We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Vietnam Bike Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Vietnam Bike Tours
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$337.50
More Info
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
398
87
14
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
87
14
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mekong delta support van day tour cycling experience back roads rice paddies cycle trip home stay guide phuc angkor wat nha trang dragon fruit great guide coconut candy factory village life halong bay beautiful country
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Xuyen Nguyen our tour guide from Nha Trang made our bike tour from Hoi An to Nha Trang one of the best parts of our month long trip to Vietnam and Cambodia. Xuyen’s outstanding customer service from his knowledge of the Vietnamese culture, sites in cities/villages we visited and always ensuring our safety was first and foremost the most important part of the trip. We stayed another 4 nights in Nha Trang and even though Xuyen could have been done with our tour since this was the conclusion of our package, he took us to his favorite restaurant where the “locals” dine, took my wife to look for silk dresses, his favorite massage spa and much more than expected from a tour guide. I would highly recommend Vietnam Bike Tours and especially Xuyen Nguyen as your guide who is also fluent in English which was a huge benefit. The bikes and helmets were in great condition, all you need are bike shorts and gloves.

Date of experience: March 2015
5  Thank Briedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

After doing and loving the Colors of Chiang Mail cycling tour in October with our children of 8 and 10 years old, we decided that cycling tours would definitely become a regular part of our city trips. We were happy to find Vietnam Bike Tours in Ho Chi Minh and we decided that the countryside tour sounded right for us. Even though it was during the Tet/Chinese New Year holiday season, Huy was willing to arrange the trip for us, for a 30% Tet premium. While the price of $332 US for 4 people is a rather steep, we are glad we did it. Our guide Sang was very friendly. He and the driver picked us up on time at our hotel, with bikes and helmets already in the van. (We provided our heights and head sizes to Huy the night before so make sure you know how tall everyone in your group is). We drove out of the city, itself an interesting ride especially during Tet and eventually got on our bikes to ride around the countryside. We saw a side of life in Vietnam that you cannot see if you stay in the city or do strictly touristy things. It was a beautiful, sunny day and it was great to get out for some exercise. The downside was that it was a bit hot and there were very few places to stop and get a break from the sun. We did stop for a sugar cane drink and then took a boat across the fast moving river. Another challenge we found was that some of the pathways are very narrow and winding and difficult for inexperienced riders to navigate. Also, there is a lot of motorcycle/scooter/bike traffic on the pathways, so we had to get off our bikes and move to the side many, many times, which our kids found a bit tiring but goes with the territory. Other areas were not rideable (over a field and through soft dirt) so we had to push our bikes. Based on these things, I would say that this tour is probably not suitable for most children under 8-10 years old unless they are very confident on a bicycle. The bikes were in reasonable condition (although my daughter's pedal fell over mid-ride and had to be repaired) and the roads we were on had some traffic but we found it manageable. Overall, we are glad we did the tour and we will look for another cycling tour in the future.

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank DClaireandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

On March 3 I did the tour of the Mekong Delta. Pick up was early in the morning from my Ho Chi Minh City hotel. Did the tour with Mr Happiness and he was on time. Great guide. He is clearly very knowledgeable and passionate about his country. The cycle was fun and challenging in a good way. What a great lunch! Not much activity at the floating market but I think you need to be there very early to see it in its full glory. I highly recommend this tour. A fantastic way to end my time in Vietnam!

Date of experience: March 2015
3  Thank GlasgowTboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnambiketours, Manager at Vietnam Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

hi GlasgowTboy

oh great, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We booked a 15 day tour with Vietnam Bike Tours and had a wonderful time. The hotels and our two guides were exceptional and we were able to see experience different aspects of Vietnamese life. We were met at the airport by Tony and taken to our hotel. Once we had some time to rest, Tony spent the first evening and the following of day showing us some interesting sites around Hanoi.

After an overnight train journey from Hanoi, we were met by our guide Xuyen and driver Thao in Hue. Thao is a really safe and considerate driver and despite the fact that the roads (and other drivers) at times could be fairly scary, we felt totally safe with Thao. He was patient, polite and thoughtful and always ready with a cooling drink or snack served with a smile.

Although a few urban roads were busy it only took a few minutes to relax and we now cannot believe we tackled them all with total confidence.

The hard-tail bikes were first class and ideally suited to the variable road surfaces across Vietnam. Xuyen cycled with us at a suitable pace for us. He configured each days cycling to suit our capabilities and we could take breaks whenever we wished. The transport was never far away if we started flagging or time was pressing.

As well as dining in some conventional restaurants, we also experienced eating in many traditional road side cafes and although we initially had some reservations, the food was always totally delicious and the people very welcoming.

We chose Vietnam Bike Tours because they appeared to get good reviews and their responses to our emails were fast, accurate and confidence inspiring. This was not true of any of the other companies we approached.

The Itinerary emailed to us by Vietnam Bike Tours was extremely comprehensive and very helpful. Although we later found it had a few mistakes it was considerably better than anything provided by the opposition. The accommodation suggested by VBT proved to be ideal for us but we had the opportunity to change the choices if we felt they were unsuitable.
Both guides had an extensive knowledge of Vietnam and its history and were able to fully answer all our questions.

Xuyen in particular has a wonderful sense of humour and fun –nothing was too much trouble for him and he went out of his way to ensure that we were well looked after. Indeed our whole trip was everything and more than we expected and we would thoroughly recommend touring with Vietnam Bike Tours. It was brilliant!

Date of experience: February 2015
3  Thank Yantodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnambiketours, Manager at Vietnam Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

hi Yantodave

Great thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

Today, we took the bike tour with "mister Happy". It was great. The lunch at noon was brilliant. I would definitly recommend it.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Puub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnambiketours, Manager at Vietnam Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

hi Puub

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews