We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm, if you prefer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The hotel has two wings. The old world style rooms & modern rooms on the other side. The modern rooms are everywhere but the classic rooms are worth the stay. More like a modern resort feel in a city environment. Water is at the door step. Food selection is wide and make sure to book for the 'High Tea'. Not a business hotel but ideal holiday stay for up to a week.

Room Tip: If you are not comfortable in a timer wall, furniture then book the modern room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OZSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

We are a little confused by your comments. We do not have any modern rooms in the hotel.
All our rooms are tastefully decorated with lots of wood and traditional designs. All the rooms have been refurbished
and we are coming to the end of a major restoration program.
Our new traditional afternoon tea offering will be starting soon.
The photos that you posted are extremely old.
You should return and see what we have done to restore this Hotel to such an iconic level.


Yours sincerely,

Antony G. Paton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,426 of 3,049 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2015

We stayed 3 nights at Gale Face. The room was very nice and the hotel building is lovely. We found the staff to have a bit of an attitude if you are not dressed up and looking like you are an executive. The pool is excellent but the area around it was being worked on so we couldn't see the waterfront easily. Breakfast buffet was spectacular. Room service seemed good value.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen-JMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Thank you very much for visiting the Galle Face Hotel. I have shared your compliments about the food and room service with our team. Being an establishment built on the values of equally respecting and valuing each and every guest at our hotel, I find it most disturbing to hear that you had issues with some of our staff. I will investigate this matter and make sure no such issues take place hereafter.

Yours sincerely,

Antony G. Paton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

I was on business trip for 4 days, they provided side sea view room, the room was good and i don't find any problem with it, the food is average not so good, they are keeping vegetarian and non-vegetarian together is the problem, they don't mind if we approached and said please don't keep like this, this will be trouble for veg eaters.

More over i had faced a problem while staying, when i was in the wash room on a fine evening, taking bath, I have locked the door inside and went to took a bath some body knocks the door twice, I heard but i couldn't come out of the wash room immediately few seconds later some voice was heard very closely to the wash room ! immediately i came out of the wash room a room service man standing out of the door and asking everything in the room was alright do you need anything ..? we are from evening room make up service..! I shocked how a person can come when i locked inside, he put a master key and opened it ..! i reported to the front office, they put me on the manager, i have asked somebody is in the room how your person can open the door, he calls the house keeping manager and he simply saying we knock it twice if no response we will open the room by using the master key..! it is ridicules, how the hell they can do this, there is absolutely no privacy in this hotel imagine if some body comes with a family or on a honeymoon trip..!! The front office manager was promised he will revert back after speaking to the management, but they don't even mind after 2 days they wont revert back and on the check out day i asked them what happened they said we have watched the cctv footage, our house keeping person done a mistake, now we are changing the policy..! I asked you can change it for the benefit of your hotel and what is your answer for me about making me unsecured while staying in your hotel ..? they again said they will get back after speaking to the management, but the poor managers cant do anything the so called management people not bother about their guests, at least they don't even offered sorry for the inconvenience caused to the guest. they bothered about the room charges, money making hotel, please avoid staying here. if you want to stay don't stay with family.

Room Tip: sea view rooms will be a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rameshkinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

I am very sorry to read that you had some issues with us during your stay.
Our Chef has been made aware of your comments about vegetarian food.
What you write about our housekeeping staff making a mistake in entering your room is not exactly as we believe it to be.
We looked at our cameras and ascertained that the room boy did indeed follow correct procedure.
Our Reception Manager and our Lobby Manager saw you on two occasions and discussed your complaint with you and even offered you a complimentary meal. I believe our Lobby Manager sat with you over a coffee to discuss your concerns.
I am sorry that we did not agree to reimburse your room charges as we felt this was not justified. I am happy to learn however that our Lobby Manager made the decision to refund your last nights accommodation as you wanted to leave early despite your room being guaranteed and paid for.
With regards to your comment of advising families not to stay with us, we take security very seriously and all my Team work hard to ensure the comfort and safety of all our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Antony G. Paton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

This is a very appealing hotel in a beautiful oceanfront location. My room was old fashioned in its accoutrements but attractive and spacious. The breakfasts were attractive and tasty as well. For the moment, however, the experience is somewhat limited by the extensive renovations underway. These do not interfere with the guest rooms; there is no problem with noise or anything of that sort. However, the grounds are not open to a significant degree. Still, I thought that was an exceptionally interesting and distinctive place to stay. A far cry from the usual, interchangeable business hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomBrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thank you very much for your review! We always make every effort to ensure our guests will have an uninterrupted experience and we are so pleased to learn you had an enjoyable stay at the Galle Face Hotel.

Do visit us once the restorations are over and we shall arrange a tour of the entire hotel for you and share some of its exciting tales from the past.

Yours sincerely,

Antony G. Paton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

This is one of the heritage hotels in the city centre facing the beach the famous Galle Face.Rooms are old big colonial type With modern touch.Service is very good.The breakfast is good with the local hoppers.The service at the breakfasts is also very good.

Stayed: June 2015
2  Thank SE s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

We are so pleased to learn you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel! Do visit us again when restorations are complete. I’m sure you will find your next visit to be even more exciting than the first. We are introducing croquet on the lawn which will surely be a very enjoyable game to indulge in during your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Antony G. Paton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.4 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.3 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
367 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,112 reviews
2.7 km away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: RM657 - RM1,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing