We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbery buns with bland meat”
Review of Soul Burger

Soul Burger
Ranked #128 of 7,058 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: American, International, Grill
Description: Casual restaurant with international beer list, a few wines, and a full bar program.
Restaurant details
Description: Casual restaurant with international beer list, a few wines, and a full bar program.
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Grounded minced meat for the patty is bland, burger buns texture is like banh mi on the outside but hard on the inside, it feels like it has been out for a long time and the texture is like. I ordered something something Richard.

Had tete beer, body is nearing malt stout texture minus the salty-sourishness taste and gives a dry aftertaste to the tongue.

Price is very expensive.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank 276billyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 215 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2016

I stopped in for dinner when I was doing some errands in District 1.

The place has soul music decor and a Motown soundtrack (great music, but not kept too loud, which I appreciated). Good service, with servers who spoke English, which is nice in such a touristy location.

I did find the dim lighting made it a bit difficult to read the menu, but I settled on a "James Brown", which consists of one burger patty, plus pulled pork, cheese, two onion rings, and cole slaw. Lettuce, raw onion slices, tomatoes, and pickles are provided on the side, along with serving of French fries.

This was a burger with a lot going on. The pulled pork was tasty, somewhat overpowering the actual burger patty. It was also a messy sandwich with all those toppings. The bottom line, though, is that it tasted great, and I appreciated that the bun didn't totally fall apart.

This was a really nice treat, and while it was more expensive than a meal of Vietnamese food would have been in the same neighborhood, it wasn't any more expensive than a quality burger at an equivalent place in the US.

I'll definitely be back when I'm in the mood for more Western comfort food in Saigon.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ricksilvawriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

This place is alright and offers average but overly prized burgers!

The burgers don't have any extra sauce which makes them a little dry.

There are definitely better places to eat in Saigon!

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank KimMai611
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing lettuce wrapped, black bean burger with avocado + the best French fries I've in Southeast Asia. Highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Lea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The burger is good and the waitresses speaking very good English. Prices are a bit more expensive then a street food corner (more like Europe etc.). We had 3 burgers with fries and 3 cokes for round about 32€.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank 698henrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Soul Burger also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Soul Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.