We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 486
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
RM 491
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
RM 438
Fully refundable before Mon, 4 Mar
Breakfast included
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
539
185
45
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
539
185
45
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an excellent hotel rooms are large front office comfortable stay kk city isolation ger laundry driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2023 via mobile

Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Helped us with travel and tour arrangements. Accomodations were excellent for the price. Breakfast buffet was very good.

We have traveled 36 countries in 10 years and this hotel is in our top 5 worldwide.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michelledS8340EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear michelledS8340EK,

We are overjoyed to receive such a positive review from well-traveled guests like you! Your A++ rating and kind words about our exceptionally friendly and helpful staff mean the world to us.

Knowing that you consider us one of the top 5 hotels worldwide in your extensive travels is a tremendous honor. We're truly grateful for your recognition and hope to continue exceeding your expectations in the future.

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar. We can't wait to welcome you back for another exceptional stay!

Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2023

We were so happy with our stay at this well-located hotel that we booked it again for the end of our trip. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, in particular the lovely young manager at the front desk who went out of her way to make sure our stay went smoothly. (I apologize for having lost my notes so I can’t thank people by name.) The hotel has a great housekeeping team and our room was kept spotlessly clean. Our bed was very comfortable and we had strong wifi so we could work. We also appreciated how strong the shower was, especially after returning from a week in the Gobi! The bkfst buffet had a great selection and waiters worked hard at keeping things stocked and guests happy. The dinner menu was quite good, too.
Our only suggestion is that we wish the Kempinski chain would stop using disposable mini plastic bottles for toiletries and water, considering the plastic waste crisis, and transition to the greener use of dispensers, as other hotels are doing.
Thank you for a good stay!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nycSafariNjema
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Dear nycSafariNjema,
We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our well-located hotel. Your kind words about our friendly staff, housekeeping team, comfortable rooms, and dining options are greatly appreciated. We value your suggestion regarding eco-friendly practices, and we will certainly take it into consideration. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

The great location of the hotel is making it an easy 20-25 minutes walk to the main square. Rooms are very clean and spacious. The staff is in particular attentive to you especially at breakfast time. I find the hotel a gem in Ulaanbaatar and I am always and exclusively returning to Kempinski as I feel like at home.

Room tip: Ask for GOBI Cashmere store 10% discount card (sister company) and save when you are buying the best quality cashmere in the World :)
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hrvoje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bolor Jambaldorj, Revenue Management at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Dear hrvojem741,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled that you appreciate our fantastic location, clean and spacious rooms, and our attentive staff. We're honored to be your choice in Ulaanbaatar, and we can't wait to welcome you back "home" at Kempinski Ulaanbaatar.
Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2023

World class service, from top management and down. I’m been treated like king! My guest has come and experienced the same service and warmth. There is nothing this hotel and staff won’t fix for you, be it a full day horseback riding trip to a nomad family or just arrange a cab within 5 minutes, no inquiries are to small or to big. 5 star service at it best

Room tip: Take full advantage of their supreme service. Their restaurants are great! Don’t miss them
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bolor Jambaldorj, Revenue Management at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your incredibly generous words and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're truly delighted to hear that you found our service to be world-class, from our top management to every member of our dedicated staff.

Treating our guests like royalty is at the core of our values, and it's heartwarming to know that you and your guests felt this warmth during your stay. We take pride in going above and beyond to meet the unique needs and desires of our guests.

Your description of our service as "5-star at its best" is incredibly rewarding, and it's our aim to consistently provide this level of excellence to every guest.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to our hotel for more exceptional experiences in the future.

Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2023

This hotel does not meet the standards of other Kempinskis. My family and I travel a lot, like A LOT, and we've been to many Kempinski hotels.
The problems started with our booking, which we made directly through the hotels' website (not a 3rd party). The booking states a 12:00 check in, but the hotel told us this was a mistake and their check in time is 2:00 pm. They allowed us to check in at noon without a fee, but it took series of emails in advance. We also booked the breakfast meal package through the website. On our first morning in the breakfast lounge, we were told we didn't get breakfast because we didn't have the meal package. Once again, I had to pull out my reservation receipt and prove (in front of other guests) that we had paid for the breakfast. They of course accepted the receipt and realized they made an error, but it was another hassle we shouldn't have had to deal with.
The day before our departure, we requested the hotel have a cab ready for us to catch our early flight (we needed to leave the hotel around 3:30 am). The young man behind the desk indicated he would do so and that we could expect a 100,000 tugrik (about 29.00 USD) flat rate for the taxi ride (this is also what we paid to get to the hotel). After spending the day on the town, buying souvenirs, and spending our local currency (but saving taxi money), we returned to the hotel. I double checked with a different guy at the desk that we would have a taxi waiting for us. Afterall, as the evening Front Desk Receptionist, it would be his job to call the taxi company. It was good I double checked, because the other guy hadn't taken action and hadn't passed along the request. Moreover, when the taxi arrived in the wee hours of the morning, we were told by the Front Desk Receptionist that it was actually a 200,000 tugrik charge (double!). We were also told the first "receptionist" we had spoken to earlier in the day was actually a Bell Hop and we were informed that he wasn't even supposed to be working behind the counter. As a result, we had no choice but to withdraw additional local currency (taxi couldn't take a card) from the hotel Front Desk (for a nice fee) in order to pay the taxi. What's particularly irksome is that we had plenty of cash which we would have saved if we had simply been told the correct amount.
There were other issues, but this review is already lengthy...
Overall, we had a less than stellar experience at this Kempinski. If you're going to Ulaanbaatar, I'd recommend you stay elsewhere. If we ever go back we'll probably stay at the Shangri-la. It's closer to the airport as well as the heart of the city.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank countlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bolor Jambaldorj, Revenue Management at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear countlincoln,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We deeply regret to hear about the inconveniences you encountered during your visit, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations.

We truly appreciate your loyalty as a frequent traveler to Kempinski hotels, and we acknowledge that your experience with us fell short of the standards you've come to expect. The issues you've raised regarding check-in, breakfast, and the taxi service are not reflective of the service quality we aim to provide.

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail and make amends for the inconveniences you faced. Kindly reach out to us directly through "concierge.ulaanbaatar@kempinski.com".

We understand your disappointment, and we are committed to taking the necessary steps to prevent such issues from recurring. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us.

We value your feedback, and your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us. We hope to have the chance to provide you with a more positive experience should you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews