We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,323)
Filter reviews
2,323 results
Traveller rating
1,521
583
153
36
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,521
583
153
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club chi spa kad cafe night market premier room health club pool staff the executive lounge pool area club room main restaurant beautiful hotel our honeymoon buffet breakfast old city tuk tuk rooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,657 - 1,662 of 2,323 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have just returned from a long week end at Chiang Mai 's SHANGRI LA Hotel in Thailand.
Many people confine their Thailand holidays to Bangkok and Pattaya or Phuket missing Thailands second city and the gorgeous,lush scenery which surrounds it.The hotel is centrally
situated and yet many of the rooms look down a huge valley of trees as far as the eye can see,with the beautiful pool and landscaped gardens in the foreground.Architecturally the hotel,starting with the palatial lobby, is large,cool and oh! so peaceful.It has all the charm and luxury one would expect of a Shangri La plus a staff clearly enjoying their work and with all the passion necessary to make your stay a memorable one.My only regret was that the standard of the Coffee Shop/Main Restaurant requires management attention which prevented a rating of 5 stars. MrBaird and his team have indicated this area will receive some attention.Will I visit The Shangri La again? I most certainly will.

Room tip: A room on the Horizon Floor will allow you to enjoy the facilities of the Horizon Club and the unobtrusive pampering and privileges which pertain.The staff there are first class in every way. My room was large with a large luxurious bathroom.Attention to detail was infinite.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayceePattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I didn't stay in the hotel but did eat here, in the buffet restaurant, with a group of friends and business colleagues. It's a terrific place to eat. I particularly recommend the sushi, and the Chiang Mai sausage. In the week I was in the city this was the only restaurant that offered the traditional north Thai sausage. One of our party thought it would go well on a pizza (they have a pizza and pasta section and make to order); the next thing we knew the staff bought us a pizza with the sausage on the try. Another one of our party couldn't eat anything with wheat. He wanted to try the classic Pad Thai noodle dish, so one of the chef's on that counter made some fresh with wheat-free noodles for him. And leave room for the desserts. You'll want more than one.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DennisinkCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We recently spent 10 nights at this wonderful hotel it was not only a great value, we just felt so cared for. The breakfast buffet was fabulous. They also offer theme nights in the same venue that are a tremendous value. Many locals flock there for the Sunday Brunch, or the evening theme buffets. They are so reasonable! The staff always looked out for us, made note of where we were going, we felt they cared about our well-being. The pool is gorgeous and they bring you iced water and fresh fruit as a perk for staying at the hotel. The steam room is a must. We will for sure go back. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. Shangri-La just has it together, they have kept up with the savvy traveler's desires and do it right!

Room tip: Best rooms facing the pool. Also a great location for the night market....so close!
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darirasalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Myself and lovely wife stayed at the Shangri La for 1 week in Chiang mid March 2012.

Is is an absolutely stunning and beautiful hotel with all the bells and whistles that come with a five star resort.

The horizon club is a great concept and was well liked by other residents too. I have to congradulate George and the young lady who were in charge of the horizon club lounge. So friendly and competent. The pool area was a winner too with enough loungers and towels for everybody.

We met George Baird the General Manager on an intro and drinks evening with all the other residents there. What a wonderful gesture and i must say, George, you guys are doing a great job ! Thank you.

The service was good with ordering of drinks and food. All was delivered timeously and with a smile everytime !

So i give this resort an 8 out of 10. WELL DONE !

Room tip: The horizon club is well worth it. Complimentary drinks every evening with other residents as well as beautiful views from your room and the size is great and big.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidjelliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Shangri-La Hotel is well known with its typical unique lobby and beautiful garden, and this Chiang Mai one is no exception, great hotel! They brought us to Horizon Lounge for the private check-in, accommodated our need of 2 connecting rooms, and everything then was excellent: high quality of foods, friendly staffs, well-maintained building, free wi-fi cover the whole hotel including in swimming pool.

Location is 5 minutes walking distance to night market, and 10 minutes by tuk-tuk to old city, which not really much to see though.

Room tip: If you travel in near future (April 2012), please check for the HAZE from farmer burning the woods, it was so bad :(
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSusilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews