We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”
Review of Duna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duna Hotel
Ranked #396 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The 5th time we have stayed there in 4 years.
Very disappointed with it this time.
The condition of the place has deteriorated badly in the last 2 years since our last visit.
The sisters on the desk do their best for you and speak good english, Lilly and Anna are great. ( there is 1 girl who speaks nil english which is an issue when you don`t speak vietnamese)
Breakfast is basic but sufficient and cooked to order.
Had Wildlife in the room!!,( Pest control needed!!) the balcony door did not close(no catch) the aircon struggled badly due to poor maintenance.
The rooms aren`t as clean as they used to be, towels were paper thin and in need of replacement.
The Biggest issue is that the OWNER is not fixing problems with the hotel, NOT spending money on NECESSARY maintenance.
Had no issues with any of the people working there, they were all great and very helpful, However, they have no influence on what ISN`T done to keep the building to a reasonable standard.
They advertise as 2 star, but i would say one star at a scrape.
We, as a couple, will NOT be staying there again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yokel240157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2017

The room was dirty and stinky! We found mushroom on the wall.Staff extremely ignorant and doesn't speak english!! They pick passports and security level was under control.We spent there only 1 hour to think what to do, what kind of possibility we have.For this 1 hour we paid 26$ - the most expensive one hour in Vietnam. It was some kind of charge for receiving our passports back. Not recommend at all!!! We attached photos that we made on place. Finally we changed hotel. We recommend to remove this hotel from booking com site.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Aneta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel on agoda looks good, clean and fresh. The reality is far from it. I'm going to try and focus on the positives - the extra features of the room include a lovely water feature coming from the aircon unit, the bed comes with old toe nail clippings and dirty uses plasters. The fan comes with a extraordinary noise to keep you entertained through your sleepless night. The bathroom is wild with mould and if your lucky may be clean. The staff at reception were accommodating. And the location is perfect enough to hear everything that's going on throughout the night! You won't miss anything!

Other than that. The room was dark. We loved it so much that we decided to see if any other hotels in the area were as nice. All in all it was better than the guesthouse with the maggots but not as good as the one with cockroaches!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Wanted to stay for two days and on web looked like an ok place central to the city left our passports and then were taken to rooms on the entrance two dead cockroaches not the best traveling with a toddler. Then when in the room all you could smell was mould and cigarette smoke so asked if it possible to have a better room answer no all like this. So we decided to leave and find a cleaner hotel wanted to go but they wouldn't give us our passports unless we paid 2 days after a bit of heated words and threatened by the security guy had to pay 1 day and they gave us our passports .do not give passports until you check rooms in Vietnam

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

This hotel is NOT the Hilton. But it has everything you need for a good stay in Saigon. It is only a few minutes walk from the bus terminal in front of Ben Thanh Market. Just a kitty-corner from the Chaos of the every-partying Pahm Ngu Lao. And well within striking distance from other sights. The staff is friendly, polite and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Get the top floors, which face north; away from the Thoom Thoom Thoom Thoom Thoom Thoom from Pham Ng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 km away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#166 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
259 reviews
0 km away
Lele Hotel
Lele Hotel
#333 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
164 reviews
9.4 km away
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
#353 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#149 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
272 reviews
0.3 km away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#352 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
33 reviews
0.8 km away
Mai Anh Hotel
Mai Anh Hotel
#281 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duna Hotel

Address: 167 Pham Ngu Lao Str | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: RM86 - RM163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Duna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing