We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
RM 526
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
No prepayment needed
Priceline
RM 526
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
RM 467
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
balloonbill
Bend, Oregon

Great people

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jan 2024
Of course, the hotel is excellent, but the brightest shining light during my Kempinski experience was the help provided to me by Billy, at reception. Other than by flying, I was not sure how to get from Ulaanbaatar to Ulan-Ude. She understood my interests and arranged for exactly what I needed. Thank you, Billy!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this review
Responded 27 Jan 2024
Dear balloonbill,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar. We're thrilled to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations, and we're especially delighted to know that Billy's assistance stood out during your stay. We'll make sure to pass on your kind words to Billy. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 427
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 427
  • Hotels.com
    RM 368
  • Expedia.com
    RM 428
1.6 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 538
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 507
  • Agoda.com
    RM 396
  • Priceline
    RM 538
0.8 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 2,046
RM 1,736
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,738
  • Priceline
    RM 1,736
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,738
1.9 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 751
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 672
  • Hotels.com
    RM 606
  • Expedia.com
    RM 709
1.9 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 357
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 414
  • Agoda.com
    RM 294
  • Expedia.com
    RM 377
1.7 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Guest room
Booking.com
RM 603
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 603
  • Vio.com
    RM 496
  • Hotels.com
    RM 652
3.9 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 108
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    RM 108
  • Lol.travel
2.4 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 285
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 285
  • Trip.com
    RM 236
  • Agoda.com
    RM 286
1.6 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 595
  • Priceline
    RM 538
  • Agoda.com
    RM 503
  • Expedia.com
    RM 579
3.1 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 165
  • Vio.com
    RM 165
3.2 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
540
185
45
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
540
185
45
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an excellent hotel rooms are large front office comfortable stay kk city isolation ger laundry driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2023

We stayed for seven nights and from check in to check out we experienced exceptional service and engaging staff. Our room was very large with a great street view and onwards to the skyline. It snowed on the third day which was very exciting so waking to see everything covered in snow from your hotel room and the white topped mountains were beautiful. There are lots of local restaurants close by as well as convenience stores and local shopping. It is about a 15 minute walk to the city centre and it is probably quicker to walk than to drive as the traffic is really bad. The breakfast was delicious with green juice and ginger power shots on offer as well as everything you could think of for western or eastern style breakfasts. Really enjoyed the stay and this was the perfect base for exploring Ulaanbaatar.

Room tip: The higher the room, the better.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

Dear Persia69,

We are thrilled to read about your wonderful seven-night stay at Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar! It warms our hearts to know that you experienced exceptional service from our staff contributed to making your stay memorable.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the spacious room with its great street view and the breathtaking snow-covered scenery. It's fantastic to hear that our location, served as the perfect base for your exploration of Ulaanbaatar.

Your appreciation for our breakfast offerings, including the green juice and ginger power shots, is truly valued. We look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful stay whenever your travels bring you to Ulaanbaatar.

Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2023 via mobile

Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Helped us with travel and tour arrangements. Accomodations were excellent for the price. Breakfast buffet was very good.

We have traveled 36 countries in 10 years and this hotel is in our top 5 worldwide.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michelledS8340EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear michelledS8340EK,

We are overjoyed to receive such a positive review from well-traveled guests like you! Your A++ rating and kind words about our exceptionally friendly and helpful staff mean the world to us.

Knowing that you consider us one of the top 5 hotels worldwide in your extensive travels is a tremendous honor. We're truly grateful for your recognition and hope to continue exceeding your expectations in the future.

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar. We can't wait to welcome you back for another exceptional stay!

Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2023

We were so happy with our stay at this well-located hotel that we booked it again for the end of our trip. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, in particular the lovely young manager at the front desk who went out of her way to make sure our stay went smoothly. (I apologize for having lost my notes so I can’t thank people by name.) The hotel has a great housekeeping team and our room was kept spotlessly clean. Our bed was very comfortable and we had strong wifi so we could work. We also appreciated how strong the shower was, especially after returning from a week in the Gobi! The bkfst buffet had a great selection and waiters worked hard at keeping things stocked and guests happy. The dinner menu was quite good, too.
Our only suggestion is that we wish the Kempinski chain would stop using disposable mini plastic bottles for toiletries and water, considering the plastic waste crisis, and transition to the greener use of dispensers, as other hotels are doing.
Thank you for a good stay!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nycSafariNjema
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Dear nycSafariNjema,
We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our well-located hotel. Your kind words about our friendly staff, housekeeping team, comfortable rooms, and dining options are greatly appreciated. We value your suggestion regarding eco-friendly practices, and we will certainly take it into consideration. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

The great location of the hotel is making it an easy 20-25 minutes walk to the main square. Rooms are very clean and spacious. The staff is in particular attentive to you especially at breakfast time. I find the hotel a gem in Ulaanbaatar and I am always and exclusively returning to Kempinski as I feel like at home.

Room tip: Ask for GOBI Cashmere store 10% discount card (sister company) and save when you are buying the best quality cashmere in the World :)
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hrvoje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bolor Jambaldorj, Revenue Management at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Dear hrvojem741,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled that you appreciate our fantastic location, clean and spacious rooms, and our attentive staff. We're honored to be your choice in Ulaanbaatar, and we can't wait to welcome you back "home" at Kempinski Ulaanbaatar.
Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2023

World class service, from top management and down. I’m been treated like king! My guest has come and experienced the same service and warmth. There is nothing this hotel and staff won’t fix for you, be it a full day horseback riding trip to a nomad family or just arrange a cab within 5 minutes, no inquiries are to small or to big. 5 star service at it best

Room tip: Take full advantage of their supreme service. Their restaurants are great! Don’t miss them
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bolor Jambaldorj, Revenue Management at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your incredibly generous words and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're truly delighted to hear that you found our service to be world-class, from our top management to every member of our dedicated staff.

Treating our guests like royalty is at the core of our values, and it's heartwarming to know that you and your guests felt this warmth during your stay. We take pride in going above and beyond to meet the unique needs and desires of our guests.

Your description of our service as "5-star at its best" is incredibly rewarding, and it's our aim to consistently provide this level of excellence to every guest.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to our hotel for more exceptional experiences in the future.

Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews