We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,730)
Filter reviews
1,730 results
Traveller rating
851
638
183
46
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
851
638
183
46
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charlie chaplin historic hotel perfume river inner courtyard old trees lovely old hotel garden restaurant french colonial style overlooking the river rooms are huge panorama bar breakfast buffet third floor nice pool deluxe room night market tour group
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,730 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2018

Aloha, The location of this iconic hotel is the best in Hue, right on the Perfume river. Easy walk to the Citadel, Dong Ba Market and many restaurants. The staff is amazing, friendly and professional. The travel desk, Ni, has many options for tours of the Pagodas and Tombs. Whatever fits your needs and wants.We were busy every day! Mahalo

Room tip: Ask for a balcony
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Randy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

This hotel has an old colonial feel. The rooms are huge and pleasantly decorated. The staff are helpful and service is good...sometimes their understanding of English is slightly limited.

The location is very good and allows easy walking access to the old quarter.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brodes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We stayed in Hue at the Saigon Morin for two nights. The hotel staff were great, offering up suggestions of what to visit in the town. Hue is quite small but illuminating if you’re interested in the varied history of Vietnam. There is the ancient Citadel which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel plus some military vehicles to visit as Hue is infamous for the Tet offensive, one of the bloodiest battles of the Vietnam War. We used Hue as our starting point for the Hue EasyRiders motorcycle trip to Hoi An which was fantastic.

In terms of the hotel - it has a bit of faded grandeur going on. It was in it’s heyday in the 1900s - 1930s and if you like that old charm then you’re in the right place. The hotel is very proud of it’s historical importance in the town. The rooms are nice and big with buffed wooden floors and high ceilings. The only thing that lets the place down a little is the breakfast is pretty average.

But overall it was a very nice stay in Hue.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank nualaoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

My now husband and I have made this hotel part of our stay each time we’ve travelled to Hue since 2015.

It’s situated very close to the Dong Ba markets and within close walking distance to the tourist district and with taxis generally parked out on the street in front of the hotel..generally means it’s not hard to flag one down at any time to take you where you want to go.

There’s a night market operating every night under the bridge across from the hotel. It’s great for cheap fresh local foods and we highly recommend finishing the night off with a Vietnamese dessert (your choice of ingredients) topped with coconut milk and dried coconut shavings for the added crunch.

Our stay last week as part of our honeymoon. The hotel upgraded our room to one with views to the Perfume River.

We’ve always received excellent service from valet, bell hop, front desk and house cleaning.

The style of the hotel and rooms is very French Colonial, but don’t let this put you off. We’ve noticed that the people that generally stay here tends to lean to more of the older crowd (50’s plus) or families. We haven’t come across many couples staying here falling between the 30 - 40 age group. Which is great as it tends to be a little on the quiet side and doesn’t get as rowdy as some places we’ve stayed at.

The gym equipment is a little outdated but is adequate enough for a small daily workout. Can’t comment on the pool as we’ve not an opportunity to use it.

Our favourite during our stay has always been the breakfast buffets. It is simply outstanding. Choice of fresh fruits, pastries, hot food, cold food..made to order soup of the day. Plenty of food selection to suit everyone.

We highly recommend this hotel. That’s why we keep coming back every year!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julietruong183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay. Pity we only had one night. Venue excellent. It is a spacious hotel full of character, French colonial. Highly recommended. Food, breakfast, particularly excellent. Staff friendly and service excellent.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank deborahG255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews