We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
8
8
4
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
8
4
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

After staying in the Gobi desert Geht Kamp, with very basic comforts, this is a great surprise.
Very big, luxury a comfortable Gehr tents with privaye bathroom.
Great lobby an restaurant in traditional architecture, with amazing views.
Food good be a bit better, buy what the xxxxx it's Mongolia.
Get laid back and enjoy the best.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSilvainMooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is set in a postcard location. Surrounded by mountains and lots of open pastures. Out the back of the hotel is river and BBQ area.

Once you go through reception it is incredibly quiet.

The restaurant food is incredible, serving Eurpean, Chinese & Mongolian dishes.

The rooms are moderately priced. The staff is incredibly friendly and well spoken English language.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick-Oyuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Went there 2-7-13, Why anyone would want to stay in the middle of a shantytown is beyond me! It must have been a nice place when it was first built, but nothing seems to be down about keeping the place up to scratch, as it is slowly decaying. The service was poor,most things on the menu were off. the surrounding area by the river seems to be used as a garbage tip,and nothing to see outside the complex other than poverty.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The Mongolia Hotel is a beautiful place to stay. But that's about it.
I have never seen such lack of care, respect and attention. We had problems from the beggining:
1- After 3 days on a train from russia, they were supposed to pick us up at the station. It was -3ºC and we waited for 40 minutes: NOBODY SHOWED UP.
2- The van service to downtown just doesn't work. They told us to wait at this bar at 21:00 and again, we waited for a freezing hour: NOBODY SHOWED UP.
3- There are no hot water sufficient for 2 showers. You have to wait for a while so the next person can use it.
Next day the manager said the van just passed at 19:00 instead that day (??????)
4- I used the laundry service. I took them way more than the 12 hours they said. And when I opened the plastic bags, the clothes were COMPLETELY WET and did not smell good.
5- Every night there were LOUD WEDDING PARTIES, so don't think that because it's far from the city that is a quiet place. It got to a point when a drunk woman just walked into our room.
6- The room cleaning wasn't very good either. One day there was a used teabag on the floor.
7- No internet connection for 2 days.
8- For our last day we had to check out at 7:15. We asked if the breakfast really started at 7 and they said: SURE, DON'T WORRY.
It was 7:10 and there was NOBODY at the restaurant. IT WAS CLOSED.
9- Finally, check out: when my husband did the check out they gave us a discount for all this complains and charged his credit card. Just when I came back home I noticed they charged my card, the one I used for reservation too. SO THEY TOOK U$ 360 EXTRA.
When contacting the manager, who speaks poor english, she kept saying for months they were gonna find a way to pay us back. Last time I called (i keep paying the distance calls), she doesn't work at the hotel anymore and the new manager couldn't care less either - never replied my emails. TO END THIS TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE, THEY STOLE OUR MONEY.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank renatamein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2011

After 3 weeks of travelling solo around mongolia and staying largely in ger camps, I decided to splash out for my final three days at Hotel Mongolia, advertised as Ulaanbattaar's only resort. On their website they advertised amenities such as a shop, small museum, a masseuse, day trips, three restuarants featuring excellent Asian cuisine, mini-naadam's put on for the guests, luxurious accommodation which included ensuite bath and satellite TV, and activities such as visits to nomadic families and horse riding, to name but a few. the reality was a far cry from the advert. I arrived from UB by taxi which cost 23,000 tg, about $20. I arrived at about 6 pm to an unlit complex completely in the middle of nowhere. The electricity was out, but there had been no effort to install makeshift lighting, torches, or candles or anything to light up the walkways to the various rooms spread throughout the complex. I was shown to my room, which superficially resembled the photographs on the website, except that there was only a shower and not a bath, a fairly minor point. Less so was the state of the very soiled carpets and swarms of flies in the room plus the empty fridge, which i eventually located in the cupboard beneath the TV, and the TV itself, which on all but the euronews continuous reel channel, displayed a 'no satellite signal' on every other channel. Oh, and no toilet paper in the loo. Being quite hungry after my 10 hour journey back to UB from Tsetserleg, I asked if the restaurant was open. They assured me that it was. However, a wedding reception was taking place there. The wedding party took up the entire some 250 capacity of the restaurant [one not 3 resturants, as advertised] and so i was put in an alcove, curtained off fromt he rest of the diners by a hospital like drape that completely encompassed me and my table. all that was available was soup, due to the lack of electricity and the wedding reception. I ddiscovered that I was the only guest at the hotel and that none of the activities avertised were actually on offer, apart from horse-riding which was arranged by the husband of one of the staff. I was told that my included breakfast would have to be taken in my room as I was the only guest, the hotel planning to close for the season in 2 days time, which was neither mentioned on the website or to me when I called to enquire about booking. I ordered pancakes and fruite and tea for the morning. What I received was coconut cake, a pot of tea but without sugar and tinned fruit cocktail, along with a few wedges of tired apple and orange. I used the syrup from the fruit cocktail as a sugar substitute for my tea but couldn't bring myself to eat coconut cake [presumably left over from the wedding reception]. The following night the only thing I could order was French fries - a giant plate at $4.50 - great if i had been a party of 6 but not a satisfying meal for one. My dishes from both breakfasts were still sitting outside my door where I had left them when I left after two nights. The room also had not been cleaned, evidenced by the little row of fly corpses along the baseboard where I had dispatched them as I eliminated their numbers using the shower floor mat. Under no circumstances would I ever wither go back to this place myself or recommend it to anyone else. Apart from the attempts from the receptionist to try and apologise, and the one horse ride with Url, the independent horseman who subcontracted the riding, this was a wasted part of my trip. It is a shame because obviously a great deal of money and effort had been invested at one time to create the physical physical facility and buildings and walkways, but unfortunately a lot more should have gone into maintenance, training of staff, and a general infrastructure to make the place the oasis that it purported to be.

Room tip: go to a different hotel
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dthurbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews