We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
RM 1,740
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Jeff K
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Superb Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024via mobile
This was my first time at a Shangri-La hotel and I was very impressed. This hotel is beautiful and the service is excellent. There’s no doubt that this is a 5 star hotel. It’s also in a great location - within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and tourist sights.

We had a double club king room that was spacious and modern with a great view. The tv had 6-7 English channels which was a pleasant surprise.

Service was excellent throughout the hotel. Everyone seemed to speak English fluently. The front desk people, in particular, speak excellent English.

We had access to the Horizon Club which was outstanding. They have a “happy hour” from 5-7:00 with free alcohol and food. We had a light dinner there two nights. The food and drinks were very good. The young women working there did a great job.

We had breakfast at their buffet restaurant. Food was great but you should arrive after 7:00. We arrived one day @ 6:30 and a lot of stuff wasn’t out yet.

All things considered this is an excellent hotel. I look forward to staying in more Shangri-La hotels in the future.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 420
RM 368
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 527
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 527
1.9 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 752
RM 674
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    RM 752
0.4 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 756
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 932
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Guest room
Tripadvisor
RM 652
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Tripadvisor
RM 673
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 560
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 560
1.3 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 392
  • Expedia.com
    RM 398
0.3 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 551
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
357
95
25
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
357
95
25
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amusement park beautiful hotel duty manager other hotels rooms are nice breakfast buffet blue sky hutong gym city amenities kai luxury comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2023 via mobile

Gravest front desk desk staff-Dulguun, Kai, and Billy were very helpful and eager to solve any issues. Mason in the Cafe Park is great also-great breakfast buffet. Super clean rooms and great location. Good views of the city and Bogd Khan mountains

Room tip: Traffic in UB is nuts-allow more time to drive than it takes to walk
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank MC2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

This centrally located hotel, right next to the mall, offered a luxurious, quiet, and comfortable stay. My room overlooked a beautiful park with a serene Ferris wheel view. The cleanliness and comfort were outstanding. The staff, both friendly and professional, ensured a pleasant experience. Their breakfast selection was diverse and satisfying. Overall, it's a perfect spot for a serene yet indulgent stay amidst the city's hustle and bustle

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank aliabdulla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2023

For the thrird time this year I stayed at Shangri-La Ulaanbaatar. It is without any doubt THE address to stay while being in Ulaanbaatar. Perfect location in the heart of the city, high quality premises and VERY friendly staff making you really feel welcome.

Date of stay: October 2023
Thank AartJongejans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2023

I have been using the Shangri-la hotel in Ulaanbaatar for the last 5 years now and each and every time i stay the hotel staff go above and beyond to make my stay perfect.
This trip i arrived 5 hours earlier than usual but this was no problem for the staff they took my luggage and i went for breakfast.
Before i had finished my early breakfast (which was amazing) the staff came to tell me my room was available ..........unbelievable service considering my arrival was so early. Thank you to all involved especially the hotel manager Christina

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Paradise608681
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023

We had two stays, one for one night and one for three after attending the Eagle Festival in western Mongolia. Arrival and check in was smooth and efficient. The front desk was able to hold a bag for us for the three days we spent away at the festival. We had breakfast included which was an easy way to start each day. The Nadam restaurant had Oktoberfest going on the night we arrived and we ate there again one other night. Service there was a bit slow to absent for both nights.
The rooms were pleasant, roomy and clean. Beds were comfortable and there was a soft and a firm pillow for each person. We didn't have any special requests although I'm sure they would have been accommodated. The showers were roomy and water pressure/temp control very good. Wi-Fi was stable and strong throughout the hotel property. No password so connecting was easy.
The hotel complex is located in a very convenient location which is great once you're there but can take some time coming from outside (tours, airport etc). We were able to walk to most attractions from the hotel and dine/drink in the area within walking distance.
Overall pleasant staff, comfortable rooms and convenient location. Well worth considering while staying in UB.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews