We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
US$174
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
US$124
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omega Regency(Colombo)
US$39
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,371)
Filter reviews
3,371 results
Traveller rating
1,555
1,118
401
170
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,555
1,118
401
170
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalle facesea spraycolonial hotelold world charmold wingsri lankaindian oceanwooden floorsoverlooking the oceanjunior suitecolonial stylewatching the sunsetpool barsea frontbreakfast buffethigh teaunder renovation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 3,371 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a "Superior Room" to discover that this definition is the entry level for the hotel. After politely pointing out that it has to be superior to something else or it cannot be superior we were promptly upgraded to a room that was very comfortable and met our expectations. The hotel is enormous and wears its history with pride. Interesting old photos adorn the walls and there are some museum pieces including the Duke of Edinburgh's first car. Some of the public spaces are attractive and homely. Not the main dining room which has institutional lighting and not a plant to be seen. However, the buffet dinner and breakfast were both extensive and very good

Room Tip: If you booked a Superior Room ask for an upgrade
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NickandMaretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is beautifully restored and although absolutely perfect in some little area. This adds to the charm of its bi gone magnificence. After all the premises were first established in 1864. The rooms are pleasant and although not on the large size they are very comfortable. Suggest the ocean view if available. The food is excellent and the Verandah bar Restaurant is an excellent buffet style eatery with a different nightly theme. Service is very good with all staff being very eager to please given there will always be some language issues. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and we would highly recommend if you are seeking some unique. Check out the hotel museum on the 2nd floor

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wilgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Situated right on the sea front at Colombo next to Galle Face Green the hotel is perfectly situated for amazing sunsets. The Hotel itself is in the colonial style, with comfortable rooms. The Staff are very helpful and professional, the food is good, and the cocktails from the bar lovely. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and a small museum which is interesting to see the previous famous hotel guests

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write back to us with regards to your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel.

It's so great to hear your comments on the property itself which as you may know already from your visit to the museum dates back over 154 years. The Travellers Bar is also a fantastic place to learn more about the history of the hotel, perhaps you can visit on your next trip to Colombo?

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Mohomed Nabeel is the best waiter we’ve ever met. Thank You for the warmhearted and perfect service. We enjoyed the evening at the Sea Spray on the Indian Ocean. The food was amazing, the atmosphere perfect...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Sea Spray, our signature sea food restaurant. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and the cuisine was to your liking. You may not know already that at Sea Spray we believe in sourcing 100% fresh locally sourced produce!

We hope to have you visit some of our other outlets.

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka and we chose this hotel for its character and history. The room/bathroom were a little tired but the location and view are great. The staff were really lovely and the food the best we had in Sri Lanka. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Siobhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Very many thanks for taking the time out to give us your great feedback from you recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that we were your first experience in Sri Lanka and appreciate your thoughts on the authenticity of the property which underwent a thorough restoration completed in October 2015 and saw the north wing revived back to its original glory.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews