We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food a bit pricey”
Review of Hachi

Hachi
Ranked #88 of 1,503 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$80
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: A wonderfully zen Japanese robatayaki restaurant with six private tatami rooms and a sushi bar. Experience the traditions of old Japan and savor the sophisticated flavors of traditional Japanese cuisine. Everyday you are able to chose between a variety of lunch sets including Fried Chicken set, Fried Pork Cutlet set, Tempura set, Grilled Fish set or a variety of Sushi sets.The dinner menu features a variety of Kobe beef specialties, Sushi/Sashimi a-la-carte, a wide selection of robatayaki, deep fried tempura, and that is only the beginning. In addition to that, Hachi offers one of the largest selections of Sake in Cambodia.
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We love to eat sushi, and this was very good. However it seemed a little pricey compared to other restaurants we experienced on our trip. The service was great.

Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-HenriChevet, General Manager at Hachi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Jerry G,

Greetings from Hachi restaurant at SOFITEL Phnom Penh Phokeethra.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time dining with us. I agree, Hachi is certainly the place to be when it comes to authentic Japanese cuisine. Chef Katayama’s culinary skills and years of experience in the industry truly bring the cuisine to life, showcasing the wide array of delicious dishes it has to offer.
On your next visit, I highly recommend for you to try our extensive Sake selection that will pair nicely with our fresh sashimi.

Thank you again for your comments, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

I had an amazing experience at Hachi!
All dishes we ordered were delicious and service was great.
Both sake and tea were very good as well.
Also the setting was very unique!
I would defitely go back!

Thank ElephantduMekong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-HenriChevet, General Manager at Hachi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear ElephantduMekong,

Greetings from Hachi Restaurant at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.

Thank you very much for your full-score review! I could not agree more with you, our Hachi restaurant is truly the place to be, for guests or the residents of Phnom Penh city looking for a gastronomically authentic Japanese dining experience. I will be certain to share your kind feedback with our Ambassadors.

Should we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, do drop by our Do Forni Italian Restaurant for our exclusive Lobster Tuesdays! With six sumptuous lobster themed dishes waiting for you, seafood lovers can’t miss it!

Thank you again for your kind feedback, and we hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,
Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

There's a myriad of food options in Phnom Penh, ranging from the very affordable, to the internationally-priced category. When you walk past the Softiel hotel lobby towards Hachi, you know you are not approaching the cheapest restaurant in Phnom Penh.

As we entered Hachin, we noticed the restaurant has a Japanese theme to it, but it was barely ten percent full. After we were seated, we were given menus for food, wine/sake, and some promotional italian wines. After some consideration, we decided upon the $100 menu. The food itself is pretty good.

1. Appetisers - OK; I was a little surprised to see shishamo as an appetiser.
2. Chawamushi - OK; nothing to shout about.
3. Sashimi - Not the most premium items (not fatty tuna etc), but the cuts were generous (five different types of fish) and the fish was fresh. The hamachi however, tasted a little 'icy' to me.
4. The grilled Hida beef - This would be the highlight of the dinner. It was melt-in-the-mouth goodness. We have had Hida been in Japan before and absolutely love Hida beef. We would not expect a japanese restaurant in Phnom Penh to serve Hida beef, but we cannot complain, especially when the serving is as much as 100 grams!
5. Cold udon - OK; cant go wrong with this.
6. Eel on rice - Good; would have appreciated a bit more eel!
7. Green tea ice cream with red beans - OK; again, one of those that can hardly go wrong.

Throught the evening, Phalla, was very warm and made us feel very welcomed. After we had left the restaurant, we started taking some pictures of the hotel and when he spotted us, he was kind enough to volunteer taking a few pictures for us.

It was a pretty expensive evening, but it was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank llhleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-HenriChevet, General Manager at Hachi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear llhleon,

Greetings from Hachi Restaurant at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.

Thank you so much for sharing this great comments with us, am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed our dishes at Hachi! Priding itself on authentic and delicious Japanese cuisine, Chef Katayama-San has been a great addition to our already excellent team. I could not agree with you more while seeing how much you enjoyed our Hida beef! Meanwhile, we also duly noted your comment with regards to the Hamachi sashimi.

Our Hotel Ambassadors strive towards providing nothing short of excellent service, as we want for our guests to fully indulge in our Magnifique experience. I’m pleased to read that the service provided by Mr. Phalla exceeded your expectations, and I will be certain to share your comments with rest of the Hachi Team.

On your next visit, I highly recommend you drop by our Fu Lu Zu Restaurant. Chef Lee and Chef Chen have crafted a mouthwatering Dim Sum selection, ranging from shrimp dumplings to baked egg tarts, and there is no better way to sample it all than with our Dim Sum business lunch available every day. It really is the best place to enjoy authentic Chinese cuisine!

Once again, we’d like to thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We resided in the hotel Sofitel, which has really good restaurants, today we wanted to eat dinner and we tried one of the restaurants named Hachi, and believe me it was delicious, the service was very attentive and respective, the presentation of the plates very artistics and well presented,also the food was amazing, especially the kobe beef thanks to the chef Katayama ,that gave us a very pleasant chat about the food, the music was very relaxing and finally the quality and price were very good.In my opinion if you want to go to Phnom Penh you have to try Hachi.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-HenriChevet, General Manager at Hachi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour from Hachi Restaurant at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.

What a lovely review, we are delighted to receive your positive comments! Indeed, at Sofitel and not just Hachi restaurant, we pride ourselves on outstanding quality on all aspects. That goes for not only food offerings, but everything in between from ambience to interior décor, and of course the service delivered by our Ambassadors. We aim to provide memorable Magnifique experiences for all our guests, and I am glad to see we were able to do the same for you. We will be certain to share your comments to Chef Katayama and his team, who will be delighted they made a difference in your meal.

If you haven’t already, please drop by again soon for our sushi buffet lunch happening every Saturday. With a wide array of dishes to choose from and the option of free-flow Sake – I invite you to give it a try on your next visit with us.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

During our stay at the Sofitel in Phnom Penh we decided to try Hachi, and were incredibly glad we did so. The Sofitel has numerous options for great food so you can't go wrong anywhere, but Hachi is definitely the one that will stick in our memories. Miss Rothanak was incredibly friendly host, and attended to our every need.

After the meal we had the pleasure of meeting Chef Katayama who was very happy to give us a brief history of his cooking (which was exceptional), and definitely added to the night. All in all, the next time we're in Phnom Penh we will definitely be making a return trip to Hachi!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-HenriChevet, General Manager at Hachi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Alex P,

Bonjour from Hachi Restaurant at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.

Indeed, an excellent choice to join us for the best authentic Japanese cuisine in town! Thank you very much for taking time to share your dining experience with us here. As a 5-Star luxury brand, we at Sofitel take pride in exceeding your expectations on all aspects which goes for ambience, exquisite cuisine and without a doubt outstanding service. It is lovely to hear that our Ambassadors at our Fu Lu Zu restaurant were able to craft a memorable experience for you, and I will be sure to relay your great comments to the team. From the traditional outfits of the waiters to private Tatami rooms, a meal in Hachi truly is an unforgettable experience and a true journey to the land of the rising sun.

On your next visit, be sure to pair the dishes with some refreshing Sake from the largest selection in Phnom Penh. With an extensive selection of over 26 different Sakes, you’ll never run out of options!

Thank you again for your kind patronage, and we hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,
Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hachi also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Hachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing