We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
RM 526
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
yaya m
Kuwait City, Kuwait

Kempinski Khan Palace

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024via mobile
I visit the first time Mongoli .. I want to thank all the stuff to make my stay unforgettable and full of joy .. I want to mention some names I remember Od bellboy Chimuko Enkhuul Odka and Billy from Front desk and all the stuff from Breakfast Zaki Hazem .. I also want to thanks housekeeping too .,
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Hotel is close to everywhere to tractive area the capital
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this review
Responded 2 Apr 2024
Dear yayam609,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your first visit to Mongolia. We're delighted to hear that your stay was unforgettable and filled with joy. Our team strives to ensure every guest has a memorable experience, and it's heartwarming to know we succeeded in making your stay special. We appreciate your acknowledgment of our staff members from various departments, including the bellboy, front desk, breakfast team, and housekeeping. Your kind words motivate us to continue delivering excellent service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay in the future.
Sincerely,
Tamir Tsolmon,
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 1,656
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    RM 751
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 391
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 566
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
3.2 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
RM 490
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 598
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Holiday Inn Ulaanbaatar is waiting to welcome you
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    RM 638
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 398
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
540
185
45
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
540
185
45
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an excellent hotel rooms are large front office comfortable stay kk city isolation ger laundry driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

Ok, so the tundra was an exageration😎 But during my stay, temps reached -40 several times, without the wind chill.

I knew I was going to be long term (15 nights) so I opted for a more expensive suite. It was a great room, in a grand hotel. The only thing that stood out, and it’s really no big deal for me, is the room doors are about 6’4”, instead of the standard 6’8”. Im 6’1”, so I noticed it, but again no big deal.

The room has radiators, and they kept the room toasty as well as two humidifiers, to give back the moisture. The bed was a king with a footboard also, and I had asked for extra feather pillows, and the ‘Lady’s in Red’ made sure my request was met.

Breakfast is very good, normal egg station, the omelets were great and large. A variety of meats are available, cooked to order. There are also hot dishes, usually chicken, beef or pork or sometimes several. And of course rice. Pastries ( I stayed away from that table) breads, fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal, juices ( ask for the fresh squeezed) abound.

I opted for a half board, which on afterthought was expensive as the KK Lounge/Restaurant is not expensive. I like most of the dishes that were prepared for me, and some were excellent. I recommend the Salmon, the Tenderloin, and of course the Beef Stroganoff.

The hotel will arrange for transportation to local venues, and most of the drivers speak ‘some’ English. Bring your Apple tv, as this is the only weak spot. NO ENGLISH tv, period.

Room tip: Traffic is horrific, most any time of the day. If you can get drugged and just appear and leave,
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank azhiker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Dear Azhiker54,
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you found our suite comfortable and well-equipped for the extreme temperatures you experienced. Regarding the room door height, we appreciate your understanding and take your observation into consideration for future improvements.
We're glad you enjoyed the amenities provided in your room, including the radiators and humidifiers, as well as the extra feather pillows provided by our attentive staff. It's also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and found our dining options satisfactory.
In response to your feedback about TV channels, we'd like to inform you that our cable TV network actually offers over 20 English channels, including major news channels and international sports channels. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Your sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024

Of course, the hotel is excellent, but the brightest shining light during my Kempinski experience was the help provided to me by Billy, at reception. Other than by flying, I was not sure how to get from Ulaanbaatar to Ulan-Ude. She understood my interests and arranged for exactly what I needed. Thank you, Billy!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank balloonbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Dear balloonbill,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar. We're thrilled to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations, and we're especially delighted to know that Billy's assistance stood out during your stay. We'll make sure to pass on your kind words to Billy. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023

We stayed for seven nights and from check in to check out we experienced exceptional service and engaging staff. Our room was very large with a great street view and onwards to the skyline. It snowed on the third day which was very exciting so waking to see everything covered in snow from your hotel room and the white topped mountains were beautiful. There are lots of local restaurants close by as well as convenience stores and local shopping. It is about a 15 minute walk to the city centre and it is probably quicker to walk than to drive as the traffic is really bad. The breakfast was delicious with green juice and ginger power shots on offer as well as everything you could think of for western or eastern style breakfasts. Really enjoyed the stay and this was the perfect base for exploring Ulaanbaatar.

Room tip: The higher the room, the better.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

Dear Persia69,

We are thrilled to read about your wonderful seven-night stay at Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar! It warms our hearts to know that you experienced exceptional service from our staff contributed to making your stay memorable.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the spacious room with its great street view and the breathtaking snow-covered scenery. It's fantastic to hear that our location, served as the perfect base for your exploration of Ulaanbaatar.

Your appreciation for our breakfast offerings, including the green juice and ginger power shots, is truly valued. We look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful stay whenever your travels bring you to Ulaanbaatar.

Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2023 via mobile

Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Helped us with travel and tour arrangements. Accomodations were excellent for the price. Breakfast buffet was very good.

We have traveled 36 countries in 10 years and this hotel is in our top 5 worldwide.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michelledS8340EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear michelledS8340EK,

We are overjoyed to receive such a positive review from well-traveled guests like you! Your A++ rating and kind words about our exceptionally friendly and helpful staff mean the world to us.

Knowing that you consider us one of the top 5 hotels worldwide in your extensive travels is a tremendous honor. We're truly grateful for your recognition and hope to continue exceeding your expectations in the future.

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar. We can't wait to welcome you back for another exceptional stay!

Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2023

We were so happy with our stay at this well-located hotel that we booked it again for the end of our trip. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, in particular the lovely young manager at the front desk who went out of her way to make sure our stay went smoothly. (I apologize for having lost my notes so I can’t thank people by name.) The hotel has a great housekeeping team and our room was kept spotlessly clean. Our bed was very comfortable and we had strong wifi so we could work. We also appreciated how strong the shower was, especially after returning from a week in the Gobi! The bkfst buffet had a great selection and waiters worked hard at keeping things stocked and guests happy. The dinner menu was quite good, too.
Our only suggestion is that we wish the Kempinski chain would stop using disposable mini plastic bottles for toiletries and water, considering the plastic waste crisis, and transition to the greener use of dispensers, as other hotels are doing.
Thank you for a good stay!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nycSafariNjema
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zaharan Shariff, Other at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Dear nycSafariNjema,
We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our well-located hotel. Your kind words about our friendly staff, housekeeping team, comfortable rooms, and dining options are greatly appreciated. We value your suggestion regarding eco-friendly practices, and we will certainly take it into consideration. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Dirk Bansemer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews