We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exudes some old world charm”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #91 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I crossed the street this time to stay at the Cambodiana (i stayed at the Landscape on the last visit - the Cambodiana is almost directly opposite the Landscape). The difference is marked. A broad driveway leads to the hotel entrance and its friendly, approachable staff. The Cambodiana exudes old world charm. My room had a glimpse of the Mekong through the large windows. Yoga classes appeared to be in progress on a lawn gently sloping down to the river.
The normal rooms do seem to be showing their age. The washbasin in the bathroom was chipped.
Business kept me away from enjoying the facilities but a very inviting pool was sighted.
Definitely worth a return visit though if on a tight budget, there are doubtless many cheaper options in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandalf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 220 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

I have stayed here 5-6 times over the past 3 years old hotel, but that I think is part of its charm. Very efficient and friendly staff excellent laundry service and the food is good. Normal rooms needs to be upgraded , but the junior suites are very good. Can definitely recommend this. Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

As I approached the Cambodiana by taxi, I had this impending feeling of doom and dread as if I were to step into an ostentatious building with as much charm as a sleazy casino that has seen one too many old men with big cigars and gold chains.

Alas, part of that held true when you see the clientele that wanders through the establishment. However, many people from all walks of life seem to stay here: old men with younger counterparts, large tour groups, business conference attendees, long lost tourists going on a splurge to feel that bit more comfortable after doing it tough around the country.

That to one side, I have to say that The Cambodiana served my purpose well: a comfortable, clean and quiet bedroom. The service was generally very good, although at times the front desk was variable when questioned about various small issues (I had to laugh when one man said Yes I'll help you, before walking off to a room behind the front desk and appeared to be waiting for me to leave). Also I noted the head manager who was very attentive and looked concerned at all times to ensure the staff were up to scratch.

The restaurant was not too bad but if you won't necessarily find local food at local prices here. You'll find typical hotel cuisine that tries to cater to everyone but generally failing to do so.

There is a little nightclub, but also worth avoiding unless one really felt like listening to yet another variation of Hotel California. Also, WI-FI is very expensive if you want access in your room - nonetheless it is free in public spaces thoughout the hotel.

On the plus side, one can overlook the effluent discharging into the river if one were to immerse oneself in the pleasant hotel swimming pool. A nice way to cool off after a long steaming day in the city.

Luckily, my office paid and selected this hotel but I think there are better alternatives for your "dollar" in my humble opinion. A bit crash in taste, trying too hard in some ways, typically Asian with Western overtones, but the sleep was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aikiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at the Cambodiana on a school trip. Overall, the hotel was great. The staff were very friendly, and they made you feel very welcome. I liked how when you left the hotel at any given time, you could give your room key to reception and they would hold onto it for you until you got back, I was very pleased with that, it was extremely convenient. They had a wonderful breakfast in the morning, they had great pancakes and omelettes, which took them about 20 seconds to make, and you could watch them make it. I was also very pleased with the swimming pool, even though I found it odd there was no hot tub, but there was this thing you could go in above the pool. I liked below the pool there was a field and a patch of sand you could go to, where you had a great view of the river. I also enjoyed the steam room they have. The rooms were big and very comfortable, I felt really comfortable in the beds at the hotel. I found it odd though that it was an actual key to the room, and not the card key, and that there was a slot you needed to insert your key into in order to get power. Me and my room-mate overcame this problem by inserting the knife with the complimentary fruits in the room into the slot. The computers were mostly reliable, even though the ones on my floor were not. I would have liked to get free WI-FI, it got expensive. I also had trouble with the personal safe you had in the room, even though I think it was just a problem with mine, everyone else`s were fine. The bakery was fabulous, I loved the doughnuts, I will never forget them. I also liked the fact that you had bottled water in your room, no charge.

So all in all, it is a great hotel, but there is room for improvement, improvements they can easily make, and probably will. If you plan on going to Phnom Penh, do yourself a favour and stay at Hotel Cambodiana.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed for one night on the 4th of April 2012. The hotel allowed for early check in and it was pretty efficient despite the ASEAN summit and security is pretty tight.

The room is spacious, bed is comfy, bathroom is small but user friendly. the rooms overlooking the mekong river is awesome..The hair dryer is missing though... WIFI is available in the room.

The breakfast is generous. The noodle bar is excellent. No regrets staying here for the breakfast. The hotel also has a coffee place whcih serves good pastries too.

I have stayed here in 2007 and felt that the service is still good and perhaps, some of the rooms need a little upgrading.

Good stay.. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vignesh215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#27 of 275 in Phnom Penh
633 reviews
3.0 km away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#85 of 275 in Phnom Penh
403 reviews
1.0 km away
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
#56 of 275 in Phnom Penh
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#69 of 275 in Phnom Penh
21 reviews
1.1 km away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.1 km away
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
#63 of 275 in Phnom Penh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: RM383 - RM502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing