We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,095)
Filter reviews
1,096 results
Traveller rating
587
358
101
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
358
101
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and afternoon teajacuzzi poolsaigon riverhigh teariver viewrooftop barexecutive roomwalking distancequiet streethighly recommend this hotelfoot massagean upgradevery nice hotelopera housebreakfast was excellentthe heart of the citypost office
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 1,096 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel looks the part when you walk in, with an elegant reception area. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The bellboys took care of our bags.
I'm not sure if it was look of the draw, but our room was very basic and tiny. You could only get in to the bed from one side. The view was of the back of the hotel. Very thin windows, with pretty much constant drilling. The shower leaked all over the bathroom. There was an evident leak mark on the ceiling. The furniture was too big for the room. Thank goodness we were only here a few days and were out of the room for most of the time, as it was extremely claustrophobic and depressing.
Thankfully, what this hotel does offer is a lovely, peaceful roof terrace, with a jacuzzi, spa and cocktail bar, with great views of the river and city. The breakfast was good and a courtesy afternoon tea, which was a nice touch.
We loved the hotel and facilities, just not the room.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank PaulLondon1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie S, Front Office Manager at Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Mr. Paul,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.
I am so disappointed to learn that your stay with us was not fully enjoying, please accept my sincere apology.

One again, thank you for your constructive feedback and would love to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Nancy Tam Vo. (Ms.)
Front Office Manager.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very central, near plenty of nice restaurants and bars. Staff are very helpful and our room was nice, if a little small. The breakfast was good, and free afternoon tea a nice touch. The rooftop pool and bar sets it apart, though, offering a great view of the city, particularly at night. Would recommend.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank journotravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Upon arrival, we were served a delicious cinnamon tea. The reception staff were lovely each time we spoke to any of them. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was wonderful and the view was out over the river and city skyline - loved it. The location was excellent, a block from the river and in walking distance to all main points of interest in this district. The buffet breakfast was very good. They also have afternoon high tea each day and this was a lovely bonus. There is live piano music a few days a week during the tea service.

When we returned two days later to check-in to our new room, it was nicely decorated and comfortable, although the window looked out onto the hallway, which then looked out to the skyline. The pool on the top floor is small but perfect and the area nicely decorated. We enjoyed happy hour and enjoyed the view. We had a late flight after checking out and we were able to use the pool and shower upstairs, which was perfect for us and we were also invited to enjoy the high tea before leaving, a nice touch. A lovely stay here for us.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FandFFandF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie S, General Manager at Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear FandFFandF

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor!

It is our great pleasure to know that you enjoys your stay with us, and to receive your positive comment. On behalf of the hotel and all the team in Jolie, we would like to thank you for your kind words and we would love to welcome you back to our hotel in near future.

Your feedback is such an inspirational for our whole team to move forward and We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Linh Nguyen (Ms)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

I checked into this hotel on March 23rd (for 4 nights originally) and the poor service started the moment we arrived. I had booked a two bedroom as I am traveling with a friend and they told us they only had one bed available with no explanation. When I told them this is not what I booked and showed them the reservation print out from Expedia they just shrugged and said sorry, the hotel was fully booked. We decided to stay in the room that night and move to another room the next day. The rooms themselves have been redone and look ok but it's obvious the hotel is old and not in great shape - all the rooms smell like someone has been smoking in them.

The next day we woke up and the hotel moved us into a new room. This room had two beds as requested which would have been fine except the air conditioning did not work. Ho Chi Minh is 95 degrees out this week and it would have not even been possible to sleep in a room without air conditioning if we had tried. To make matters worse, after calling about the air conditioning the power in the entire hotel went out. We had to walk down 9 flights of stairs to the lobby and back up and down to get to our room. At the front desk, they had no idea when the power would go back on, just shrugging and saying they weren't sure. We only had a few days to explore Ho Chi Minh and at this point had wasted half the morning moving rooms, trying to fix the air conditioning and walking up and down the stairs in the heat.

At this point, we decided to cancel the remaining nights and move to the Renaissance Riverside Hotel which we likely should have booked in the first place. It is much more modern and has amazing service given it is a Marriott. I discussed that we wanted to cancel the remaining nights at the front desk of the Silverland and the women were nice apologizing for the hotel not working. They printed out a document stating they would change the reservation to check out on March 24 and only charge for the one night. We left appreciative that they were understanding or so we thought.

I called Expedia to confirm the next day and they contacted the hotel directly. When the customer service agent returned on the line he said the hotel was now trying to charge the one night we stayed in the hotel as well as an additional night as a penalty for cancelling and would only reimburse me for 2 nights. I cannot express how ridiculous this is to me as they do not even have a working hotel with electricity and they were refusing to waive the penalty. They actually expected us to pay for a room in a hotel with no AC and no electricity.

After much discussion with Expedia they agreed to reimburse me for the extra night themselves given the circumstances but I would never recommend this hotel nor will ever book a night at any of their locations again. Make sure to beware - Expedia was helpful but the hotel is dishonest and rundown!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie S, General Manager at Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Vanessa F

Thank you for taking the time to give comment about your stay with us.

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel that your experiences did not meet expectations.
At SilverlandJolie, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback are extremely important to us. We are taking appropriate measures to address your concerns so that it can be prevented in the future.

We will work with Expedia to sort out your reimbursements as soon as possible.

Once again, we would like to apologize for unpleasant experiences and we wish that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Silverland Jolie.

Yours sincerely,
Linh Nguyen (Ms)
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks (with a short break to Cambodia in between) in March. Ho Chin Minh city is one of the busiest cities I have visited and having a hotel like Silverlands Jolie as a little retreat is great. The location of the hotel is central and you can walk to most places, which is better than sitting in the "constant" traffic jams in a taxi (although taxis are very cheap). Luckily our room had a window, which we really appreciated when we noticed that some of the neighbouring rooms had a view of...."the corridor". The gym was rather disappointing, as it was simply 3 cardiovascular machines and a few free weights in the (outdoors) corner of a very small pool area. The best thing about this hotel is the staff! The porters and restaurant staff are so friendly and helpful, that they made our stay even more special, we even received a special birthday treat, which we were not expecting at all! There is a really good breakfast selection and afternoon tea is delightful, especially after a long day trip out. If you're having the afternoon tea, the banana cake and the cold Vietnamese coffee are "must trys".

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AngelTEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews