We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy 'Massage' Spa!”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #89 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Advert in room for massage in 'Hotel Spa' - so off I went... under the pool! Walked into a room with viewing window with several 'girls' wearing numbers, only to be ushered out swiftly into another 'Spa'... Whereupon a lovely girl, with no English / French / Spanish (I don't speak anything else!) proceeded to give me a massage, in a windowless room, on a double bed, with a plastic matress.... During which the electricity cut off so it was pitch black with no air conditioning! Judging by the numerous Japanese 'Business' Men in towelling robes wandering around, and the dodgy girly giggling I could hear, this was not your 'usual' Spa. That said, the massage was one of the best I've ever had (oh, and I'm a woman by the way)! I'm no snob and I've stayed in some pretty rank places over the years but the hotel Cambodiana istelf is quite shabby and needs renovating pronto, it was probably once pretty grand but has had it's day, unless it has a much needed, and dare I say deserved, makeover. The location was great and the views stunning though.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HippyCampingMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 275 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2010

I only stayed here for one night as the final leg of our trip around Vietnam & Cambodia. This hotel is a very large hotel located along the Mekong river and within a stone’s throw of the main area for restaurants and bars as well as being close to the Royal Palace and the National Museum.

The Public areas of the hotel look great and are very impressive, however the room we had on the 5th floor was tired and in need of refurbishment, everything was very dated, with marks and stains on the carpet, although I must say that our room did have two Queen sized beds which was great but they were rock hard and pretty uncomfortable.

You could also hear the noise from the nightclub and the street until quite late and in the early morning doors banging and plumbing going made a great alarm call!!! Oh and don’t forget the noise from the tennis courts which started at 6 am!

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with lots of choice and they make a mean omelette, however I was very disappointed with the fresh fruit selection which was extremely limited. The staff were very polite and helpful and served up plenty of tea and coffee.

One big drawback is the speed of the lifts (one was out of action whilst we were there) it seemed to take forever to get up and down from the 5th floor.

It is overpriced with regard to food and drink so you may as well nip out and walk into town or get a tuk tuk.

In the evening we walked along the promenade into the main area and it was really nice and very lively with lots going on along the way. It’s just a shame that the prom doesn’t extend as far as the Cambodiana.

We went to the FCC (Foreign Correspondents Club), as did a number of our group and it was very pleasant sitting up on the balcony watching the world go by, it’s not the cheapest but the atmosphere and the history of the place make it worthwhile.

I certainly wouldn’t grade this hotel much more than a 3 star and that would be pushing it. We have stayed in some amazing hotels during our trip and this was the worst of them all (The Holiday Inn at Heathrow was ten times better!).

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Looks impressive out the front and in the lobby but once we left the lift it was as I quoted on their questionairre: The room was very shabby for a 4 star International Hotel. The chairs had very old large and prominent stains on them and the bathroom was very mouldy and grotty. Quite unhealthy for some people. The breakfast was very ordinary as well. Maybe there are better rooms but ours was disgusting. We were glad to move on.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PussyCat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We booked the club floor and were so disappointed as it offered very little extra for the price. Rooms were tired and basic and had mice running up and down the corridors. We did not find the staff either helpful or friendly. Our extended family had one problem after another during their stay . They do not deserve a 4 star rating, maybe 2.5 with a push. Never again. Beware!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mairead54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

This hotel is located in the middle of Phnom Penh good location for visiting the Temples and palace and of course the infamous school where prisoners were held and tourtured before being taken to the killing fields.
The city was great to visit and some great restaurants but the hotel was a let down. breakfast was poor and the bedroom although quite spacious was very tired and grubby the linen and towels grey....but we thought of it as just a place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. and we found the people friendly and open. Pool area ok with a view over the river.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmcconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#28 of 274 in Phnom Penh
633 reviews
3.0 km away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#85 of 274 in Phnom Penh
403 reviews
1.0 km away
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
#55 of 274 in Phnom Penh
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#73 of 274 in Phnom Penh
21 reviews
1.1 km away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.1 km away
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
#60 of 274 in Phnom Penh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: RM387 - RM503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing