We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #55 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights,clean room and bathroom,helpful staff good location sometimes a problem with the hot water but that’s normal in Phnom Penh .I didn’t eat there but the breakfast buffet looked impressive

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mhs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

I booked the Family Room with Balcony. It is basically a maisonette with two levels and there is only 1 entrance on the lower level. There is a flight of steep (very steep) stairs in the room leading to the second level. Each level came with a queen bed and an en-suite bathroom.
*Do note that the room on the lower level is much less spacious than that on the upper level.
The air-conditioning units are quite dated but they still function well. WIFI is free and strong. My booking came with breakfast and it was a simple buffet with toast, fruits, fried rice, eggs (the eggs are not displayed, you will have to order directly from the waiters and state your preference: scrambled. fried or omelette), cereals etc...

The hotel staff were friendly and assisted us with our requests. That included getting reliable tuk-tuk service to visit the S21 museum and Killing Fields and taxi to the airport on our return journey.

From the hotel, you could walk to the river side, Central Market, Sorya Mall, Kandal Market and the Phnom Penh Night Market (each will take you about 15 mins walk)

The only thing that made me uncomfortable was the neighbourhood that the hotel is situated in. It is just slight messy and dirty with bars around. It is fine, but I would prefer a more comfortable/cleaner stay in the main city area, nearer to the Independence Monument.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Muka_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The Silver River Hotel is well located, just a short walk from the Mekong and the National Museum. Staff are very friendly and their English is ok. I had a twin room for single use, the size was good, the wifi worked well and there was an electronic safe. The bathroom was modern with a good shower and the room was cleaned daily.
The breakfast is not fantastic, but I have had many worse breakfasts in Asia!
The tuktuk driver whom the staff organized for a city tour was very friendly and honest and I used him on the next day as well for a good price.
There is an ATM directly at the entrance, so it was good and felt safe to use that one to get cash.

On the negative side, I had dinner in the hotel's restaurant on the first evening and it was almost not edible as it tasted so bad.
Also it's not so nice to see male single tourists arrive with a Cambodian girl and her leaving after an hour, walking past you while you have your dinner. I had the impression that a number of men were visiting the hotel for that reason.
Moreover, the tuktuk drivers in front of the hotel were friendly chaps, but still they got on my nerves after some time because sometimes they already started shouting and waving their hands when I had not even left the hotel and was still in the lobby.

All in all, it was a good place to stay in Phnom Penh for that price, but I'd try another hotel if I traveled to the city again.

Room Tip: Some rooms look out to a wall which is not so pretty, but they may be quieter than the ones looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brissie_BHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The best thing about this hotel happened after I'd checked out - and that's meant as a positive!

While on the bus to Siem Reap, I realised I'd left my travel adapter and phone charger behind. More in hope than expectation, I emailed the hotel to ask whether it could be posted on. They replied soon after and arranged for the adapter to be transported to Siem Reap, where I was able to collect it the next day, free of charge.

The staff were friendly throughout my stay, the hotel was centrally located but not noisy, and the rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmj1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Check in was good. Staff is good. Location is also good. Breakfast was okay. Room was small but neat and clean. WiFi speed was excellent. Near to many restaurant and river side. Overall nice hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rajulgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#61 of 276 in Phnom Penh
605 reviews
1.5 km away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 276 in Phnom Penh
375 reviews
0.4 km away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#45 of 276 in Phnom Penh
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#27 of 276 in Phnom Penh
168 reviews
0.5 km away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#92 of 276 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
1.1 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 276 in Phnom Penh
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: RM114 - RM147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing