We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High western standard to a low price”
Review of Kualao Restaurant

Kualao Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 423 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kualao is not just a paragon of Vientiane hospitality, but is also a charming example of French colonial architecture and a treasury of the finest, authentic Lao cuisine. --------- Kualao Restaurant is Vientiane's most popular, internationally recognized, up-scale and authentic Lao food restaurant, where both local and visiting diners bask in an ambience that flawlessly reincarnates the romantic and sophisticated atmosphere of early colonial French Indochina. Kualao is discretely, and conveniently, nestled on the corner of the city's landmark That Dam Intersection, which is known for the famous 'Black Shrine' stupa that sits at the center of the nearby roundabout. The restaurant is housed in a charmingly elegant, vintage villa that, until only decades ago, formed the residential estate of French colonial officials. The restaurant's exterior epitomizes architecture 'a la francaise', invoking thoughts of the society parties, business deals and political intrigue that must have taken place there in the colonial era. The interior, however, whispers the soft Lao overtones of a traditional Southeast Asian interior. The distinctively patterned textiles, the rattan wall rendering, the discrete lighting, the traditionally glazed ceramic plates and the elegant golden cutlery is distinctly Lao and has been fused with modern, international essentials, such as a fully stocked wine cellar and an English language version of the menu. The harmonious blend of East and West is typified by the beautiful female hostesses in their traditional, multi-colored Lao Sinh skirts and the male 'garcons' in their formal, western-style black trousers, white shirts and bow ties. In its days as a prominent colonial estate, the Kualao building played host to Vientiane's elite society. Now, as Vientiane's most prestigious Lao restaurant, it is still the perfect place to meet, relax, enjoy sumptuous food and impeccable service and be captivated by enchanting Lao entertainment. You cannot truly say you have experienced the best that Laos has to offer unless you have dined at Kualao.
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Probably one of the best resturant in town. Great service and we all was happy with the food. Good entertainment.

Thank Egil_Nordby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditta K, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Wow! We are so honored to be given this prestigious title of "probably one of the best restaurants in town." Thank you for your most gracious comment. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We thought yesterday's visit to Makphet might've revealed the best food in Lao. Then we had lunch today at Kua Lao, and discovered an even higher standard. A huge range of magnificent, authentic Lao dishes are on offer - including such challenging delicacies as steamed wasps! We stuck to more pedestrian fare: aubergine dip with black sticky rice, stir-fried chicken in coconut chilli sauce with peanuts, and green pork curry. Everything was perfect, including service, comfort, and ambiance. Prices are high by local standards, but the portions are large, and we felt it was very good value to get such an incredibly good meal, including drinks, tax and tip, for $30.

1  Thank CMCReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditta K, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

It puts a smile on my face and the faces of all my staff to read a comment such as this. What a wonderful thing to say. You're so kind!

We hope to be able to carry on the tradition of serving good quality food at a high standard for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Laos for authentic tasting Lao dishes and also includes some traditional Lao music and dancing.

I enjoyed all the dishes that was ordered and as per my Laotian friends I did order and try the special fish caught in the Mekong River. Whilst small and delicate, the flesh was delicious and fresh.

Thank Clem_6701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditta K, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Amazing comment. I'm truly glad that you enjoy yourself each time you come, which demonstrates our consistency in bringing out the best of Lao cuisine every time for everyone! Our fish make up some of our finest dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

Worthy a try. Typical Lao food while the traditional performance is great. Slow dance is very interesting.
Average per person is 150k kip for us.

Thank song m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditta K, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Thank you for the nice comment and recommendation. We hope to see you again in the future so you can sample more dishes and more dance types. Laos is multi-ethnic, as you know and at Kualao we feature a medley of traditional dances from the many ethnic tribes in Laos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Kua Lao and Kop Chai Deu were the two restaurant I was recommended. The food was good and service was excellent. The staff was so attentive. There was a traditional dance during the meal that I found interesting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnQ710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kualao, Owner at Kualao Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Ann_Ng710,

Thanks for your awesome review!

I will pass your compliments to the kitchen and wait staff who very much deserve the praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kualao Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
 

Been to Kualao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing