We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inter City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Really beautiful hotel! Decorated with a ton of cool stuffs, love it. They also have restaurant next to the hotel and you must try foods there. Staffs are so friendly, comfortable bed. I would recommend to stay here, it worth your money.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Weerawan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is expensive for what it offers:

Horrible inedible breakfast
Uncomfortable bed
Dusty
Dirty bathroom
Shower height too low
☹️ Noisy

So many better options for the price. I actually couldn't eat the breakfast it was so bad.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

This one was good value for money. Great location downtown in an interesting area. Staff didn't speak much English but were helpful and friendly. Ask for a riverside room on the 4th or 5th floor for nicest view and quietest rooms. Night market is busy until about 11pm then it's quite quiet. Decor is entertainingly eclectic and was worth a look. Rooms were comfortable and, for the money, perfectly satisfactory.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bronstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I was in a bind when I arrived in Vientiane on a Thailand visa run - the hotel I booked turned out to be 3 1/2 hours away and not in Vientiane as indicated on its website. It was after 9pm and it had been a long day of travel pretty much without a meal all day. Fortunately, my taxi driver found me a reasonably priced hotel right in the middle of town and they had a double room available. The Inter-City is decorated in the lobby with numerous works of art, handmade furniture, pottery, statues. The decor extends to the floors above, reached by a small elevator. The room came with continental breakfast, the best part of which was the strong, black, brewed coffee. A short walk finds you in the midst of the restaurant/bar scene, and right out the hotel's front door, which is across the street from the Mekong River, is the night market, a long,meandering festival of sights and sounds, and food. For those so inclined, the hotel also is conveniently located to numerous temples, and a relatively short walk to the city's icon, Patuxay, a recreation of Paris' Arc de Triumph.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2016, in a double room on 4th floor (first room as you get out of the lift). Aircon was fine for about 5 minutes, until the incredibly noisy outside unit kicked in - it would have been easier trying to sleep on a runway. Plus, every time someone used the lift, we could hear the incredibly loud mechanism just the other side of the wall.
The room looked nothing like any photos online.
But worst of all, we booked our onward travel here and were completely ripped off. We paid for a 1pm VIP bus to Thakhek which was 110,000 kip each including a transfer to the bus station. The transfer was expected to arrive between 12-12.30pm and turned up dead on midday, picked us up and then picked up one other passenger. It then drove incredibly slowly to the bus station (we were being overtaken by other transfer vehicles, as well as all the other traffic). We got to the bus station at about 12.30pm but we didn't turn into it - instead the driver pulled up behind a local bus (i.e. non VIP bus) that had just pulled out of the bus station. Then he and someone from the bus bundled all three of us into it (our luggage was put onto the bus before we'd even managed to get to the bus) and both vehicles drove off before we had time to register that we'd been conned (the local bus costs nearly half that of a VIP bus and takes several hours more).
This local bus was filthy, rammed full of boxes and even had two motorbikes tied to the back staircase blocking that exit and toilet (not that anyone would've wanted to use it). Most of the seats either didn't recline at all or were stuck in fully reclined position. And air con was virtually non existant.
The bus made at least one other stop just up the road, and another set of tourists were bundled on just like we were, with no time to question anything before the bus moved off.
It made various stops to drop off / pick up local passengers - by the (eventual) end of the journey the aisle was rammed full of boxes and bags making it almost impossible to get off, especially when you've got a heavy rucksack. It also made a handful of rest stops, clearly at places where the driver got a commission / kickback - with dirty squat toilets which you were expected to pay for (would have had no issue in paying to use them if they had been even vaguely clean).
We got talking to most of the other tourists - one said she'd seen their transfer driver hand over a tiny fraction of what they'd paid to the bus driver...

I hope this review saves someone else from being ripped off - with hindsight, we should have refused to get on the bus and crossed the road to the bus station to where the VIP bus was... A better idea would be to decline the free transfer and make your own way to the bus station - a tiny bit more expensive but at least you'd actually get the service you'd paid for.

Room Tip: Check the room and aircon before you pay. Arrange your own onward travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loops74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 km away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#40 of 93 in Vientiane
40 reviews
0.6 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#46 of 93 in Vientiane
171 reviews
0.3 km away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#35 of 93 in Vientiane
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0.8 km away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#52 of 93 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0.5 km away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter City Boutique Hotel

Address: 24-25 Fa-Ngum Road | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabuly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: RM170 - RM232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inter City Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inter City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing