We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/10/21
Expedia.com
US$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/10/21
Priceline
US$31
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
TravelocityUS$60
CheapTicketsUS$60
Orbitz.comUS$60
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,859)
Filter reviews
1,859 results
Traveller rating
640
937
229
34
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
640
937
229
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ben thanh market great location the breakfast area street food market within walking distance central location reunification palace post office decent hotel reception staff night market clean rooms war remnants museum other hotels three nights mini bar tourist attractions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 1,859 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our return to Saigon before flying out the following day. We'd previously stayed at another hotel in Saigon for three nights earlier in our holiday and thought that we'd try somewhere else for the night - we wished we'd gone back to the hotel which we'd originally stayed in (see other Saigon review).

The room was ok (although little bit small), free Wi-Fi, good bathroom, safe, cupboard space but this hotel lacked the atmosphere and staff who'd go the extra mile which we found in other hotels in Vietnam.

Breakfast was awful - it was a buffet but not all the food was covered (the bacon was just left on a plate and the flies were all over it) and the fried eggs (which were covered) were black and blue in places), cutlery wasn't particularly clean and we found that there were a large number of staff near the bar area doing nothing (they only sprang in to action to take our breakfast voucher). The hotel really needs to up its game on the breakfast front - its not difficult to get it wrong but they got it very wrong.

In summary, we felt this was a fairly average dated hotel and you could find a better place to stay at the same price or cheaper.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Great location on a relatively quiet road, close to all the main highlights of the city and a 10 minute walk from the backpacker district for all the bars and restaurants. Decent hotel with big, clean rooms and a good level of comfort and quality. Breakfast is variable, but with a lack of continental options ie cakes/brioches/etc.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhar_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSanouvaHotel, Director of Sales at Sanouva Saigon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Warmest greetings from Sanouva hotel,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your favoured accommodation in the trip to Ho Chi Minh City. Your pleasant feedback is our great encouragement to deliver better and better service to our coming clients.

We hope that our hotel will have another opportunity to serve you and your family in the nearest future.

Best wishes to you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Pros:
- Location: good, in the middle of the most touristic area, all attractions and restaurants within walking distance
- Super clean
- Bathroom in room recently renewed, modern and well appointed
- Good wifi service
- Good value for money
- Good street food just by the hotel entrance, nice area, safe and funny

Cons
- Breakfast is the weakest aspect: terrible. 'Breakfast room' is a very small area with tiny tables (table for 2 seats 4) in the reception, no croissants and other sweets, very poor
- They keep your passport as a guarantee unless you give a credit card for deposit. Do not leave your passport in reception (keep it in the in room safebox), leave the credit card number instead!
- They tell you that if you loose the room key, you must pay 10$. Weird! So leave the key in the hotel every time you go out

Room tip: Book a deluxe room on higher floors
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saimonmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSanouvaHotel, Director of Sales at Sanouva Saigon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Sir,

Warmest greetings from Sanouva hotel,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as well as spending your valuable time to write us so nice and detail feedback. It is really our priceless property that helps us to improve our service better and better.

Relating to your negative review about our breakfast, we noticed that you mentioned about the limited table, chair and sweet. It is very pity that our table with "2- 4 seat" cannot fit you (We even has a guest with 150kg but he felt comfortable with the chair and table). We will be very happy to arrange more table and chair for you for next stay in our hotel. We are also pleased to serve you any sweet other from our breakfast menu upon request.

As Vietnamese law, we have to get your passport for legal registration with local police station. We will return it to you as soon as the registration is finished. We just keep your passport during your stay if your booking is not deposited or guaranteed with credit card (It is very normal procedure of all hotels in Vietnam).

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us so that we can offer to you our better service.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have stayed at the Sanouva 3 times over the last 3 years. It is a good clean hotel, great location and lovely clean rooms. On the lower levels the rooms can be a little small, but when in Saigon for just one or two nights not a major problem. The only negative on this hotel is really the breakfast, it is really quite ordinary, we have stayed in a lot of hotels throughout Vietnam and have found Sanouva one of the weakest on breakfast. That said we would still stay there again if passing through Saigon and would recommend to people, just be aware of breakfast and go find a nice bowl of Pho instead.

Room tip: Maybe choose to upgrade if staying more than one or two nights so you get a larger room
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSanouvaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sanouva Saigon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Ms. Tasmania,

Warmest greetings from Sanouva hotel,

It is our honor to be your favorite accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. Your high appreciation is the great support to our hotel and its all staff to keep on delivering better and better service to our future customer.

Regarding to our buffet breakfast, aware that our hotel breakfast is not so large and variety as other 4 or 5 star hotel, we are offering to our guest with best selected foods and changing the menu daily to meet all guest's expectations. It is very kind of you if in your next stay with us you can advise us your favorite food and we will be very happy to meet your requirement and make you feel more enjoyable with our breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to stay with us in the nearest future.

Best wishes to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel from the 19-22 Aug 12, didn't book it via an agent, researched a few hotel before we came, arrived in Saigon and they had vacancies. Room 605 which was a Delux room which was at the back of the Hotel and very quiet at night time, good Wi Fi connection in the room also. The room also had a large window which was good, everything was very clean and the room was cleaned every day. Hotel was central to District 1, with all the main tourist sights being in walking distance.
Overall great value for money, hotel was $72 per night.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews