We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent resturant”
Review of Kualao Restaurant

Kualao Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 450 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Kualao is not just a paragon of Vientiane hospitality, but is also a charming example of French colonial architecture and a treasury of the finest, authentic Lao cuisine. --------- Kualao Restaurant is Vientiane's most popular, internationally recognized, up-scale and authentic Lao food restaurant, where both local and visiting diners bask in an ambience that flawlessly reincarnates the romantic and sophisticated atmosphere of early colonial French Indochina. Kualao is discretely, and conveniently, nestled on the corner of the city's landmark That Dam Intersection, which is known for the famous 'Black Shrine' stupa that sits at the center of the nearby roundabout. The restaurant is housed in a charmingly elegant, vintage villa that, until only decades ago, formed the residential estate of French colonial officials. The restaurant's exterior epitomizes architecture 'a la francaise', invoking thoughts of the society parties, business deals and political intrigue that must have taken place there in the colonial era. The interior, however, whispers the soft Lao overtones of a traditional Southeast Asian interior. The distinctively patterned textiles, the rattan wall rendering, the discrete lighting, the traditionally glazed ceramic plates and the elegant golden cutlery is distinctly Lao and has been fused with modern, international essentials, such as a fully stocked wine cellar and an English language version of the menu. The harmonious blend of East and West is typified by the beautiful female hostesses in their traditional, multi-colored Lao Sinh skirts and the male 'garcons' in their formal, western-style black trousers, white shirts and bow ties. In its days as a prominent colonial estate, the Kualao building played host to Vientiane's elite society. Now, as Vientiane's most prestigious Lao restaurant, it is still the perfect place to meet, relax, enjoy sumptuous food and impeccable service and be captivated by enchanting Lao entertainment. You cannot truly say you have experienced the best that Laos has to offer unless you have dined at Kualao.
Reviewed 26 November 2015

the food is good. Lao dances are excellent.the wine was a bit raw and they ran out of orange juice. but the servers were very nice and helpful.

1  Thank advisorSuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditta K, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

I am truly sorry that we ran out of fresh orange juice. It is one of our best sellers.

Was it the house wine or one of our bottled wine that was "raw"? Please let us know for next time. If so, we'll gladly replace it with a new glass/bottle.

I will convey your message to the kitchen and wait staff. I'm sure they'll appreciate your kind compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

We had lunch at Kualao during our business trip. The food arrive very quick. Staffs English was not very good, but at least they tried to understand my colleagues requests. They understand Thai perfectly.

Waitress was very nice and attentive.

The fish was fresh and the Banana flambé dessert is very tasty.

1  Thank RadiC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditta K, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

I'm glad that the staff did their best to understand you. And thank you for being so patient.

The banana flambé dessert is my personal favorite. I do hope that you tried it with the ice cream! Even tastier with chocolate ice cream on the side.

Thank you for supporting authentic Lao cuisine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Food was ok, service was quick. The show was also nice, not too long, not too short. The restaurant caters to all of the important guests who come to Vientiane.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Madzia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditta K, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Thanks for your comment. I'm glad to hear that you got your food pretty quickly. We are also glad that you appreciated the show.

All guests are equally important to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Had a great meal in here while staying in Lao. We went at dinner time so the place was quite full, lots of tourist groups. Very good entertainment of local Lao music and dance. The food, service, pricing all very good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditta K, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Nov-Dec are the peak seasons for tourism in Laos so it is understandable to see many tourists eating alongside locals. Despite what many people think, our restaurant gets more locals than tourists throughout the year!

We welcome both Lao and foreigners at our restaurant and it is a pleasure to be recognized by both groups for our Lao cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We told our guide to take us to an authentic Lao food and were brought here a few days ago. We were excited to try assorted local dishes served in the straw tray. However, the taste of the food was rather disappointing. The soup or maybe tomyum? was bland, the larb has overpowering herbal taste in it, probably need an acquired taste for it.. overall, it was not up to our standard. The pork sausages are good though. Atmosphere wise and service are excellent though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kualao, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2015

Dear CGina,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. We are saddened that you didn't enjoy the food as much as we had hoped.

The set menu is served on a rattan platter (not straw). The Laarb is meant to be infused with herbs and spices, giving it a strong taste. The sour fish soup, and not tom yum, is actually one of our most popular dishes since we use fresh Mekong river fish from Paksé! Perhaps you are averse to the sour/lemon taste that is present in many of our dishes. Next time, please let us know and we can de-emphasize those flavors for you.

We are glad that you appreciated the atmosphere and service! I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Thanks,
Kualao Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kualao Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
 

Been to Kualao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing