We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G2 Boutique Hotel(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$182
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$125
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BanThai Village(Chiang Mai)
US$58
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$39
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,158)
Filter reviews
2,158 results
Traveller rating
1,406
547
142
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,406
547
142
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubkad cafechi spanight marketpremier roompool staffpool areathe executive loungeclub roomconcierge servicemain restaurantbeautiful hotelour honeymoonold citybuffet breakfasttuk tukrooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,549 - 1,554 of 2,158 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

pros - excellent check in for horizon club members. kids enjoyed privileges in the horizon club. the swimming pool area behind the hotel is maintained maticulously. The Horizon premium room is spacious and perfect for family of four.
cons - at times service was really slow and there was a communication gap. But after bringing it to the attention of general manager George Baird, the table turned, everything went smooth from breakfast to room service.
Mr. Baird was very kind and attentive our concerns. It really touched our heart when he personnaly came to say good bye to us as we were departing.
He definately won our confidence and we will stay at Shangri La on our next visit to Chinag Mai. Thank you for all Mr. Baird, you're the BEST!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KKPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a proper 5 star hotel in an unusual part of the world. However, they charge mega-bucks for any extras. We found a great Italian Restaurant called Giorgio just across the road and visited twice.

They best thing about it for me was their honesty. I must have completely switched off at this stage of the holiday as I left my mobile phone on the bedside table when leaving for the next stop - Chiang Rai. The internet Wi-Fi was free here and I used it frequently with the iphone 4s which I reckon would be worth quite a bit in Thailand.

Our Guide contacted them the next day and it was ready for collection at reception when we did a small detour on the way back to the airport... phew!

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading if you don't want to take advantage of the "happy hour". The main thing to watch out for is whether a convention is being held during your stay as it may affect the peaceful atmosphere we enjoyed.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meldrew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Shangri-La has shown to be one off the best hotel groups the staff were very friendly helpful and the hotel was as we expected Simply the best.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Realaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have stayed there for 5 nights over new year.
Lots already said in previous reviews is true.
Horizon level rooms command great views (being on floors 10-12). Very comfortable, amazingly firm mattress that I loved! Spotless clean and extremely silent.
The Horizon lounge and its concierges are very nice, food and drinks all day long, very knowledgeable staff.
Nevertheless 3 critics to make.
Breakfast quality is not good enough for a 5 star hotel, especially for a brand like Shangri La.
Pool area, though very nice, is in dire need of more sunloungers, and there is ample space for them.
Finally the spa, though very beautiful, should improve the quality of treatments. Had several with my partner, and none was thoroughly better than in a cheap spa, whereas prices were definitely 5 star.

Nevertheless we really enjoyed our stay and would come back.

Room Tip: If booking a Horizon room, 1008 is very nice because on the backside (overlooking pool and woods) and there is a balcony (one of only 14 rooms with balcony).
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddymunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dehsA, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear pattoche,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us over the New Year's period. We hope you had an enjoyable celebration!

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding our breakfast, pool area and CHI, The Spa. We will make sure your comments are shared among the respective departments so that adjustments and improvements are made so that we can provide you and all our guests with the level of service you deserve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spent two nights in early January is a Premier room - very spacious and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was fine and the garden and pool are a lovely oasis in the city. The loction close to the centre is good. But somehow the place lacked any feeling - cavernous public spaces with few people to be seen. The hotel seems more geared to large conferences than tourists. I had some problems with the English skills on the concierge desk (an earler report mentions this). And don't try and get a drink at 10.00 pm on a Sunday night - all the bars were closed!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCP888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dehsA, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear SCP888,

Thank you for staying with us and more importantly for taking the time to write a review! We will pass your comments on to the appropriate personnel who will ensure all future improvements are made with our guests' opinions in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews