We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to feel like you’re “in the know””

The Old Compass Cafe and Bar
Ranked #73 of 4,542 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Description: A cosy coffee and wine haunt hidden away in the heart of Saigon. Escape the mayhem of the city in one of the coolest spaces for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We also operate a daily heritage walking tour of Saigon. Come and visit us at The Old Compass!
Restaurant details
Description: A cosy coffee and wine haunt hidden away in the heart of Saigon. Escape the mayhem of the city in one of the coolest spaces for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We also operate a daily heritage walking tour of Saigon. Come and visit us at The Old Compass!
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Of course expat locals know this cafe (which is how we first came across it) but when a tourist in a foreign city it is fun to head down an alley, up three flights of grotty stairs and past families preparing meals and going about their business to get to a cafe. Good wifi, great smoothies and coffee. Didn’t have lunch but it looked good. Recommend.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Clubglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2018

The cafe's rather hidden away in the 3rd floor of an old building. The staff very very friendly, and the concept is very 80s - loved the vintage setup! It's also meeting point for intellectual events/discourses in HCMC and they've got interesting events related to history, culture and architecture every now and then. Would come back and visit.

Tip: Ask the owner about the building's history, it's interesting! They also have happy hour.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cassandraoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Great little bar in a great spot. Awesome selection of wines! Very friendly staff... and it even has a happy hour!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This quaint restaurant is on the 3rd floor and easy to miss but don’t! You will regret. With luck it happened to be next to our hotel. It was perfect. Great atmosphere good service and delicious food. Small menu but the options satisfied us perfectly. This was one of the best Vietnamese coffee I had. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank cxcartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Very very nice little hidden cafe, in a 3rd floor of an old building. The menu is nothing too special, just the regular options of coffee, tea, etc., but the environment is super nice and it's worth a visit!
Friendly staff.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank ichabodcrane8621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Compass Cafe and Bar also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Old Compass Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing