We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$134
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$118
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$53
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$36
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BED Phrasingh(Chiang Mai)
US$75
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,205)
Filter reviews
2,205 results
Traveller rating
1,434
561
147
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,434
561
147
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubchi spakad kafenight marketpremier roompool staffpool areathe executive loungeclub roomconcierge servicemain restaurantbeautiful hotelour honeymoonbuffet breakfastold citytuk tukrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,562 - 1,567 of 2,205 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Shangri-La Hotel in Chiang Mai is a beautiful hotel and in a great location--easy walking distance to the Night Market and a short tuk-tuk ride to the old city. We booked the Aranda Suite and it was beautiful--we were a little hesitant to book it as there are no pictures of the suites on the hotel's website, but it was well worth the extra money. If you don't need/want a suite, I would still recommend booking a Horizon Club room--WELL worth the extra money if for no other reason than to get to meet George in the Horizon Club--he has a great wealth of knowledge and information about Chiang Mai as far as things to see and do both in the city and the surrounding area. Plus he's very personable and it was a pleasure to get to know him. I would recommend a trip to see the long neck women and also going on an elephant trek--both of which George can book for you. We took the 14 hour "day" trip to Chiang Rai and Laos--I guess I'm glad we did it, but it makes for a VERY long day, so think twice before you commit to it--you spend an inordinate amount of time in the bus driving VERY fast on roads with a LOT of curves and hills. I definitely recommend the Shangri-La Chiang Mai and would certainly stay there again the next time we are in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and tennis court and was beautiful. Not sure what the view is like from the rooms at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BTay-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We love Shangri La hotels. To some extent, this location was selected because there was one - although we did want to go to Chiang Mai, so this choice 'ticked two boxes'.
As we found the cost of upgrading to an Horizon room a relatively small addition to the total cost, that is what we did. But we did this at the time of booking.
On arrival we were taken to the dedicated check-in, so from the point of arrival, we were made to feel special. This continued throughout our stay.
Our room was really comfortable and we overlooked the pool. I have seen comments were it is suggested that a room overlooking the poll is preferable, but when we went outside we were not particularly conscious of traffic noise.
The hotel is still fairly new - I think 5 years old - but is in very good condition. we used the pool a couple of times. The complimentary cold towels and jugs of water and fruit are a really nice touch - everything in the hotel is a really nice touch.
The hotel is very well located and apart from trips to temples etc, we walked.The night market is close, and there is a really nice small bar called 'bamboo bar' at the end of the market. We had a cocktail and a beer for about £4 (total) - while we were there two accoutic guitarists played. Nice way to spend an hour.
We tried the Kad Kafe in the hotel one evening. It is buffet style. Not expensive, but the food was only OK and not very warm. There were two huge wedding parties the evening we used it, so maybe that accounted to some of this. But it wasn't expensive, so we were not overly disappointed and it had no impact on our overall enjoyment.
While we were there, we went to the elephant camp and did the ride. We really enjoyed that. In the afternoon we went to Tiger Kingdom - interesting but I am not sure how I felt about it. The tigers seemed well enough - we wondered whether they lose some of their undoubted majesty in this environment. But it does keep lots of locals employed, so I am 'on the fence' on this. We found a fish restaurant just up the road from the hotel - it is more like a covered market area. Our local guide told us that they moved here as it has become so popular. I cannot translate its name, but on the sign outside it was called 'Fatty Funny'. We had two meals there with beer, prawns, steamed fish, rice and vegatables and the bill was about 950 Baht for the first meal, the second slightly more as we had extra bbq'd prawms. It would have cost significantly more than that in the UK.
We stayed for four days, we had a fantasrtic time and I would have no hesitation in rcommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarryHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed as a family of three for three nights before moving to another hotel for business meetings. We didn't want to leave. We booked a Horizon Club Deluxe room but we were upgraded to a Horizon Club Premier room!! The room was very spacious with a nice sitting area and King sized bed. Our daughter slept on the "day bed." The bathroom had a separate shower and bathtub and great amenities, including bath salts and plush towels.

It's worth spending the extra to stay on the Horizon Club levels. They provide great service, free drinks and snacks at the lounge and a free Happy Hour from 5-7 where delicious snacks and desserts and drinks are provided. Horizon Club guests can also choose to eat breakfast at the lounge or downstairs in the main dining room. We tried both and preferred the privacy and service of the lounge, and some foods like waffles, eggs, etc are made fresh and to order!

The pool and surrounding area are beautiful. Pool staff service was mixed. Some were fantastic and friendly but others were lazy and kind of rude. Ice water and fresh fruit and washcloths are provided to the pool guests. Pool food is good but a bit pricey (to be expected). No other food is allowed at the pool. Some kid toys are available as well. The weather was a bit cooler in late January when we stayed, and the pool was therefore quite cold. It didn't stop my daughter from having fun, though!

Free wireless throughout the hotel was nice. The Night Bazaar is a 10-15 minute walk away.

Banquet rooms are beautiful and food excellent. We did a company banquet there after we checked out.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Horizon Club floors! Worth every penny!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somewhereinasiatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After spending time running around Bangkok, Chiang Mai was a great respite, made more so by the appropriately named Shangri La hotel. This was a great find! The lobby and decor was very inviting, the rooms even more so (wonderful spacious bathrooms) with very comfortable king sized beds and plenty of space.

It goes without saying that the breakfast selection was fabulous, with the usual made-to-order eggs along with the (seemingly) hundreds of asian and continental buffet options to choose from. There's gotta be something wrong with you if you can't find somethng you like to eat here! Unfortunately, with so many other great places to eat in Chiang Mai, we didn't have the opportunity to sample any other meal while staying here.

The back side of the resort is what's most striking! Beautiful grounds, especially around the free-form pool area! Beautiful landscaping and plantings! We managed to kick back on one afternoon and actually enjoyed doing absolutely nothing except sip cold beer, read and enjoy the sun while soaking up the surrounding ambiance and watching the kids swim. I would go back here in a minute!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side overlooking the pool area!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike24830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

As my first experience of hotel's in Thailand, this hotel ticked every box. From the meet and greet at the airport, to the bottled water and cool cloth in the car to the hotel, to the greeting on arrival at the hotel, everything was outstanding. Even something as simple as having our laundry done (which was included in our package) was a pleasure. I would recommend paying a little extra to be able to use the Horizon Club facilities. Free food and drinks were available throughout the day and Happy Hour was from 5.00 pm to 7.00 pm. We tried out the pool - beautiful, the gym, very well equipped, had lunch in one of the outdoor pavilions which was outstanding and then had dinner at Silapa Thai - what a great restaurant with excellent service, it's unfortunate it was empty of diners. Perhaps the hotel could offer incentives to guests by way of a free cocktail or canapes to get more people to experience what is a wonderful location with beautiful food and excellent service. Overall an ideal first impression of Thailand.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and join the Horizon Club - benefits far outweigh the cost.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews