We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Agoda.com
RM 632
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Geoff1861
Milan, Italy
179
Old style clean and comfortable place to stay
Reviewed 13 Jul 2018
The Continental Hotel was built in a grand style with an impressive facade, a big stair case and dining room, but is now a bit tired and run down. However, it is clean the rooms are very large, the internet is good and the beds are comfortable. There was not a lot of people for the space, so there was no rush and hunt for a table at breakfast. The breakfast came with the room and had a reasonable selection, which included scrambled eggs, cheese, cereals, breads juices, tea and coffee. The staff were friendly. It is a good 10 minute walk to the main square. Overall I liked staying there and I thought it was good value for money
Date of stay: July 2018
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 490
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 358
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 358
0.9 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 731
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 317
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 331
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 331
0.7 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 340
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 1,362
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    RM 483
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Inn Ulaanbaatar is waiting to welcome you
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 371
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 452
  • Algotels
2.5 km from Continental Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
10
28
27
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
28
27
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

The hotel is right in the middle of nowhere. Big room, good matress. Silence. But all is a bit old and expensive for what it is. The service is not good. people not very nice with custumer... no water in the room... i had to ask several times before to get some. average breakfast. Do prefer new modern hotels to this.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Hotel was gorgeous, marble columns and dramatic staircase. Had some difficulty making ourselves understood at the front desk, but the staff were certainly eager to help. Large rooms, only downside was no air-conditioning. Relatively short work to shops and restaurants and a slightly longer walk to the main square.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ErinLK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The exterior of the hotel makes it look more fancy than it is. It is a pleasant hotel with comfortable, bright rooms (corner room best). Pleasant breakfast and the hotel is not far from the main square. Intermittent hot water. Overall, exceeded my expectations for a Mongolian hotel.

Room tip: Corner room (multiple windows and bigger than the other rooms)
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed her for one night at the beginning and one night at the end of our trip to Mongolia and had a good stay. Our travel company had chosen this hotel and as we were three people we received a huge apartment on the 4th floor: lots of space including a kitchen, living room, etc. The apartment was really nice, the only noise was from the fun park next door when people went on the roller coaster. Other than our travel group there were not many guests and the hotel feels like it is being outgrown (literally) by all the surrounding modern hotels. The entrance hall, bar and restaurant are very grand with beautiful floors, ceilings and chandeliers but everyhing is very empty. We ate breakfast at the hotel, which was also good and the bar offered alcoholic drinks in the evening. Cannot comment on price as we did not book it ourselves. The hotel is fairly close to the city center - reachable on foot! Wifi is available throughout the hotel and worked well.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaele_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Since there's so much wrong here, I'll use bullet points for brevity!

- Bathroom light is an exposed bulb
- Bath plug is too small, bath impossible
- Shower is hot for only a few seconds before turning cold
- nasty clingy IKEA shower curtain over a bath
- Stains on a hand towel, presumably unchanged
- Water from tap is cloudy
- Room very dated, old furniture and small, old TV
- Dusty, especially in cabinets
- No tea/coffee, no safe
- Many trailing wires
- Curtains are transparent and don't even meet
- less than half the plug sockets are functioning
- constant noise of what sounds like a water pump
- Used to have a pool, now filled with debris and furniture
- Sauna is rarely used so off when you want to use it (will take a long time to heat up)

Positives:
- Receptionist is pleasant and speaks good English
- Wifi is good

There are much, much better options for less... See my other reviews for an idea.

Date of stay: July 2015
1  Thank ChrisD786
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews