We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lucky find!”

Hum Vegetarian, Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 4,143 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in HCMC business district, just a few short walks from War Remnants museum. An all-day-dining and cafe retreat venue of choice, catering to both individual and group requirement, business and leisure gatherings. Health-friendly meals prepared with fresh veggies, fruits, and various kinds of beans, including brown rice, sesame, mushrooms, seaweed, home-made tofu etc. Come enjoy tasty, eye-pampering and non-MSG dishes with unforgettable healthy drink and cocktail specialties in a truly Zen atmosphere. For your traveling convenience in case you will be located in District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, kindly be advised that we have another Hum in District 1, called Hum Vegetarian Lounge & Restaurant with the same menu and service concept. Please let us know should you wish to book this restaurant instead.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We found Hum when we were on our way to the War Remnants Museum. Since finding vegetarian food can be hard sometimes, we decided to go in. We're so glad we did! Everything we tried was amazing! We had the fried lotus as an appetizer and we ordered the spicy tofu and the pineapple fried rice for our main courses. Everything was very tasty, and the service was good as well. The patio seating was beautiful and peaceful. We're so glad we happened on Hum! We would have gladly gone back for another meal if time had permitted.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ejtraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_Manager1, Team Management at Hum Vegetarian, Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear ejtraveler99,
Thank you for your feedback! Patio seating is the new feature in our restaurant in District 3 that loved by many and it is wonderful that you enjoyed it too. One of our primary goal is to make our guests come with joy and leave with satisfaction, we are happy that your visit was as such. Hope to see you again for more enjoyable meals and more pleasant treats!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 112 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Hum expecting a vegetarian food experience which might be similar to the soya filled meat tasting food.

To our surprise it turned out to be one of our next lunch escapades in Vietnam.

We had spinach rolls to try something new with spicy sauce which was yummy !

We had mixed veggies curry with red sauce and taro vegetable curry all with spinach rice. The food was tasty on the buds, you can taste the vegetables with the spices and also feel the consistency as you eat it.

The device and the ambience was super. The server made a mistake and corrected it without any hassle.

The mango passionfruit smoothie was tasting like homemade.

If you are looking for a treat for your stomach with healthy food without any harm to your body. This is the place !

3  Thank PRIYANK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_Manager1, Team Management at Hum Vegetarian, Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear PRIYANK S,
Thank you very much for visiting our place. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the Hum experience - a smooth escape from the city busy-ness. One of our primary goal is to make our guests come with joy and leave with satisfaction. We are beyond happy to know you did enjoy everything from our delicious food to the exceptional service. Much looking forward to having you here with us again!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Walking into Hum café sets up the calm and relaxed vibe for the rest of the dining experience, it's serene gardens welcome the most frazzled of visitor and you can feel yourself begin to unwind.
Located just next door to the popular war remnants museum it's a world away from that overwhelming experience, I would hazard a guess that most visitors to the museum would not know that just next door is an oasis of calm.
The restaurant seems to have three distinct dining areas, an outdoor garden setting around the small lotus pond, a small downstairs area with some pretty odd tables, low and uncomfortable to eat from, more like a coffee table that a dining table, and an upstairs area that seats large groups.
We had the pick of the downstairs tables, one of only two or three that seemed to be a normal dining table.
The menu is enormous and broken up into categories that are somewhat confusing, starters, snacks, salads, soups, mains, vegetable, small tastes etc.
So confused were we that we ended up ordering way too much food, thinking the snacks and starters would be tiny mouthfuls we ordered several things to many.
All the food was top quality and delicious though, beautifully presented and with some wonderful subtle seasonings.
An eggplant salad was a standout starter for us, along with some wonderfully crunchy and tasty mushroom filled spring rolls.
For the choice of our mains we went with a shared soup, a hot-pot affair where the waitress draped garden fresh vegetables into a simmering stockpot for us, this was a bit of a miss for us, some pretty difficult to eat vegetables, some a bit slimy and overpowering in taste didn't please our palates, and by then we were so full we couldn't fit much more in anyway.
Hum cafe hits some pretty high highs and a has a lot to recommend it, just don't order too much.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mr_rossduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_Manager1, Team Management at Hum Vegetarian, Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Mr_rossduncan,
Thank you for your feedback. When Hum Vegetarian first started, we simply wanted to offer a different, quality culinary experience by means of healthy food, for everyone who love fresh, delicious and high quality meals. It makes our day to know you love the food and customers like you made us feel very confident that we have been doing a good thing right. According to the seating, while we believe our staff has tried their best to arrange the seat, we understand that the table wasn’t up to your expectations. Rest assured, our team has taken note on this so we could improve our service. Much appreciate your comments and recommendations to other visitors. We hope to welcome you again at Hum, to enjoy your favourite dishes again or be surprised by other dishes in our extensive menu. All of us wishes you the best to come.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

A cosy atmosphere with an impressive variety of food. Delicious and affordable. A place to go. Even with kids

3  Thank smuller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_Manager1, Team Management at Hum Vegetarian, Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear smuller2016,
Thank you for dining with us. It is always a pleasure knowing a customer appreciates the offer at Hum Vegetarian. We cannot wait see you again soon!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

I can’t say enough about this place, it is that good. A little pricey for Vietnam but well worth it. I would eat here every day ifI could.

2  Thank GinsbergLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_Manager1, Team Management at Hum Vegetarian, Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear GinsbergLLC,
Thank you very much for visiting Hum Vegetarian. We are really happy you had an enjoyable dining experience at us. More exciting items will be added into our menu, hope you will come back and enjoy more with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hum Vegetarian, Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Hum Vegetarian, Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing