We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veeeerrrrryyyyy Sssslllllloooowww”

Kanji Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #408 of 1,591 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: US$7 - US$50
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Ordered beer, marinated octpus as appetizer and noodles ( 2 bowls, soba & udon). It took about 15 minutes before the beer was serve. Another 20 minutes passed before the waitress came to say their octopus is bad so no appetizer that I ordered. I asked to just bring the noodles. Another 10 minutes passed when the octopus was served, saying they have some good ones left after all, but very small serving. Another 15 minutes passed the waitress came apologizing for the delay and food will be serve soon. Another 15 minutes passed before udon was served. Udon was getting cold and another 15 minutes passed before the soba was cold. About an hour and 30 minutes to have a bowl of noodles and beer. Waitress apologized profusely and offered free dessert, a choice of ice cream or fruits, but spent so much time waiting for food to arrive, don’t have time to have dessert even if it’s free. Tried to cancel the order but waitress kept on saying it’s coming. Food was delicious but not worth all the wait

Thank 690leonorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meas S, Manager at Kanji Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Valued guest,

thank you for your constructive review as you mention above
we will do our best for improve your impression, and please let me know your next visit Phnom Penh city, as i have opportunity to invite you back and discuss about our improvement !
please contact me directly, manager@kanji-restaurant.com


Best regards,
Sreyneang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Heard alot about this restaurant.... But boy was I disappointed. Maybe it was a bad day for them. But the quality of the food is very poor for the money..... Best part was the free papaya at the end. I think they have lost quality control as the owner as a number of restaurants some of which are quite well known.

We know our food and we eat out alot..... But I won't be returning. Our bill was $85us for 2 people. Writing this review at 2am as I just got up from stomach ache and diarrhoea.... So I am abit pissed off....

Thank Lonelyplanet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meas S, Manager at Kanji Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Value Guest,

Warmest Greeting From Kanji Japanese Restaurant in PP, thank for your points that have mention above. We will try to change it to the right form.

With regards to i will inform to my team to improve it much better.

Thanks and Best Wishes,
Sreyneang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

If you're looking for authentic Japanese cuisine, this is a must place to dine in though kinda expensive but you'll get fresh sashimi​ :)

Thank Pucci_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meas S, Manager at Kanji Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Kanji Japaneses Restaurant in Phnom Penh.

We really appreciate to receive your review. Your review is extremely helpful for us to work on that. and thankfulness for your supportive feedback regarding our food and service, and we are really looking forward to seeing your comeback again soon.


Best Regards,
Sreyneang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I expected much from this place after reading the reviews. Storefront and layout are impressive as is the PERFECT service (arkun!).

However, the taste of the Unagi Donburi was not quite up to what I expected (a bit on the sloshy side) and a bill of US$ 26 for a Donburi, glass of wine, and a simple tuna roll might be fine in San Francisco, but is out of place in Cambodia.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank None of Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James567267, E-Commerce Manager at Kanji Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Value Guest,
Warmest Greeting From Kanji Japanese Restaurant !

We are glad to hearing from you. And appreciate your value time for the constructive review . as above we will share with our team to working hard and improve

We hope that we are able to serve you better and better and wish to see you back soon with our improving

Best Regards
Som Ol Meas
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Bill came to about $85 for dinner for 2 people - glass of whisky each plus a few items from the menu (think sampling a couple dishes, not eat to get full). Although I did order uni so...

The food was great (haven't had good fresh shiso leaves here before), service was good, atmosphere OK (layout and lighting are a bit harsh/bright, would prefer a warmer atmosphere).

Also, not easy to find. Almost gave up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank opgtook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James567267, E-Commerce Manager at Kanji Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Value guest,

thank you and appreciate for your feedback with the constructive comment for us,
with our operation team we will share and double check.

we are strongly to keep it up to serve the best


Best Regards
Som Ol Meas
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kanji Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Kanji Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing