We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$245
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Hanoi(Hanoi)
US$98
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
US$58
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$59
US$28
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$90
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
123
74
29
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
74
29
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold quartergreat locationnight markethang bac streetclean hotelhoan kiem lakerecommend this hotelnight lifehot showerhalong bay tourpleasant stayno windowfree breakfastwifiporidgevietnampros
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel in January 2013. The hotel is very clean and the staff are extremely helpful. They speak fluent english and recommended some local delicacies. It was pretty cold during this period but the staff supplied us with a small heater to ward off the cold.

Great location and near to the markets and shopping area.

There is also free flow of orange juice and coffee available at the dining area at all hours.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

They were very responsive during our correspondence before our trip. We booked rooms and also train tickets to Sapa with them; and a deposit was required.

On the day of arrival at Hanoi, we checked in for day use room before taking the night train to Sapa. We had a room on the third floor in the front part of the hotel. Room was very clean, although a little tight but it was very tidy, with good attached bathroom and a flat screen TV. Wifi was strong enough. There was also a complimentary basket of snack which was a very nice touch.

Upon return from Sapa, we were able to check in at 5+am. They shut their door at night, we just needed to ring the bell and they were very quick to open the door and checked us in. This time we were given a room on the fifth floor at the back of the hotel. Room was clean and good except the Wifi was very weak, and it was even tighter than the room we had before. We knocked into the beds a few times. We were too tired and just wanted to get some early morning rest. Woke up late and went down for breakfast at 10.30am which was way past breakfast time at 9.30am, but we were still being served. Breakfast was good and has quite a lot of choices compared to the normal fare of eggs done in different ways. After that we went to the reception and were given another room on level three promptly.

Both sisters at the reception were very warm and helpful. The rest of the staff though were not as friendly, they looked mostly disinterested. The heat from the air conditioner was quite noisy and air stuffy when heater used, but room still offered comfort despite of this. Location wise, it is near perfect, within walking distance to the lake, and you have almost anything within a stone's throw.

Room Tip: There is no lift, and the top floor eg fifth floor does not seem to have good wifi coverage
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank highfever88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here after the reviews on trip advisor.

We arrived a day early and we stayed in a standard room upstairs that was tiny but the air con didn't work too well on heat. We then moved the next day to the room we had booked which was much more spacious. Hanoi is quite cold this time of year and the hotel lobby and eating areas are open to the outside and cold (not heated). The staff walk around in jackets freezing all day. The rooms have reversible air/con but ours blew out cold air, so after turning it off, the room became even more freezing.This room also was on the 1st floor near the stairwell and kitchen and we were woken up at 5:30am to people in the lobby. My partner developed a cold and we canceled a trip to Halong Bay. We asked the staff the next day to please move us to a different room where the air con actually worked on the heat setting. The staff were helpful in arranging a better room. It seemed at breakfast that morning many people's air-con didn't work.

The breakfast is very basic but ok. My omelette was covered in oil. The serving times are 7:30-9:30am which a little slim. Many people arrive late in Hanoi so having a later breakfast time would be a benefit to guests. There appears enough staff around to cater for this. Tea and coffee and bananas are available all day which is nice and water and snacks are in your room complimentary. Wi-fi is also good here. They staff are very helpful with train tickets and tours.

This hotel has a lot of potential, its location is good in the old quarter and the staff are helpful and friendly. The management needs to attend to basic accommodation issues such as adequate heating and breakfast choice and hours. The different sized rooms need to be priced better i.e smaller standard room - cheaper price etc.

I hope this hotel improves as the staff try very hard.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger standard rooms on a higher level. Noise travels fast in the stairwells at lower levels.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My room was clean, but quite narrow, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff all spoke excellent English and were helpful with good local food recomendations and booking tours at the last minute. They even threw a lovely little Christmas party for their guests with wine, cake, and fresh fruits. A really friendly place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abearsartorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a couple of friends for 4 nights and my experience there was wonderful. Friendly staff members, clean environment, great deals to get to Halong Bay/Sapa and the breakfast is quite a meal. The location is perfect too - near the backpackers street where cheap knick-knacks, propaganda posters and more could be found. Look out for their night markets on Friday and Saturday nights which is very near the hotel. Overall, this hotel should be a choice for travelers who want an affordable and a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eyedris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews