charges for its laundry services. Walking distance to Wat Chedi Luang is 10-15 minutes from the hotel, while the Silver Temple (Wat Sri Suphan) is 10 minutes walking distance in the opposite direction. There are convenience stores, cafes, eateries, and pharmacies within 5 minutes of the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hansblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2019

Sawasdee ka Hansblix,

Thank you so so much for your positive review on T/A. We are all pleased that your stay went well and we are looking forward very much to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2019 via mobile

Brilliant hotel!!!

Very good location. Close to the old town, bit away from anything too hectic. A short walk from the main highlights.

From the minute we arrived. The staff made us feel so welcome. The chap who created us was lovely and gave us a tip for the night market. The lady on reception was lovely and greeted us every day. The housekeeping and catering staff were all great. Lovely towel designs in the room and so clean. Water refreshed daily free drinks in the lobby. Clean cool pool and fantastic sun trap.

We have the upgraded rooms, well worth the extra, although the standard rooms looked great too.

Breakfast was reasonable times and ample choice. Always tasty and hygienic.

Today the staff surprised my wife with a birthday cake. They even want to her. This was all there own idea! Her birthday is tomorrow but the knew we were leaving so surprised her a day early.

Now I know I probably sound like ones of those guest who knows everyone and talks to everybody, but I promise you were are not. The staff are just that lovely here. We say hi to them when the great us and that's it. But they went out of there way to surprise us. Amazing.

This place should be number 1 on trip advisor for the staff alone. However, staking the great prices, great location ànd great rooms/facilities, definitely one I would recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JonA944
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2019

Sawaddee ka JonA944,

Thank you so so much for taking time sharing your experience with us on T/A. We are pleased your stay went well and that you loved your time with us. Your review has made our day and we can not thank you enough.

We look forward very much to welcoming both of you back again someday in the future.

Best Regards,

Goldenbell Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

Really loved this place! Nice pool/spa, fantastic staff who couldn't do enough for us. Rooms were big and comfy, very happy with the food, including breakfast in the very reasonable price. Close to markets and shops, I would go back to this place again and again, and highly recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2019

Sawaddee ka SadSandy.

Thank you for your recent stayed with us at the Goldenbell Hotel and also for taking time writing us such a fantastic review on T/A. We all look forward very much to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Goldenbell Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews