We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is now called "A25 Hotel Mac Thi Buoi"”
Review of Dong Do Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dong Do Hotel
Ranked #285 of 459 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I don't know how to update the hotel name but would be great if someone from TripAdvisor could make the change - the hotel is now an A25 Hotel.
It is cheap and if you book a "deluxe room" (ca. 7 usd more expensive than their regular room), you get a huge room with bathtub, sofa, safe and plenty of space to put your stuff. We spent there 5 days and had nothing to complain about. The breakfast is on the top floor although not many vegetarian options available.
It's in the very center so perfect location.

Room Tip: room 307 is very nice
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank akerobub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2016

I visit Sai Gon two or three times every year. During the last seven years, I always stayed at Dong Do hotel, which had friendly reception staff and good price. During my two most recent trips, in Nov-Dec 2015 and in Jan-Feb-Mar 2016, i booked there again. The owner is now the A25 group, the name of the hotel was changed from "Dong Do" to "A25 MacThiBuoi". To my great regret the friendly reception staff has been replaced, the price is less attactive and the breakfast is smaller in quantity. As a result I regretfully decided to book another hotel for my trips in July and in Nov-Dec 2016.

Room Tip: Do not take room on high floor, there is noise from kitchen from 6 AM.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank baudewitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I recently spent 9 days at this small but well located hotel; check in was easy; reception was efficient; the lobby area is more of a parking bay for motorbikes than a hotel lobby; it seems to work ok; my room had a balcony on the 4th floor....every little item you may need is provided in the mini bar and room; they really go out of their way to make the room comfortable; its a decent size with strong internet; breakfast on the 6th floor but lift only goes to floor 5.....this area of district one is very upmarket with expensive shops and 5 star hotels.....its difficult to find decent local cafes at a fair price but they are available in the street parallel to this hotels location; 2 or 3 cafes local food and local prices.....English is very limited; staff try very hard to assist

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank spudnikfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Located at Ho Chi Minh city center. With lift and hot breakfast of PHO (local noodle) and ice milk traditional coffee. All in for just 30$ something. Nice staff. From here can access to Saigon river or Nguyen Hue walking street. Do not forget to take picture at the opera house and city square.

Room Tip: Higher floor with balcony or triple room. May charge a bit more but better.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bangkokstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

I have stayed at the Dong Do on previous occasions (the last time early 2014 with friends) and have always found it okay with very friendly staff and in a great location in District 1. I had the Hotel booked for late May this year (5 days) but have now been told by my friends (who are staying there now) that the Hotel has been sold to the A25 Hotel chain and is going through renovations which is noisy and with a strong glue smell within the Hotel. All the previous staff have gone. Hotel now called the A25 Hotel.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank unclebert61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 km away
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
#299 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
67 reviews
0.1 km away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#109 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
333 reviews
0.1 km away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#62 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
HoSen Boutique Hotel
HoSen Boutique Hotel
#320 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
99 reviews
0.1 km away
A & EM Hotel
A & EM Hotel
#248 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
75 reviews
0.2 km away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#169 of 459 in Ho Chi Minh City
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Do Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Do Hotel

Address: 35 Mac Thi Buoi St., Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 459 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: RM105 - RM138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dong Do Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Do Hotel welcomes guests to the graciousness of traditional Vietnamese hospitality complemented by the excellence of today's full facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dong Do Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dong Do

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing