We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rickard
Formigine, Italy

Good but...can improve

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jul 2019via mobile
The hotel is pretty ok for a budget place. The location is good but not excellent as about 4 km from the city center, however the cost of a taxi is affordable, about 6000T to the main square. Breakfast is average; the annoying part was the credit card reader that didn’t work in and I had to go for an external atm and pay cash.
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kelsobw, Manager at Best Western Gobi's Kelso, responded to this review
Responded 27 Oct 2019
Thank you for taking your time for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Guest room
Booking.com
RM 603
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 603
  • Vio.com
    RM 496
  • Hotels.com
    RM 652
1.2 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 2,046
RM 1,736
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,738
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,738
  • Priceline
    RM 1,736
3.3 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 427
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 427
  • Hotels.com
    RM 368
  • Expedia.com
    RM 428
3.6 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 526
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 526
  • Trip.com
    RM 467
  • Expedia.com
    RM 525
5.1 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 538
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 538
  • Agoda.com
    RM 396
  • Expedia.com
    RM 507
4.5 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 357
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 414
  • Agoda.com
    RM 294
  • Expedia.com
    RM 377
3.4 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 165
  • Vio.com
    RM 165
2.0 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 285
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 285
  • Trip.com
    RM 236
  • Agoda.com
    RM 286
4.0 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 595
  • Priceline
    RM 538
  • Agoda.com
    RM 503
  • Hotels.com
    RM 521
5.6 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Free parking
Preferred Hotels
  • Booking.com
    RM 751
  • Hotels.com
    RM 606
  • Priceline
    RM 672
3.2 km from Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
58
36
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
58
36
6
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I arrived in Mongolia at 11:40pm and were picked up by hotel staff. The cost was $15 and was simple, fast, and much easier than dealing with the taxi drivers.

When we arrived we were informed that we had gotten a free upgrade and we were given the key to our suite! The woman at the check in desk spoke perfect English as well which was very helpful for us.

The next day she also helped to call us a taxi and provided us with a map of the city.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone but especially if you’re arriving late at night! Walking distance to the train station and a super simple airport pickup.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CieEves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This no frills hotel is a good choice for the budget price range. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner were large portions and surprisingly tasty and good quality considering the overall sub-standard food quality in UB. It’s a little bit out of the way of the central CBD but no problem if you like walking.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Chelenb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We used this hotel as a transfer hotel on our Transsiberian Railway trip. In which we took a 7 days trip in Mongolia.

Reasonable hotel. Not super high class. But good enough. It is Near the railwaystation. That’s why we booked it. They offer ‘take away breakfast’. That’s perfect for the train travelers.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank WineGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

What a delightful hotel. Didn’t know what to expect on our first time Mongolia- the Best Western was a great surprise. Check in staff were extremely helpful, rooms very nice and restaurant had a good variety for breakfast and dinner. Couldn’t complain at all. Laundry was very fast and reasonably priced. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Healzontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

The good: very nice staff, very good free breakfast.

The room seemed clean. But definitely needs a spruce. So much so that I didn’t want to be barefoot in the room or put my belongings on the floor.

The bad: the hangers are attached to the rod and are too big for the closet. A sure sign of a low-grade hotel.

The towels were all damp. Like they had been folded while hot out of the dryer and the staff didn’t realize they were still wet.

The water needs to run for about 10 minutes to get hot.

There are no decent restaurants within walking distance. Other than the security guard and the desk manager, the entire staff went camping so we could not get our second morning of free breakfast.

Hotels.com claims that they have free shuttle service, but they don’t. This might be a Hotels.com glitch. I told the staff though so that they can try to fix that.

View of a construction site strewn with garbage.

Bottom line, we opted to stay elsewhere and forego our non-refundable rate here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LaurelM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews