We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
RM 215
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
tes108
Newcastle, Australia

Great play to stay

Review of Guide Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jul 2019
Excellent location and a friendly hotel with the added bonus of a French chef who makes his own bread and conserves. We arrived 7 hours late because of plane delays and they did not charge us for the night we missed and we were also upgraded to a very large room. The facilities are not brand new but comfortable and clean.
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 388
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 476
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 1,661
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    RM 432
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Preferred Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 640
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 671
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 312
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Guest room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 423
  • Algotels
2.4 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    RM 164
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    RM 285
  • Trip.com
    RM 236
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Guide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
25
36
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
36
8
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2019 via mobile

This is a straightforward hotel that is nevertheless very clean and well appointed where it matters. Bedding is crisp and comfortable, bathrooms have all that one wants and the staff are responsive, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are a decent buffet. Overall I was pleased, felt very safe and found the proximity to the city center very convenient.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank lightvision2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2019

Within easy walking distance to the centre of town this is a good starting point for exploring the many attractions of the city. The rooms are large and well appointed and the staff are friendly but struggle with English. The French chef is a great asset as he bakes bread for breakfast daily.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2019 via mobile

Tucked away in a not very prepossessing location this hotel is supposed to be only ten years old. The Mongolian staff spoke no English and whilst friendly were clearly very inexperienced and untrained. The door to the first room we were given didn't seem to open or close properly, some lights didn't work. We'd still have been left there with a shrug and a smile of the owner's French husband hadn't taken charge. Everything worked ok in our final room but it wasn't exactly the cleanest. No airconditioning either, no lift. Breakfast was delicious (French husband is the chef).

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank BJ0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Be sure to take directions and know where you are going as the hotel is in the back streets and your taxi drive will get lost trying to find it

Once you are there the rooms are simple but have everything you need - see if you can upgrade to a room with a urge - it was worth asking as I got one!
there is a "bar" in the restaurant of the hotel and the front desk staff are happy to serve you as you catch up with friends old and new. It is not a place you would want to extend your stay but the service of the staff was exceptional. When I slept in and missed my tour bus the staff helped me get a taxi and directed them where to meet the bus - I met up with my crew and had a great day!

When I left I had an early flight. I had arranged with the staff to have a taxi waiting - they called my room to let me know it had arrived (right one time!) and when I got downstairs they had a take away breakfast prepared for me. If anyone has been to UB airport you would know there are no food options so this was a greatly appreciated gesture. Thank you for the service and if/when I come back I would choose to stay at Guide Hotel for the service Ir received (especially for the price I paid!)

Room tip: Ask for an upgrade when you arrive - you might just get a lounge room!!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mellyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2018

I stayed here before and after an Intrepid trip around Mongolia...... Don't let the surroundings put you off! The hotel is located in a bit of a run down Soviet era square that looks a little dodgy but really isn't. Its perfectly safe and located a short walk away from the main square and main attractions of UB. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy and the hotel is really good value. Some issues with availability of hot water but they do warn you about that before hand - its a recognised issue in UB apparently!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juliaa963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews